Page 4 of 13 FirstFirst 12345678 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 193

Thread: My first HTPC

  1. #46
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    303

    Re: My first HTPC

    I'd like to see a pic of everyone's HTPC rig for those who have one.

    Sounds like we have a nice HTPC thread going.
    Darren E
    HTPC
    Athlon XP3000+ | 1GB PC3200 | Abit NF7-S 2.0 | 80GB Seagate | 200GB Seagate | Antec Overature Silent Case | PNY 6600GT DVI | Lite-On SK7551 IR Keyboard w/Pointing Device | Sony RM-AV2500 Remote | 2 Hauppauge PVR-150 | 2 DirecTV D10 | Hitachi 65S700 | Beyond TV 4.0
    Notebook
    Sager 4750- AMD64 3200 | 80GB HDD | 17"WSXGA | 1GB Ram
    A/V Authoring
    Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus | Lite-On DVD | Antec 900 Case | Delta 66 Audio Card | Intel E6600 | 2 GB G-Skill RAM | eVGA 8800GTS 320MB | Seagate 500/500/400 GB HDD | ViewSonic 20" Q20wb

  2. #47
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: My first HTPC

    I showed you mine....you got some????
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  3. #48
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    303

    Re: My first HTPC





    Here's my setup-

    Currently, my whole house is networked- 10/100/1000 ethernet and 802.11g wireless.

    Using Snapstream Beyond TV, I can compress video to .WMV format and watch shows from remote computers. The DVD burner is going to be moved from the HTPC to my new computer being built so I can send movies/shows over to the new computer for editing and burning- thus freeing up my HDD.

    The silver external HDD case holds and 80GB Maxtor drive used to hold pictures. This will be moved over to the new computer as well but a shortcut will be used to show photos on the Hitachi 65S700 when guests come over.

    Now, I just need a solution to get all the electronics OFF the top of the TV and hidden from view. The entire system is controlled via a Lite-On keyboard w/built in pointing device which key-commands are programmed into a Sony RM-AV2500 remote.

    Speakers are Polk R20's which will soon replace my rear channel speakers (currently Sherwood) and Polk R50's will sit on the sides of the TV with a Polk CSi/20 for the center channel once I'm done spending on my PC. For now, the R20's are acting as my mains until I find Polk Cherry R50's and a CSi/20.
    Bass is nice and deep thanks to a 12" Dual Subwoofer.

    Sound is driven from the nVidia Soundstorm and optically connected to my Sony receiver...DVD's never sounded better.

    I'm not done with this so, I'll have to post more pics when the time comes.
    Darren E
    HTPC
    Athlon XP3000+ | 1GB PC3200 | Abit NF7-S 2.0 | 80GB Seagate | 200GB Seagate | Antec Overature Silent Case | PNY 6600GT DVI | Lite-On SK7551 IR Keyboard w/Pointing Device | Sony RM-AV2500 Remote | 2 Hauppauge PVR-150 | 2 DirecTV D10 | Hitachi 65S700 | Beyond TV 4.0
    Notebook
    Sager 4750- AMD64 3200 | 80GB HDD | 17"WSXGA | 1GB Ram
    A/V Authoring
    Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus | Lite-On DVD | Antec 900 Case | Delta 66 Audio Card | Intel E6600 | 2 GB G-Skill RAM | eVGA 8800GTS 320MB | Seagate 500/500/400 GB HDD | ViewSonic 20" Q20wb

  4. #49
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: My first HTPC

    Very nice! Thanks for the pics!

    Today I tried to install the Happauge 500 card...wouldn't go in the ASUS card, for some reason it didn't like it at all. Wouldn't boot. The card needed to be in the 1st PCI slot and that was taken by the video card, just no room.

    I put the 915P Intel board in there, so far so good, but I'm building from scrtch again! Now I have DDR and PCIex video as well. I have a sweet Chaintech GeForce6200 TurboCache. http://www.chaintech.com.tw/tw/eng/n...C/SV62TC-E.htm
    I'll let you know how that works out. I'm done with the ATI card...!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  5. #50
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    303

    Re: My first HTPC

    Hauppauge is kind of weird when it comes to where it needs to be placed. I had to move my PVR-150 from one PCI slot to another to get it to work but it sounds like you don't have that luxory (?).

    You, my friend, are a Chaintek MANIAC...You must like their product line of goods.

    If you are experiencing choppy video and blurring- there is a DirectX 9.0c problem which is causing it and there is supposed to be a hotfix using the "quartz.dll" file from 9.0b replacing the current one. I'm not sure if this is an issue in Windows MCE but as far as Beyond TV and Sage TV, it's a known fix for video playback issues.

    I have yet to try it out (tried once w/no luck) but I've been told it even fixes ATI video issues.
    Darren E
    HTPC
    Athlon XP3000+ | 1GB PC3200 | Abit NF7-S 2.0 | 80GB Seagate | 200GB Seagate | Antec Overature Silent Case | PNY 6600GT DVI | Lite-On SK7551 IR Keyboard w/Pointing Device | Sony RM-AV2500 Remote | 2 Hauppauge PVR-150 | 2 DirecTV D10 | Hitachi 65S700 | Beyond TV 4.0
    Notebook
    Sager 4750- AMD64 3200 | 80GB HDD | 17"WSXGA | 1GB Ram
    A/V Authoring
    Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus | Lite-On DVD | Antec 900 Case | Delta 66 Audio Card | Intel E6600 | 2 GB G-Skill RAM | eVGA 8800GTS 320MB | Seagate 500/500/400 GB HDD | ViewSonic 20" Q20wb

  6. #51
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: My first HTPC

    Well, that would be nice...I'll stick with 9.0b for now!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  7. #52
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    303

    Re: My first HTPC

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleBob
    Well, that would be nice...I'll stick with 9.0b for now!
    So there *IS* a DirectX 9.0c issue even with Windows MCE??

    P.S. I can't wait to hear about your nVidia card's performance- sounds like a great solution.
    Darren E
    HTPC
    Athlon XP3000+ | 1GB PC3200 | Abit NF7-S 2.0 | 80GB Seagate | 200GB Seagate | Antec Overature Silent Case | PNY 6600GT DVI | Lite-On SK7551 IR Keyboard w/Pointing Device | Sony RM-AV2500 Remote | 2 Hauppauge PVR-150 | 2 DirecTV D10 | Hitachi 65S700 | Beyond TV 4.0
    Notebook
    Sager 4750- AMD64 3200 | 80GB HDD | 17"WSXGA | 1GB Ram
    A/V Authoring
    Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus | Lite-On DVD | Antec 900 Case | Delta 66 Audio Card | Intel E6600 | 2 GB G-Skill RAM | eVGA 8800GTS 320MB | Seagate 500/500/400 GB HDD | ViewSonic 20" Q20wb

  8. #53
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: My first HTPC

    OH, btw...I am a Chaintech CoMod, so, yes....I am rather loyal!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  9. #54
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: My first HTPC

    Uncle - those pictures of the desktop look very nice on your TV. Does it really look that good? I find that with regular windows and a TV out my desktop looks like crap cause of the lines. Does this Windows edition get rid of that? Or do you know some secret I would like to know?

  10. #55
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Age
    62
    Posts
    11,621

    Re: My first HTPC

    Quote Originally Posted by dna
    Uncle - those pictures of the desktop look very nice on your TV. Does it really look that good? I find that with regular windows and a TV out my desktop looks like crap cause of the lines. Does this Windows edition get rid of that? Or do you know some secret I would like to know?
    Do you have an HDTV? Regular TV resolution is something along the lines of 240 x 480. A computer desktop looks pretty bad. DVD playback should be fine, however.

  11. #56
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    303

    Re: My first HTPC

    I know windows Media Center uses a special desktop with larger icons and fonts but the TV he uses is a HDTV.

    I'll have to try and remember to take some photos of my setup when I get home with windows displayed just to compare Windows MCE and a Non-MCE system desktop.
    Darren E
    HTPC
    Athlon XP3000+ | 1GB PC3200 | Abit NF7-S 2.0 | 80GB Seagate | 200GB Seagate | Antec Overature Silent Case | PNY 6600GT DVI | Lite-On SK7551 IR Keyboard w/Pointing Device | Sony RM-AV2500 Remote | 2 Hauppauge PVR-150 | 2 DirecTV D10 | Hitachi 65S700 | Beyond TV 4.0
    Notebook
    Sager 4750- AMD64 3200 | 80GB HDD | 17"WSXGA | 1GB Ram
    A/V Authoring
    Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus | Lite-On DVD | Antec 900 Case | Delta 66 Audio Card | Intel E6600 | 2 GB G-Skill RAM | eVGA 8800GTS 320MB | Seagate 500/500/400 GB HDD | ViewSonic 20" Q20wb

  12. #57
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: My first HTPC

    Yes, I use an HDTV. I don't know what it would look like on a regular tv. You don' have to use the large icons, btw. I don't as I use 800 x 600 res.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  13. #58
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    303

    Re: My first HTPC

    I looked at your pics again and noticed what looked like un-used space on your TV (underscan) but your TV may just have a black border- I can't tell.

    Unless you have your TV hooked up via S-Video, your TV supports a native 1280 x 720 (progressive) so why don't you use that resolution?

    Are you familiar with a program called "Powerstrip?"
    Last edited by DarrenDiego; 01-26-2005 at 03:49 PM.
    Darren E
    HTPC
    Athlon XP3000+ | 1GB PC3200 | Abit NF7-S 2.0 | 80GB Seagate | 200GB Seagate | Antec Overature Silent Case | PNY 6600GT DVI | Lite-On SK7551 IR Keyboard w/Pointing Device | Sony RM-AV2500 Remote | 2 Hauppauge PVR-150 | 2 DirecTV D10 | Hitachi 65S700 | Beyond TV 4.0
    Notebook
    Sager 4750- AMD64 3200 | 80GB HDD | 17"WSXGA | 1GB Ram
    A/V Authoring
    Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus | Lite-On DVD | Antec 900 Case | Delta 66 Audio Card | Intel E6600 | 2 GB G-Skill RAM | eVGA 8800GTS 320MB | Seagate 500/500/400 GB HDD | ViewSonic 20" Q20wb

  14. #59
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: My first HTPC

    Quote Originally Posted by DarrenDiego
    I know windows Media Center uses a special desktop with larger icons and fonts but the TV he uses is a HDTV.

    I'll have to try and remember to take some photos of my setup when I get home with windows displayed just to compare Windows MCE and a Non-MCE system desktop.
    That would be nice. I'd like to see how it would look on a regular TV. The regular desktop is useable on a regular TV, but it's hard to read file names and such. Though I'd suppose that MCE would run all that through an app.
    Question: Does it just look for everything in "My Music" folder? How would it deal with files spread across 3 different HDDs? Can you point it to look at all of them? Does it go through and hunt up all media when you first run it? If so, would you have to manually add new media thereafter?

  15. #60
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: My first HTPC

    Quote Originally Posted by DarrenDiego
    I looked at your pics again and noticed what looked like un-used space on your TV (underscan) but your TV may just have a black border- I can't tell.

    Unless you have your TV hooked up via S-Video, your TV supports a native 1280 x 720 (progressive) so why don't you use that resolution?

    Are you familiar with a program called "Powerstrip?"
    Great idea...I'd forgotten about that. I'll look it up. I have just gotten a 6600GT PCIex card in..it supports HDTV via svideo. I hope to have a chance to try it this weekend.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •