Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    52

    Should i add more memory.

    These are my specs

    Asus A7V600-X
    AMD Athlon 2800+ (333mhz)
    512mb crucial (DDR400)
    RADEON 9800 pro (to be added).


    Would i notice a bigger preformance if i doubled the memory? (in dual channel)

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Seattle Washington
    Posts
    772

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    That motherboard (A7V600-X) does not support Dual Channel Ram. You can still add another 512MB of Ram and you will likely notice a performance increase, especially in newer games that are tremendously memory hungry.

    Tunes67
    A+GPB 450W PSU
    Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe : AMD Barton 3000/400
    1 Gig Mixed Kingston
    Thermaltake Volcano 12 CF
    ATI 9600XT AIW
    2 WD 80 gig Sata HDs
    Lite-on 401s DVD RW (flashed to 811s)
    MS Keyboard : Logitech MX510 mouse
    Ratpadz GS Gaming surface
    Nostromo N52 Speed pad
    Canon Scanner
    Epson C80 Printer
    19" Sony Trinitron Monitor
    and a partridge in a pear tree....

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Seattle Washington
    Posts
    772

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    Just as a follow up.. if you want a Dual Channel Memory controller motherboard, but you like the Via Chipsets, you will need to get a motherboard that sports the KT880 Chipset. Or you can get a Nvidia Nforce based board (Nforce2 or newer) and the majority of these boards offer a Dual Channel Memory Controller.

    Tunes67
    A+GPB 450W PSU
    Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe : AMD Barton 3000/400
    1 Gig Mixed Kingston
    Thermaltake Volcano 12 CF
    ATI 9600XT AIW
    2 WD 80 gig Sata HDs
    Lite-on 401s DVD RW (flashed to 811s)
    MS Keyboard : Logitech MX510 mouse
    Ratpadz GS Gaming surface
    Nostromo N52 Speed pad
    Canon Scanner
    Epson C80 Printer
    19" Sony Trinitron Monitor
    and a partridge in a pear tree....

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    52

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    this is what i was afraid of,

    i thought it was dual channel

    i wont be buying a new mobo as i only have 60 to spend.

    Does being "dual channel" make much of a difference?

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2003
    Posts
    130

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    The dual channels advantage is heavily over-rated I believe, seems like from what I remember reading the performance difference was maybe 5-10% max (and I think I'm estimating high) over single channel. I wouldn't make it a deciding factor if I were you.
    --DFI Lanparty B
    --XP-m 2200 |- 2.3Ghz @1.7v
    --FSB: 440 mhz
    --2X500mb Kingston HyperX
    --2-2-2-11-1t, 3.3V, DC+CPC on
    --2X W.D. 80gb SATA 7200rpm, 8mb cache
    --SI3112A Raid controller
    --slk900a heatsink w/ 92mm 120cfm
    --OCZ Fatality 550w PSU
    --BFG 7800 gt oc GPU AGP 8X

  6. #6
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    52

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    ok, well i will get the same memory again because its good,

    I will order the memory after ive sold some stuff

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bedford, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    10,213

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    I'll sell you my second rig for 80 if you want.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    52

    Re: Should i add more memory.

    What will you sell for 80

    I want 512 MB RAM (DDR 400)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •