Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    Ok guys I am new the whole A64 world. I plan to buy a 939 +3500 .90nm. However I have run into a bit of confusion here.

    #1 What is the best ram configuration for the a64, I was looking at the "Ocz 3200 EL PE RV2" but i noticed that the a64 939's run with a HT of 1000mhz as opposed to the 800mhz ht for the 754's. Therefore i wonder would ddr500 be a better match for the 939's even though the cas latency is not as tight as the 3200? Would the ddr500 be faster or slower than 3200

    #2 From doing my reading it seems the MSI Neo2 Platinum or the DFI nf3 are good choices but I was thinking of waiting a little bit for the Nf4 boards, which awill have pcI-e sata2 and possibly ht1000mhz support.

    #3 alot of people are saying that the +3200 winchester is the best overclocker for the money, but since i plan to get the +3500 does it have as much room as the 3200 for overclocking?

    Any help/advice would very much appreciated guys
    Last edited by Nvidia256; 11-07-2004 at 12:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    54

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    1) The plat rev2 is a good choice. I have some coming in now since I got a good deal. These chips are suppose to overclock great on lowish voltage. By default all AMD 64 systems run at 1:1 memory timings of 200MHz. So you can run the ram stock 2-2-2 no problem.

    2) DFI does not have an NF3 that is socket 939 only 754. I will be building with the MSI when I can find a processor in Canada 90nm that is priced good.

    3)I think most 3500+ cap out around 2.6 but I may be wrong. I believe when I build I will be getting a 3200+ and hoping to get lucky with a good processor.
    AMD64 3200+ | Thermalright XP-90 | 92mm Panaflow M1A
    MSI K8N Neo 2 Platinum | OCZ PC-3200 Platinum Edition Rev 2 2x512mb
    ATI AIW 9800 PRO (stock)
    160gb SATA Seagate 8mb cache
    Kingwin KT-424-BK-WM | Antec Neo Power 480watt

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    hey i'm from Canada too(GTA), and if u want i can list some online and retial stores that sell the amd64 for the best prices in Canada.

    Athlon 64 3400+ RETAIL BOX $288

    Athlon 64 Socket 939 + 3500 RETAIL BOX $349

    how about them apples

    if i plan to overclock the cpu is this ocz ram capable of mating the increased ht bus and , wouldn't that in essence increase latancy, and no longer run the ram timings at 2-2-2-5

    Also are u saying that the 3200 is a better overclocker? if so how come
    Last edited by Nvidia256; 11-07-2004 at 11:15 AM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    991

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    There is a variety of memory that works well with the A64 CPUs. OCZ, Corsair, Crucial and other brands will all work well depending on what your plans are concerning overclocking. Virtually all of the memory forums have stickies with the latest info. as new memory is being released daily that allows faster A64 performance - for a price of course !

    The O/C limit on air-cooled A64's is in the 2.5-2.6 Gig. range but there is never a guarantee when you try to O/C a part or system. Obviously the latest FX-55 runs with a default speed of 2.6 Gig. so it's no surprise that many A64's will get close to the same speed if everything in your system is properly configured. Unfortunately there simply is no way to tell if a 3000+ will O/C better than a 3200+ or a 3500+ other than to test.

    If you want to be sure a CPU will O/C to a certain level then you'd be wise to purchase one from a reputable supplier that will test it and certify it to run at a specified O/C, understanding that your PC will need to be configured EXACTLY as the test PC is and then the odds of success are still maybe only 90% because every Mobo, SDRAM, PSU, cooling system, heatsink, etc. is different. The advantage to purchasing a higher speed A64 such as the 3500+ is you know by default it will at least run at 2.2 Gigs. You just never know if that is the case with a slower speed CPU, though in the A64's case virtually all CPUs seem to reach 2.2 Gig. on air from what I've seen.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    Well said, that is why I am getting the 3500. Plus I have a PC power and cooling psu(most stable rails/best psu), a thermalight A64 heatsink, I was just wondering I noticed that the new ram OCZ EL PE limited edition has a higher number at the end 2-2-2-7. I read in a forum that those are better for a64's and even better is 2-2-2-9. If this is true how come?

    Also u made another strong point, about mobo's affecting the cpu's potential for stable overclock. I was planning to get either the MSI NEO Platinum, or wait for the NF4 or the new VIA PCI-E chip. I know u probably can’t comment on the nf4 performance since it’s not out yet, but how is the MSI neo on overclocking, or what is the best mobo for stable overclock for 939?

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    54

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    I know of places to get cpu for cheap ie canada computers. The problem is that they don't have any of the 90nm 939s yet. The only place that I found with 90nm is over priced still.

    For ram the ocz plat rev 2 I believe most people get them to 220MHz at 2-2-2, a lot of people get to 250 on 2.5-3-3 or even higher.
    AMD64 3200+ | Thermalright XP-90 | 92mm Panaflow M1A
    MSI K8N Neo 2 Platinum | OCZ PC-3200 Platinum Edition Rev 2 2x512mb
    ATI AIW 9800 PRO (stock)
    160gb SATA Seagate 8mb cache
    Kingwin KT-424-BK-WM | Antec Neo Power 480watt

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    so u mean there selling the .13nm 939's.

    Update i just went checking around, it seems most canadian retailers are selling the newcastle 939. dammit, um where did u find winchesters here in canada?

    Also will the .90nm overclock better than .13
    Last edited by Nvidia256; 11-07-2004 at 02:00 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    991

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    Optimum memory timings for the A64/FX chips is typically 2-2-2-11 or close. Some folks get better results with "9" or "10" for the tRAS. The difference is quite small but Sandra shows a tiny improvement. I've run both 2-2-2-5 and 2-2-2-11 with only the slightest improvement using "11". Intel stuff still likes the tighter timings of 2-2-2-5.

    Anantech has done a fair amount of testing as have other review sites and I believe the Stickies at most forums and at the memory forums all confirm the 9-10-11 tRAS setting as being the optimum for A64/FX Mobos and CPUs.

    From the Anandtech website I quote:

    "We have found the fastest performance on AMD Athlon 64 chipsets (nForce3, VIA K8T800 PRO) to be achieved at Cycle Time or tRAS of 10. Athlon 64 platform benchmarks were, therefore, run with the tRAS timing of 10 for all A64 benchmarks."

    The MSI NEO Platinum seems to be an excellent Mobo. Every person seems to have a favorite brand or model Mobo and that favorite trick-of-the-week Mobo can and often does change on a whim... There is usually enough database out there on most Mobos especially A64 Mobos to determine if a Mobo is a good O/C'er or just average. With the memory controller on the A64/FX CPU most of the Mobos perform very equally. Some boards have more adjustability for O/C'ing so you can fry your CPU or memory faster, but that's about it.

    I fully expect nF4 Mobos to mirror nF3 Mobos in performance with the only difference being the PCIe graphics slot. Unless you intend to buy the SLI dual-PCIe slot Mobos I don't see any performance advantage to an nF4 chipset Mobo over the nF3 250 chipset Mobo. There will be a bunch of nF4 reviews in the next few weeks but it's already a known that the nF3 and nF4 Mobos will have very similar performance unless you use the SLI version.

    FWIW some folks have better luck O/C'ing Newcastle chippies.
    Last edited by Beenthere; 11-07-2004 at 02:27 PM.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    wow, you know your stuff. Thanks man, i think i am going to go with the MSI NEO and just get the +3500 939 newcastle since it's widely avalible and can be had for cheap.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    54

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    www.ncix.com has 90nm on back order. www.vibecomputers.com also has some on backorder. Over priced was tigerdirect.ca but they don't have 939 my mistake.

    I just ordered plat rev2 from vibecomputers they have a sale on.
    AMD64 3200+ | Thermalright XP-90 | 92mm Panaflow M1A
    MSI K8N Neo 2 Platinum | OCZ PC-3200 Platinum Edition Rev 2 2x512mb
    ATI AIW 9800 PRO (stock)
    160gb SATA Seagate 8mb cache
    Kingwin KT-424-BK-WM | Antec Neo Power 480watt

  11. #11
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    bigfootcomputers has the +3500 90nm, but they want $500can

    also ncix and vibe are awesome stores, but what i find to be the problem is alot of the online stores don't state wether it's the 90nm or 113nm process, i know ncix does.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    54

    Re: Help A64 939 + proper Ram set-up

    Well for the 3000+ and 32000+ it easy to tell if they 90nm
    AMD64 3200+ | Thermalright XP-90 | 92mm Panaflow M1A
    MSI K8N Neo 2 Platinum | OCZ PC-3200 Platinum Edition Rev 2 2x512mb
    ATI AIW 9800 PRO (stock)
    160gb SATA Seagate 8mb cache
    Kingwin KT-424-BK-WM | Antec Neo Power 480watt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •