Permissions on Fat32 partition

I have set up a fat32 partition in order to share between the 2 OS on my system. I am trying to change the permissions on the fat32 partition have not had much luck. It has been suggested that I need to add a line in fstab. Any thoughts would be most helpfull.

Edit: Want to be able to write to the partition as well as read and execute
    Last edited by themortarman; 11-27-2004 at 01:22 PM.

Re: Permissions on Fat32 partition

Since fat32 doesn't have permissions something like chmod won't work

Something similar to my usbsticks mount properties with suit you
    Code:
    /dev/usbstick1          /mnt/usbstick   auto            noauto,exec,users      0 0
    exec and users are the important parts, exec makes everything executable and users gives read-write to users

"Well, let's just say, 'if your VCR is still blinking 12:00,you don't want Linux.'"
    - Bruce Perens, Former Debian Project Leader

Excuse me for being a complete noob!! If I were to swith your usbstick device with my dev\? then copy that to the fstab file is what you are suggesting?

Thanks!!
    Last edited by themortarman; 11-27-2004 at 04:55 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by themortarman
    I have set up a fat32 partition in order to share between the 2 OS on my system. I am trying to change the permissions on the fat32 partition have not had much luck. I has been suggested that I need to add a line in fstab. Any thoughts would be most helpfull.

Edit: Want to be able to write to the partition as well as read and execute
    TMM,

Here's the entry I use in my /etc/fstab file to mount my fat32 partition:

Code:
    /dev/hda5      /mnt/my_win_dir      vfat      rw,noatime,uid=500,gid=500,user   0 0
    the rw option means read/write access, and the uid and gid are user and group ID numbers for the owner of the partition (500 being the default user, you). So, with these settings you have read/write access and ownership and hence the necessary permissions.