Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 76 to 89 of 89
  1. #76
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    266

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Question. I am confused. I would like a dual core processor by the end of this year. However, I plan on building a system now. I just received my ASUS A8n-sli and 4 CORSAIR DDR400 3200Xl's with 2-2-2-5 timings.

    1.) Should I purchase the VENICE 3200+ and overclock? I have never overclocked. I would I do it. Please provide a basic overview. I will be liquid cooling with Thermaltakes kit.

    2.) When you overclock a VENICE 3200+ from 2.0 Ghz to lets say 2.7 Ghz, does this change the 3200+ designation to a higher number? Theoretically?

    3.) Or will I be better off with a 3500+ VENICE or a 3700+ San Diego core?

    Please advise. I need to purchase a processor this week. Thanks.

  2. #77
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Greensboro, NC
    Age
    65
    Posts
    920

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by ApoDOC
    Question. I am confused. I would like a dual core processor by the end of this year. However, I plan on building a system now. I just received my ASUS A8n-sli and 4 CORSAIR DDR400 3200Xl's with 2-2-2-5 timings.

    1.) Should I purchase the VENICE 3200+ and overclock? I have never overclocked. I would I do it. Please provide a basic overview. I will be liquid cooling with Thermaltakes kit.

    2.) When you overclock a VENICE 3200+ from 2.0 Ghz to lets say 2.7 Ghz, does this change the 3200+ designation to a higher number? Theoretically?

    3.) Or will I be better off with a 3500+ VENICE or a 3700+ San Diego core?

    Please advise. I need to purchase a processor this week. Thanks.
    1.) If you are going to upgrade to dual, yes I would get the 3200+ for now. You can see a guide for o/c'ing the A64 here in the forums and also Anandtech has a very good guide.

    2.) Theoretically yes.

    3.) I probably haven't seen all the threads, but it looks like to me they all max out stable at around 2.8 to 2.9 GHz'ish. Personally, I don't see the need to buy a 3500+ or 3700+ when I could get the same speed from a 3200+. With your watercooling, a 3000+ may do. I've seen one thread where someone with watercooling got 2.9GHz stable with a 3000+. Of course, different steppings and your mileage may vary.
    Soltek K890Pro-939
    AMD64 3200+ Venice@2.77 Ghz
    MSI 6600GT PCI-E
    G.Skill PC3200 Dual Channel 1gb

  3. #78
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    266

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    The overclocking threads you have pointed to are too complicated for beginners. The acronyms and everything else I do not understand as much. Any ideas on where to learn all this?
    ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM
    3200+ VENICE
    Corsair 1GB Memory XPERT modules 2-2-2-5
    NVIDIA 7800GTX (single for now)
    MAXTOR 250GB 16MB cache DIAMONDMAX 10
    NEC ND-3540A DVD-R DL
    Thermal take water cooling BIG WATER
    Thermal take Armor Case
    PC Power and Cooling TURBO SLI 510 Watt

  4. #79
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    I haven't done any overclocking in a over a few years so I was wondering if I could pick all of your brain's for a minute?

    I just bought a Gigabyte nForce4 K8N Ultra, 3200+ Venice, and 2x 512MB Corsair RAM (p/n VS1GBKIT400). I would have sprung for the same RAM that was used for the original test but $ was an issue. Can anyone give me their opinion on how high I might max out on for proc speed? Just curious what I should expect before all of it gets here. Thanks for any help!

  5. #80
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Beer
    I haven't done any overclocking in a over a few years so I was wondering if I could pick all of your brain's for a minute?

    I just bought a Gigabyte nForce4 K8N Ultra, 3200+ Venice, and 2x 512MB Corsair RAM (p/n VS1GBKIT400). I would have sprung for the same RAM that was used for the original test but $ was an issue. Can anyone give me their opinion on how high I might max out on for proc speed? Just curious what I should expect before all of it gets here. Thanks for any help!
    Where did you purchase from?


    If you bought from Newegg, chances are you'll get an LBBLE 0516EPEW cpu which will do about 2.7ghz on 1.7v MAX. The later batch of Monarch 3200+s do about 2.67ghz and their stepping is LBBLE 0516EPGW.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  6. #81
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by Deus Falsus
    Where did you purchase from?


    If you bought from Newegg, chances are you'll get an LBBLE 0516EPEW cpu which will do about 2.7ghz on 1.7v MAX. The later batch of Monarch 3200+s do about 2.67ghz and their stepping is LBBLE 0516EPGW.
    I bought it from Monarch.

    Here's the link to buy the item:

    http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ct_Code=120212

    Either way, I'll be satisfied.

    Thanks for the info and anymore you have.

  7. #82
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Well, assuming you bought OEM You'll most likely get an LBBLE 0516EGPW or 0517BPDW, They'll reach their ceiling at 2.6-2.7 with 1.7v. Truly I wish that this isn't the case and luck is on your side but if you get the aforementioned steppings you'll be looking at less than spectacular results, of course 2.7 ain't bad at all but winchesters are known to do that also so 2.7 isn't exactly earthshattering.

    Ok now when you do get your parts you'll most likely have to use dividers so you can try something like 10*270 @ stock vcore with a 166mhz divider for your ram and since it is "value" ram focus your attention on cpu overclockability first keeping in mind that the ram doesn't exceed 210mhz. Once you reach your sweet spot, move on to ram, vid, etc. I would run one short pass of memtest86 before running prime95, superpi or 3dmark and I wouldn't exceed more than 1.7 vcore unless you have some good cooling. Hope this info helps.
    Last edited by Deus Falsus; 05-13-2005 at 11:52 PM.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  8. #83
    Joined
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,159

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Hmm i got 2.7ghz on a 3000+ Venice @ newegg at 1.65 volts not prime stable though "With the whole 5 hours i had with it" 1.7 volts is high for me considering its an OEM you can see it in the Chaintech Forum
    Simple 300x9 htt multiplier of 3 and 133 ram divider.... for some reason underclocked my ram when 300x8 with 133 ram divider i get exactly pc3200 speeds weird. but yeah this Proc total rocks 2.7 only 42 degrees under load.

  9. #84
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by Deus Falsus
    Well, assuming you bought OEM You'll most likely get an LBBLE 0516EGPW or 0517BPDW, They'll reach their ceiling at 2.6-2.7 with 1.7v. Truly I wish that this isn't the case and luck is on your side but if you get the aforementioned steppings you'll be looking at less than spectacular results, of course 2.7 ain't bad at all but winchesters are known to do that also so 2.7 isn't exactly earthshattering.

    Ok now when you do get your parts you'll most likely have to use dividers so you can try something like 10*270 @ stock vcore with a 166mhz divider for your ram and since it is "value" ram focus your attention on cpu overclockability first keeping in mind that the ram doesn't exceed 210mhz. Once you reach your sweet spot, move on to ram, vid, etc. I would run one short pass of memtest86 before running prime95, superpi or 3dmark and I wouldn't exceed more than 1.7 vcore unless you have some good cooling. Hope this info helps.
    I did buy a retail version. Thanks for the tips. I'll let you know what happens. You guys are a ton of help!
    Last edited by Captain Beer; 05-14-2005 at 06:22 AM.

  10. #85
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Ok, I'm running 10X255, 1.45v, and my mem is @ 166. Very stable. It starts to become unstable if I push it any harder since at these settings my RAM is @ 211MHz. I also am testing my PCIE and haven't had any issues running it @ 110MHz. I haven't been able to push the HT pretty much at all since it doesn't have a fan on the heat sink and the heat sink itself is mighty cheesy. I have ordered heat spreaders for my ram and a Thermaltake A1899 Extreme Spirit North & South Bridge Cooler to help out with this but I don't know if I'll be able to install it. The NB is pretty much in line with the PCIE slot and I don't know if it will cause a problem yet.

    Thanks again for all the help, the proc badass and it would be even better if I had a chance to buy the better RAM. Under load the proc doesn't get any hotter than 43C. I'm using a POLO 735 from Thermaltake (essentially a Venus 12) for a sink. Before you go with a gigabyte and decide to use a Thermaltake CPU cooler, you might want to ask me how to install it and see if you want to use the 2 together. I'm not proud of it.....

  11. #86
    Joined
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,280

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    most nf4's shouldn't have a problem getting up to 275mhz htt on stock nb cooling, maybe you're not locking your PCI to 33mhz? Well It seems like you're spending lots of money on fancy cooling solutions and while I hope they certainly do work, I am not to sure about it. I've threaded that path before and since then I've advocated that it is better to just to spend money good parts than try and tweak up bad ones with extravagant cooling, mods etc. Good luck with your project though and let us know how we may further assist you.

    Deus.
    2500k I Corsair H80 I Gigabyte Z68 I GSKILL Ripjaws 2x4gb I HIS7850 I X-fi platinum I Crucial M4 + Sandisk Extreme + WDC Black I Corsair HX650 I Corsair 400R I Samsung BD+Asus DVD I Samsung 23" LCD

    Heat: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=41000

  12. #87
    Joined
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    I'd love to get up to 2.8ghz with my Venice3200+ on a DFI Lanparty UT nf4 board (Ultra-D not SLi its true) but I can't boot into Windows if I exceed an FSB of 210 clocking me out at 2.1ghz!

    Considering my I've got CPU temps of 35C after running memtest86 for 30 minutes (@2.1) I'm not really sure whats up, but I'll see if I can get any errors after 10 hours of memtest86 tomorrow at work, at least that'd explain it!

  13. #88
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    *nvm making topic withall specs*
    Last edited by Emergency56; 11-29-2005 at 01:46 AM.

  14. #89
    Joined
    Nov 2005
    Age
    33
    Posts
    17

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    *making topic*
    Last edited by Emergency56; 11-29-2005 at 01:46 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •