Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    47

    K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    Why are they 2 different colors? is there a reason for this>>??

    Im adding ram and just want to know what the deal is

    thanks

  2. #2
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Age
    42
    Posts
    43

    Re: K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    It differentiates the two channels for dual-channel mode.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    47

    Re: K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    So if i got a new ram stick I where should I put it?

    same color slot as the other, or the different color slot?

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Age
    63
    Posts
    704

    Re: K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    Same color to run dual channel. If the sticks aren't the same it could lead to problems. Pooldoc
    DFI LanParty Ultra-D 7-04 bta
    Opteron148,285x10,1.54
    2x512 OCZ EL Platinum pc4200[2.5-3-4-7]1t,1/1
    AntecNeoPower 480
    LianLi v1000 b
    74g Raptor
    EVGA 7900 GTX
    Sony DL dvd burner
    Vista Beta 2
    21" WS Lcd
    WC by Danger Den

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    47

    Re: K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    well i got the same brand, geil... so i hope it works ok

    thanks for the info...

    Now let me ask you this... If I chose to buy another 512 stick, would that be a problem since 2 would be in 1 color slot and just 1 in the other color?

  6. #6
    Joined
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    10

    Re: K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    i believe that dual channel requires sticks of ram to be in pairs inorder to function. so if you have 3, i dont think that it would detect the 3rd stick. so if you want another 512, you might have to buy 2 sticks of 256. someone correct me if i'm wrong.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manhattan, KS
    Age
    47
    Posts
    192

    Re: K8NS Ultra-939 - whats with the ram slots?

    When all else fails, read the instructions...

    The manual explains that you can use double-sided or single-sided RAM modules in slots 1&2, or 3&4, or 1&2&3&4 to get dual channel performance.

    For single channel performance, use doubles/singles in 1 or 3, or one each in 1&3.

    The manual also includes a warning that if you try to use modules in slots 1&2&3, the system will not boot...

    Hope that helps ya.

    On a personal note, I would recommend using at least *somewhat* matched pairs of the same size/brand/speed DDR modules, for the best performance. My Geil Ultra-X is not listed on the K8NS-Ultra 939 page, but they do work, in slots 1&2.

    (By *somewhat* I mean that I bought two sticks of 512 separately, but they were the same manufacturer/line/speed)
    PC7B+ CM:A64X2 4200:PCP&C 510SLI: DFI nF4 SLI-DR:2x7800GTX:2x74GB Raptors-RAID 0, 120GB IDE:2x1GB Ballistix PC4000
    PC60 CM: A64 3500: Ultra XC 500W: Gigabyte K8NS Ultra 939: eVGA 6800GT: 80GB IDE: 4x256MB Geil Ultra PC3500


    ISP Email 36-0-0 HeatWare 34-0-0 eBay 38-0-0 PimpRig.com



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •