Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 136
  1. #46
    Joined
    May 2004
    Posts
    124

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    Quote Originally Posted by sirus
    Great job Merlin

    The D27 TP CPC-OFF loaded pefectly well and runs stabily. A couple of options missing in the bios but nothing we can't do without

    BUT
    I lost memory bandwidth with the D27 TP CPC-OFF compared to the D26 TP 25.09 CPC-OFF

    D27 TP CPC-OFF = 3368/3099 Sandra MemBench @ 240FSB x9,5Multi CL 3,2,2,8

    D26 TP 25.09 CPC-OFF = 3546/3250 Sandra MemBench @ 240FSB x9,5Multi CL 3,2,2,8

    I tried the TP0.2 patch with the D27TP CPC-OFF Bios but it didnt increase the scores and actually made my system a little unstable. Norton Internet Security took a very long time to load and the system wouldn't shutdown from windows. Ihad to shut the power down.

    Thats the Alpha, I suppose there will be a Beta?

    hey, try the d24 CPC ON. I bet youll get around 3700/3400.

  2. #47
    Joined
    May 2004
    Posts
    124

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    i tried the d27 one. there is a new setting caleld agp latency, its set at 64 by default. what exacly is this and if I remember right, this used to be 256 when i looked in nvidia system utility a while back.

  3. #48
    Joined
    May 2004
    Posts
    124

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    hmm, this CPC on D27 seems to be wonderfull. just ran 01 and got highest score yet, 11K with a ti200. 250x9.5. never had 250 stable with CPC on. gonna play some games and see.

  4. #49
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    11

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    I went from offical d20 to taipan d26 cpc on, and lost quite a bit of memory bandwidth (at 217fsb, 2-2-2-11)...

    I'll prob. try out this bios, once it come out of alpha and beta testing stages, but I really hope the mem. bandwidth issue can be resolved.....

    So all d27's should have sata bios 4250, unless otherwise stated, right?
    xp-m2500+ IQYFA0343(217x12=2604) 1.95v
    sp-97 w/ TT-SM2 *32idle*47load*
    NF7-s rev 2.0 *bios Taipan d26 cpc on*
    1 gig Mushkin lvl2 3500 2-2-2-11 2.9v
    Sapphire x800xt-pe *stock for now* 4.12
    19" Samsung 955df
    2 WD800JB in RAID-0 w/ sata 4250
    WD1600JB
    Antec TruePower 480
    mx-500 on 1030 Func pad
    Logitech z2200

  5. #50
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    Quote Originally Posted by by -=Merlin=-
    !!! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!
    !!! USE AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ !!! ALPHA !!! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    - Indifikation Mobeil AMD Athlon XP-M
    - Romsip Bios Tables Cpu Interface 133 & 166 & 200 MHz (Romsip Modded by -=Merlin=-)
    -- TaiPan 0.2 [EB][ED]
    -- TaiPan 0.2 Optimization Petch WinXp/Win2000 Pro
    - L12 mod built-in
    - Bpl 3.19 Cpc On (T1)
    - Bpl 3.19 Cpc Off (T2)

    !!! Please they form system re-establishment before Install !!!


    D27 TaiPan 0.2 [EB][ED] Bpl 3.19 16.12.04

    D27 TaiPan 0.2 [EB][ED] Bpl 3.19C 16.12.04

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ !!! ALPHA !!! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    D27 TaiPan 0.2 [EB][ED] Bpl 3.19 16.12.04 Alpha testet:
    Bhaarth


    by -=Merlin=- :wink:
    Sorry, by -=Merlin=-, there is an EXE-file in each of archives of this new version of your BIOS. What is this EXE for ? What is function of this EXE-file ?
    Also, can you answer what voltmods have you done on your NF7 ?
    Thanx. Very hope on your answers !
    And what is Petch ? Maybe you wanted to write Patch ?
    P.S. It tried to tell you by ICQ, but you cancelled all of my requests on autorization.
    Last edited by -=Monster=-; 12-17-2004 at 06:54 AM.

  6. #51
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    First of all, sorry, my english isn't the best, i'm Argentinian

    I went from Tictac's black mantaray to merlin's d26 and 27 and lost something like 200MB memory bandwidth...

    It took me all the night but I have my precious 200MB again. It's easy:
    Disable CPU interface
    Boot
    Enable CPU interface
    Boot
    You have your sandra score agani =)

    (I had to do this a couple of times)

    Well... I expect you can understand me

    Bytez!

    PD: This is a GREAT HW forum

  7. #52
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Richmond, VA.
    Posts
    54

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    What could cause me not to be able to enter the bios???
    Had D27_TaiPan_0.1_EB_ED_Bpl_3.19_08.12.04 running with a tbred 1800 switched processors to 2600 barton mobile. Booted up and mobile is recognized and gives me memory speed at 400 ddr. then it just sits there won't respond to keyboard input. Tried resetting cmos by unplugging then moving jumper for approx. 5 minutes. Rebooted and same scenario. Changed keyboards and same results. Any suggestions the bios was working find with tbred seemed very stable, though i did not run prime for long only bout 1 hr.

  8. #53
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Age
    51
    Posts
    782

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    Dumb question, how do I flash this Bios, it comes in 3-4 peices. All the Bioses I use come with just one Bin file. I don't want to screw this up, what parts do I flash?
    Abit NF7-S D10 MantaRay XT Bios (Great Bios!)
    AMD 2600 Mobile @ 2.45ghz @ 1.8v @ 223x11.5 FSB
    Kingston Hyper X PC4000 512X2 (3-4-4-11)
    ATI 9800 Pro w/SVG Silent Cooler (3DMark03@ 6805, and still tweaking!) DNA 5.1 drivers
    OB Soundstorm (S/PDIF) w/Cerwin Vega 5.1's and Phillips receiver+Chaintech AV-710 Soundcard.
    Grado SR-80 Headphones/Denon AHD-350 Cans
    Thermalright SP-97 w/92MM Enermax fan.
    Veiwsonic 22" P220F Monitor
    Antec Full server case (3 80mm intake, 1 80mm exhaust) Idle: 35c Load: 45-48c (NGO cooling patch)
    TTGI SuperFlower 550w Power Supply. (Pot mod, 140MM fan is used for case exhaust also)

  9. #54
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    West Germany
    Posts
    76

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    @ZV3

    You only flash the xxx.bin using the awdflash
    1st PC:
    XP1700+ @ 2.2Ghz (9.5x 230FSB 1.65V), Abit NF7-S2 Bios D26-Merlin's CPCoff, MDT 3x 512MB DDR400 @ DDR460, 2x 160GB Samsung, Toshiba1712, LG GSA 4163B, LiteOn52246S, Sparkle 6800GT @ Ultra, Enermax 431Watt

    2nd:
    XP2400+ Sempron @ 2Ghz, Asrock K7VT4A+, 1024MB DDR400, 120GB Samsung, Ricoh DVD+RW, Geforce 4200Ti 128MB @ 300/600, NT 350Watt

  10. #55
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    157

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    Does the .exe patch give any benefits? I've yet to try and was hoping for some feedback before i do!

    Thanks
    My Athlon64 System:

    A64 3200+ (0517 GPBW) - 270x10 (1.52v)
    Stock HSF - Idle: 32/29 & Load: 48/34
    MSI K8N Neo2 - 1.A Mod bios
    Patriot 1Gb PC3200 - 270mhz @ 2.5-3-3-7 @ 2.70v
    Inno3D 6200 DDR1 - 500/640mhz (3d'01 - 21.3k, 3d'03 - 7.7k)
    120Gb & 60Gb HDDs - 7200rpm, 8mb cache
    Colors-IT 550w PSU - 3.3v @ 3.34v / 5v @ 5.04v / 12v @ 11.80v

    Optical: Ltd-166s / NEC-3520A / Ltr-48125w / Px-R820Ti / QSI DVD-rw d/l

  11. #56
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    796

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    Quote Originally Posted by CD 1986
    Does the .exe patch give any benefits? I've yet to try and was hoping for some feedback before i do!

    Thanks
    I did notice that it sets the "MenuShowDelay" registry dword to "0" which causes the start menu items to open almost instantly, thus giving the windows a more snappy feeling. I didn't need that so i uninstalled it

    Throughout our culture’s long history,
    The first reaction after failing to understand strange or unusual things,
    Is to reject or destroy them.

  12. #57
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    35

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankly
    What could cause me not to be able to enter the bios???
    Had D27_TaiPan_0.1_EB_ED_Bpl_3.19_08.12.04 running with a tbred 1800 switched processors to 2600 barton mobile. Booted up and mobile is recognized and gives me memory speed at 400 ddr. then it just sits there won't respond to keyboard input. Tried resetting cmos by unplugging then moving jumper for approx. 5 minutes. Rebooted and same scenario. Changed keyboards and same results. Any suggestions the bios was working find with tbred seemed very stable, though i did not run prime for long only bout 1 hr.
    Mine does the same thing to me sometimes. If you are using 2 sticks of memory, try removing one and reboot while holding down the "insert" key.

  13. #58
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    I have not seen an answer to the one question if this new BIOS was safe with SATA. Does anyone know, or maybe MERLIN could answer this one.

  14. #59
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    11

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    the official d27 had sata 4250, which is sata safe....but merlin might have taken that out and put something else in, I dunno.....

    Doesn't seem to be much talk about this bios though....from all the threads I've read, they are usually only 2-3 pages....
    xp-m2500+ IQYFA0343(217x12=2604) 1.95v
    sp-97 w/ TT-SM2 *32idle*47load*
    NF7-s rev 2.0 *bios Taipan d26 cpc on*
    1 gig Mushkin lvl2 3500 2-2-2-11 2.9v
    Sapphire x800xt-pe *stock for now* 4.12
    19" Samsung 955df
    2 WD800JB in RAID-0 w/ sata 4250
    WD1600JB
    Antec TruePower 480
    mx-500 on 1030 Func pad
    Logitech z2200

  15. #60
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: Abit NF7-S Bios & Romsip Mod by -=Merlin=-

    yes ... thats why we have nice bench programs ... one may gain more with off apposed to on or vise versa .. but thats the good thing about having both .. you can try both and see what your individual system prevails ..

    besides not everyone has same ram cpu etc .. varies from system to sytem ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •