Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40
  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    513

    Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Has anyone tried the official BIOS 1.4? I noticed them discussing it on the official MSI forums. They are on the MSI website but you have to search for them rather than find them on the webpage for the motherboard.

    Here's the changelog
    MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (MS-7025) v. 1.4 312 kb AMD Award BIOS 11/23/2004
    1. This is Award BIOS release.
    2. This BIOS fixes the following problem(s) of the previous version:
    - System cannot detect SATA device after resume from S3.
    AMD Athlon64 3200+ (Winchester 0431)
    Thermalright XP90, Thermaltake 92mm SilentCat
    MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum (BIOS 1.4)
    2x512mb Crucial Ballistix PC4000
    Albatron GeForce 6800GT 256mb
    OCZ Powerstream520
    Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 120gb 8mb cache
    Seagate Barracuda IV 60gb
    Pioneer DVR 108 (BIOS 1.18)
    Coolermaster Centurion V
    Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 Value
    WinXP Pro SP2, NForce Driver 6.14 (w/IDE driver)
    Dell Ultrasharp 1905FP -DVI

  2. #2
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    I tried it but it wouldn't let me boot into windows. Basically my windows loading screen freezes and the system doesn't response thereafter. I get the same problem with the beta 1.51. Therefore I am sticking to 1.41beta for the time being. Has anyone experienced similar issues when upgrading to to either of these? I believe the problem lies in the Sata interface and some supposed fixes that the new bios were supposed to address. But whilst they advertise such fixes, I myself am crippled by them.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Age
    64
    Posts
    162

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    I have the same issue here with the offical 1.40 and 1.51 beta bios. As soon as the Windows screen shows the system freezes and will not post. The diag leds are all green and I have no issues with the beta 1.41 or 1.3. Both post normally.
    GA-X38-DQ6 - 2 X 2G Gskill PC8000 - E6850 @3.3Ghz - Koolance Case - Thermaltake 700W - Lite-On Blue-Ray DH4O1S - Asus DVD-RW - Xfi Fatality Audio - Creative Audigy 2 Z - Z680 Logitech speakers - XFX 8800GTS Ult into a 24" KDS Monitor - Bios Ver F7

  4. #4
    Joined
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    200

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Lately, new MSI bioses seem to give a lot of trouble.
    Own PC:
    XP-M 2600+ IQYFA (2580MHz 1.85v)
    Thermalright SI97+9cm 4000rpm Delta
    Soltek SL75FRN2-L (bios D1.3L)
    512 Kingston Valueram Winbond CH5 (215fsb 2-2-2-11 2.65v)
    Powercolor R9700
    HGST 7k250 120Gb SATA HDD
    Turtlebeach Santa Cruz
    Pioneer 106 DVD-ROM
    Yamaha F1 CD-RW

    Office PC (Trading+Email):
    A64 2800+ CG 0431 Clawhammer (2304MHz 1.586v)
    Stock cooler (Aluminium Ajigo)
    DFI LP UT250Gb (9/14 bios)
    2x256 HyperX Winbond BH5 (230HTT 2-2-2-10 1T 3v)
    Leadtek Quadro4 280NVS
    2x80Gb HGST 7k250 SATA HDD (RAID1)
    Matsushita CD-ROM

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    74

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Same here, official 1.4 and 1.51b bioses wont let me boot into windows.. it just freezes at the loading part.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Ok, so there is a pattern here. For those who are having issues with the 2 latest releases, through which method did you guys upgrade? windows "liveupdate-winflash" or dos "floppy-flash."
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Age
    64
    Posts
    162

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    I always use the floppy here to flash with. I've never had a problem until this release.
    GA-X38-DQ6 - 2 X 2G Gskill PC8000 - E6850 @3.3Ghz - Koolance Case - Thermaltake 700W - Lite-On Blue-Ray DH4O1S - Asus DVD-RW - Xfi Fatality Audio - Creative Audigy 2 Z - Z680 Logitech speakers - XFX 8800GTS Ult into a 24" KDS Monitor - Bios Ver F7

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Salem, Oregon
    Age
    64
    Posts
    162

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    BTW the modded bios 1.4b1 bios works fine and it will post with no issues.

    http://members.lycos.co.uk/syar2003/
    GA-X38-DQ6 - 2 X 2G Gskill PC8000 - E6850 @3.3Ghz - Koolance Case - Thermaltake 700W - Lite-On Blue-Ray DH4O1S - Asus DVD-RW - Xfi Fatality Audio - Creative Audigy 2 Z - Z680 Logitech speakers - XFX 8800GTS Ult into a 24" KDS Monitor - Bios Ver F7

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    so it would seem as far as the official bios goes 1.3 is the best if one wants to run stock speeds?
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  10. #10
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    according to many users out there 1.4 officials are the best if you reformat and reinstall windows right after updating the bios. Some of us are experiencing a system hang during the boot process if we update to 1.4 officials in a working windows installation, many others are not, but those who are say that reinstalling windows does the trick. I haven't done this nor plan to do it anytime soon so I can't confirm if it works or not.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  11. #11
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bournemouth (UK)
    Posts
    904

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    according to many users out there 1.4 officials are the best if you reformat and reinstall windows right after updating the bios.
    Ouch.
    Can see a few avoiding that then.

    I noted..

    2. This BIOS fixes the following problem(s) of the previous version:
    - System cannot detect SATA device after resume from S3.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Quote Originally Posted by UK_Bloke
    Ouch.
    Can see a few avoiding that then.

    I noted..

    2. This BIOS fixes the following problem(s) of the previous version:
    - System cannot detect SATA device after resume from S3.
    I see on that website a new bios version "7025_15X.exe" are these good?
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,156

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Quote Originally Posted by Deus Falsus
    I tried it but it wouldn't let me boot into windows. Basically my windows loading screen freezes and the system doesn't response thereafter. I get the same problem with the beta 1.51. Therefore I am sticking to 1.41beta for the time being.
    Have you tried 1.41MOD? i.e. the version with the higher CPU voltage options?

    I am currently on 1.4B1 regular and it works so well - and also considering the vast numbers of people with problem with 1.4official - I am reluctant to change, but it the 1.41MOD bios is basically the same as 1.4B1 but with more CPU volts, I may be persuaded to try that.

    Thanks for the info...

    Chip
    Opteron 146
    Thermaltake Big Typhoon
    MSI K8N Neo4
    2 x 1GB Corsair XMS3200
    Gainward 8800 GTX
    2 x Raptor 74GB sata's Raid0
    OCZ Powerstream 520w PSU
    Chenbro Gaming Bomb2 case w/ Silenx 120mm fans
    XP SP2

  14. #14
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    Quote Originally Posted by Chippy
    Have you tried 1.41MOD? i.e. the version with the higher CPU voltage options?

    I am currently on 1.4B1 regular and it works so well - and also considering the vast numbers of people with problem with 1.4official - I am reluctant to change, but it the 1.41MOD bios is basically the same as 1.4B1 but with more CPU volts, I may be persuaded to try that.

    Thanks for the info...

    Chip
    I tried the 1.41bMODDED but the cpu volts don't function properly. For example, if i set it to +13%, 15%, or 18% the bios doesn't accept the changes and instead goes back to defaults upon rebooting, therefore I ditched the "mod" and stuck to the 1.41betas. The only bios where the 13+% settings do work is the 1.36b. Problem is 1.36b doesn't like ULTRA HIGH FSB, and that's what I am aiming for since I'm limited by a multiplier of 9 (winchester 3000.) I can't complain about the 1.41 betas but I would definitely like more voltage options in future releases. With a cpu this cheap I really don't care if I limit its life by 2 years by applying too much voltage to it, by then I'll probably have something else anyhow.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  15. #15
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    UK
    Age
    53
    Posts
    2,544

    Re: Official BIOS 1.4 for K8N neo2

    i had a few probs using the 1.41 modded bios, so went back to the 1.37beta, but this doesn't have the shutdown temp. any1 know id the 1.41beta (not mod) has the shutdown temp?

    thx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •