Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 121 to 132 of 132
  1. #121
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    5,696

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    We need an update. Who do we petition? Tigsman? All right buddy! I petition thee. Anyone in contact with the Tigsman?
    Always Look on the Bright Side of Life - Eric Idle

    "I like pigs. Dogs look up to us -- Cats look down on us - Only pigs treat us as equals." Sir Winston Churchill

  2. #122
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Reality: Playground for the unimaginative.
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,894

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Haven't seen Tigs in a while but ...

    download the extension with IE so that you end up with a pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.xpi file.

    Rename it to pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.zip. Open with your choice of program (7-zip, winzip, winrar, explorer, whatever), you will see a file called install.rdf.

    Open that file with notepad (either inside the archive or extract it)

    you will see a line that says

    <em:minVersion>0.8</em:minVersion>
    <em:maxVersion>2.0</em:maxVersion>

    Change the maxVersion to about 5.0 or so and save the changes and reimport install.rdf if you extracted it

    Rename the file back to pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.xpi, fire up firefox and then drag and drop the xpi file into the browser window.

    Your toolbar shall return!

  3. #123
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    5,696

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Excellent! Thanks MBA!
    Always Look on the Bright Side of Life - Eric Idle

    "I like pigs. Dogs look up to us -- Cats look down on us - Only pigs treat us as equals." Sir Winston Churchill

  4. #124
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    246

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Quote Originally Posted by molestedbyasus View Post
    Haven't seen Tigs in a while but ...

    download the extension with IE so that you end up with a pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.xpi file.

    Rename it to pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.zip. Open with your choice of program (7-zip, winzip, winrar, explorer, whatever), you will see a file called install.rdf.

    Open that file with notepad (either inside the archive or extract it)

    you will see a line that says

    <em:minVersion>0.8</em:minVersion>
    <em:maxVersion>2.0</em:maxVersion>

    Change the maxVersion to about 5.0 or so and save the changes and reimport install.rdf if you extracted it

    Rename the file back to pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.xpi, fire up firefox and then drag and drop the xpi file into the browser window.

    Your toolbar shall return!
    I did this but when I drop in in my browser window nothing happens.
    Core i7 2600K @ 3.4GHz
    MSI P67A-GD65 DDR3
    Corsair DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    XFX HD-6950 800M 1GB DDR5
    Onboard Audio
    DVDRW: LITE-ON SHW-160P6S
    Seagate-500gig
    Win 7 64bit, SP-1

  5. #125
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Reality: Playground for the unimaginative.
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,894

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    You renamed it back to .xpi and click dragged the icon into your firefox window and then let go?

  6. #126
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    246

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Quote Originally Posted by molestedbyasus View Post
    You renamed it back to .xpi and click dragged the icon into your firefox window and then let go?
    Yeah this is what I see in the new tab when I drop it in.
    Index of file:///C:/Users/name/Downloads/pc_perspective_site_navigator_v2-2.3-fx.xpi/
    Up to higher level directory

    Show hidden objects

    Name Size Last Modified

    chrome 2/10/2010 7:32:27 PM
    File:install.rdf 2 KB 2/10/2010 7:55:37 PM
    Core i7 2600K @ 3.4GHz
    MSI P67A-GD65 DDR3
    Corsair DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    XFX HD-6950 800M 1GB DDR5
    Onboard Audio
    DVDRW: LITE-ON SHW-160P6S
    Seagate-500gig
    Win 7 64bit, SP-1

  7. #127
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    5,696

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    It won't install because of a missing install script.


    file:///C:/Users/Drawde5/Desktop/pcp...05.1.11.02.xpi

    Firefox could not install the file at

    file:///C:/Users/Drawde5/Desktop/pcper.1.2005.1.11.02.xpi

    because: Install script not found
    -204

    The next try: PC Perspective Site Navigator v2 2.2 could not be installed because it is not compatible with Firefox 3.6.

    anyway, thanks for the suggestion.
    Last edited by Drawde5; 02-13-2010 at 09:00 AM. Reason: add next move
    Always Look on the Bright Side of Life - Eric Idle

    "I like pigs. Dogs look up to us -- Cats look down on us - Only pigs treat us as equals." Sir Winston Churchill

  8. #128
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    246

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    I think I have found out why this did not work.

    After I saved it and changed the file ext back to .xpi the file still has a folder and I can access the files inside it.

    I have not figured out how to just make it one file like it was before I changed the ext. to .zip.

    Have any ideas?
    Core i7 2600K @ 3.4GHz
    MSI P67A-GD65 DDR3
    Corsair DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    XFX HD-6950 800M 1GB DDR5
    Onboard Audio
    DVDRW: LITE-ON SHW-160P6S
    Seagate-500gig
    Win 7 64bit, SP-1

  9. #129
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Reality: Playground for the unimaginative.
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,894

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Maybe whatever compression program you used decided to make its self the default program for xpi files and now FF isn't getting a chance to open it?

  10. #130
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    246

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Quote Originally Posted by molestedbyasus View Post
    Maybe whatever compression program you used decided to make its self the default program for xpi files and now FF isn't getting a chance to open it?
    That's the problem. Once I changed the file to .zip it keeps that association after I rename back to .xpi. When I go into properties I can't change the "Type of file" it keeps it as WinRAR Archive.

    Got any suggestions?
    Core i7 2600K @ 3.4GHz
    MSI P67A-GD65 DDR3
    Corsair DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    XFX HD-6950 800M 1GB DDR5
    Onboard Audio
    DVDRW: LITE-ON SHW-160P6S
    Seagate-500gig
    Win 7 64bit, SP-1

  11. #131
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    246

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    OK, I got this to work somewhat.

    I had to un-check some boxes in folder options.
    Tools -> Folder Options -> View -> Advanced Settings
    Uncheck the boxes for.
    Hide extensions for known file types
    Hide protected operating

    Now the .xpi .zip file problem is solved.
    BUT
    Whenever I drop it in my browser it says it is installing but I have nothing to show for it. It's like nothing installed.
    Core i7 2600K @ 3.4GHz
    MSI P67A-GD65 DDR3
    Corsair DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
    XFX HD-6950 800M 1GB DDR5
    Onboard Audio
    DVDRW: LITE-ON SHW-160P6S
    Seagate-500gig
    Win 7 64bit, SP-1

  12. #132
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Reality: Playground for the unimaginative.
    Age
    42
    Posts
    3,894

    Re: Tigsman's PCPer and PCPer F@H Firefox Extensions

    Just to revisit this topic, as I've now seen the odd behaviour some have described.

    My home machine (in sig), Win7 Professional shows the PCPer add on in the menu bar. Win7 Enterprise at work does not.

    In both cases I have an .xpi file that had the version info string edited so that Firefox has no compatibility issues. I've even used the same xpi file on both machines with no changes.

    Farting around in about:config seems to have done nothing when the strings for checking for compatibility and secure updates are changed to false. No sign of the addon using the Menu Editor addin.

    ... now investigating trying to uninstall and reinstall in the hopes that will help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •