Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    35

    Question 10x132 ok, but not 10x133

    Hi!
    I'm having strange problems with my Tbird 1.33GHz and a7v133.
    When the cpu is cool and I boot up, everything is fine although it runs hot, 52C idle and 57C load.
    But if I try to reboot it doesn't POST.

    If I change the FSB from 133 to 132, rebooting works just fine. The temperatur is still as high as with 133.

    I suppose I have a heating problem but I don't think this is causing my reboot problem, or is it? Since once I get it going in 133 the temps are the same as in 132.

    Do I cross some limit when going from 132 to 133?
    Setting the FSB to anything higher than 132 results in this reboot-problem.

    I read in another thread about remarked cpu's, could that be the case?
    Tbird 1.33 AXIA
    Zalman 3100g
    Asus A7V133
    2*256MB Mosel Vitelec PC133
    Chieftec with 3 Pabst 80mm fans
    HP 8100 CDwriter
    SoundBlaster Live!
    GeForce2 GTS 64

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    ChocolateTown
    Posts
    18
    You might want to check on the speed of your memory chips. If you allow the BIOS to automatically set the CAS, etc., then you might have crossed over the 133Mz limit. This happened to me on the same board which I installed the other day. It seems that the CAS=2 limit is 133Mz. If your particular chip speed is just a little high, then setting it at 133Mz in the Bios may result in an actual speed of slightly over 133Mz. Mine actually was 134.2Mz. This results in the memory being limited in some fashion, I'm not exactly sure why. Anyway, When I set the memory speed at 132Mz., eveything went fine. You might want to consider this. TheBeagle.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,924

    Cool

    Very possible, as Kingston RAM isn't very good. Set the RAM to CAS3 and retry. If it is already at CAS3 then turn off all things like interleave and paging, and turn RAM speed down to the lowest (usually 8/10ns) and retry.

    M

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    35
    I thought Kingston made good memory.
    Anyway, I did some more testing.
    CPU multiplier 9.0x
    CPU frequency 100 MHz
    DRAM frequency 133 MHz

    This works fine, but if I change the CPU frequency like this,
    CPU multiplier 9.0x
    CPU frequency 133 MHz
    DRAM frequency 133 MHz

    then it won't POST.

    Could it still be the memmory that causes the problem, I mean since setting the DRAM frequency to 133 works.

    Tbird 1.33 AXIA
    Zalman 3100g
    Asus A7V133
    2*256MB Mosel Vitelec PC133
    Chieftec with 3 Pabst 80mm fans
    HP 8100 CDwriter
    SoundBlaster Live!
    GeForce2 GTS 64

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,924

    Cool

    When you set CPU fsb to 133 for G*d's sake make sure that RAM sets (or is set) to HostCLK, not HostCLK+PCICLK!

    M

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    16
    When you set the CPU bus 133 or higher, the FSB defaults to whatever the cpu bus is, you can't set hostckl+pciclk then.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,924

    Cool

    Does that ALWAYS happen on the Asus? On the Abit it does that normally, but if you aren't careful you can set it back to HostCLK+PCI by selecting the wrong fsb setting - 136/45 instead of 136/34, say.

    M

  8. #8
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    35
    I tried to raise the multiplier and lower the CPU frequencey:
    CPU multiplier 11.5x
    CPU frequency 120
    DRAM Frequency 120
    that worked fine. But a a higher frequency and a lower multiplier setting would be preferably, wouldn't it?

    I'm getting pretty tired of all this by now, should have sticked to my old AMD 200MHz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •