Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    44

    MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    I just finished modifying the 1.36 BIOS and I want to know if anyone knows where I can upload the file, so that others can download it.

    All the voltage options work on this BIOS. I am currently using the 18% vcore on my system, and I am running at 1.77 vcore right now on a Winchester.

    I made the following changes to the BIOS:
    1.- I fixed two typos
    2.- PCI device list will now be displayed when booting
    3.- Modified BIOS message
    4.- Unhid all the hidden options in the BIOS
    5.- Added the ability to disable power management and ACPI (under power management in BIOS). Disabling power management usually results in a more stable system.
    6.- Enabled some selections within options that were also hidden.
    7.- Negative 12 volt rail will be displayed in PC Health screen in BIOS (-12 volt rail). Previously, you could only see the positive rail.


    I used bold to emphasize the "important" changes. There were so many options / features that I set to changeable in the BIOS, that would be difficult to list them all. I think I enabled more features then in any other modded BIOS.

    I'm running on the modded BIOS now, and working great so far. But I will give the standard "disclaimer" that any modded BIOS is to be used at your own risk.

    Sincerely,
    Bitpower
    Last edited by Bitpower; 12-17-2004 at 09:58 PM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,793

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    interesting.i think just to cover the bases,this is for neo2 right?what kind of clocks are you getting with it?thx
    Biostar 790gx am2+
    Phenom II x4 720
    Sapphire Ati 4850(512mb)
    raid-0 x2 36gb raptors
    g.skill 2x2gb ram
    750 watt psu
    28 inch Hanns-g lcd monitor

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    gimme a link and ill host it

    edit: did you mod it from from the 1.3 modded one?

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    44

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    Yes, it is for the Neo2 Platinum.

    And to answer Pimp: No, I modded it directly from a clean copy of the 1.36 Beta BIOS. Since there is no modded BIOS where the voltages work, so I decided to make one. I used modbin6.exe to mod it, which is a utility for modding BIOS. I used it before to mod my DFI bios, when I had a lanparty. It lets you edit many Award BIOS files.

    I set almost all hidden options in the BIOS to changeable, so you can choose to change any settings you want. I even enabled some "weird" options like the ability to turn off AGP aperture. So you have a lot more options to set then probably in any other modded BIOS, and also the voltages work, so I think this will be great bios for overclocking.

    I can email you the BIOS as an attachment and then you can host it. Let me know what email to send it to.

    Sincerely,
    Bitpower
    Last edited by Bitpower; 12-17-2004 at 10:12 PM.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    well the 1.3b6 bios (previously modded). its voltages worked on all. but not sure if it has the unlocked stuff like this one though.

    check pm

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    44

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    I thought 1.36 beta was created by MSI as a beta.

    I think I did a good job on modding it. I just sent you the file via an attachment by email.

    After you get it, just add a link to this thread so people will be able to download it, if they want it.

    Thanks,
    Bitpower [BP]

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    http://www.chris.silent-sceptiks.com...os/NEO2BP3.zip

    unlimited bandwidth so wont be going down anytime soon
    Last edited by Pimp!; 12-18-2004 at 03:59 PM.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    just see 1 problem with it, the vcore option menu

    http://www.chris.silent-sceptiks.com/bios.jpg

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    44

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    Pimp,

    I just emailed you an updated version of the modded BIOS. I fixed the vcore option menu, and a couple other minor things. Please host the newer version of the modded BIOS, so that people can download it. Thanks a lot.

    I'm running my Winchester at 2.7 ghz on this BIOS. The old bios that I used, I couldn't go beyond 2.55 ghz.

    Sincerely,
    Bitpower [BP]
    Last edited by Bitpower; 12-18-2004 at 02:56 PM.

  10. #10
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Chicago,IL,USA
    Posts
    424

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    Thanks guys for pulling this off. I am looking forward to trying it. What was the issue with Vcore option menu?
    KTony in Chicago

    MSI K8N Neo2 Plat. A64-4000+ 90nm, 200x12=2400mhz, Vcore 1.28v, Release1D0 BIOS, 1GB OCZ 3200 Platinum Rev 2-dual channel, 2--2-2-5@1T, 1:1, Vmem 2.50v, WinXP ProSP2, TT SilentTowerHS, AS5, ATI AIW 9800Pro, Hitachi 160GB SATA #3 (boot), Maxtor 30GB IDE, NEC 3500 DVD+-RW, Plextor CDRW, Antec TruePower 550: 5v=40A,12v=30A,3.3v=32A, +5, +3.3, +12=530W
    &
    Iwill KK266-R w/AYHJA 1.4g 133x10.5, Binary1022 BIOS, WinXP-SP2, Thermalright AX7, AS5, Thermaltake 53cfm modified w/spd control, 528MB PC133 CAS2 SDRAM, Fastest memory settings in BIOS, 4-way interleave,Page mode enabled, ATI AIW Radeon DDR AGP, 1-Seagate 7200 160GB Boot drive-primary IDE master-WD 120GB on RAID controller, Plextor 16-10-40 CD-rw Secondary master, Thermaltake 430w PSU--Vcore 1.69

  11. #11
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available


  12. #12
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    The thing with 1.36 betas is they don't like like high fsb, at least on my machine they start failing prime at around 283mhz, whereas the 1.41 betas pass prime at 300mhz. I have TCCD Ram and I believe I read multiple posts where people advice using the 1.41 betas with tccd memory and perhaps for a good reason. WHY DO I LIKE HIGH FSB? well CUZ IM LIMITED BY MY WINNY 3000+'S MULTIPLIER OF 9. so high fsb is the only way for me, and 1.36s don't give me that.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    virginia beach, VA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    401

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    lol too ironic bitpower, i can now be at 2.7 too played about an hour of cs source, yes i know that doesnt make it stable, but stable so far

  14. #14
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    109

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    ok i know this is dumb, but do you flash this bios with "bin" extention as oposed to for example 7025.120 or 7025.130 does it matter or do i just specify the new name with the bin extention?
    A64 3500+ || 1gig OCZ 3700EL Plat || MSI K8N Neo2 || BFG 6800GT OC || Audigy2 || Tsunami Dream VA3000 || 2001FP 20.1" LCD || Logitech Z680

  15. #15
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    St. Helens, England
    Age
    43
    Posts
    566

    Re: MODDED 1.36 BIOS Available

    Thanks Bitpower,

    I've already found more speed with your bios and your tips. I've got to find what the new limit is now

    Top Bloke!!!
    59.98 - This is the amount of money a loyal customer is worth to Overclockers.co.uk

    Beware of buying from overclockers.co.uk, they will swindle you by abusing the consumer law if they need to refund you for faulty hardware. Thieving gits

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •