Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 89
  1. #31
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Right behind you
    Posts
    3,553

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Man that OC beats the h3ll out of my 3200+ Winnie. I wonder what one of those babies will do in my DFI Ultra
    looking for a 5GB Athlon

  2. #32
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    "Yep, thanks for the two notes I need to add fellas. It was a 939 pin processor for both, and the memory was Corsairs XMS PC4400 part."

    I have a question, i tougth the DFI lan party could only use DDR 3200 at 400mhz, just like it says in the specs,

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=118&type=expert

    ...I even asked in another forum and they told me that DDR 500mhz would not run on Athlon64 boards...

    CAn the atlhon boards use DDR RAM beyhond 400mhz? It's the overclocking that enables their use?

  3. #33
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    353

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan
    Yes! I did in fact successfully run 4 sticks of 512 MB DDR memory on this processor at 6-3-3 2.0 1T.
    Are you sure it was 1T? I think on some motherboards u will set it to 1T but the cpu auto sets it to 2T (other programs will be needed to tell if 1T has been successfully used).

    All other reviews ive read said the only fix AMD did was to make DDR400 sticks boot up at their rated speed rather than DDR333, but 2T was still forced?
    Abit NF7-S V2.0 || XP1700 @ 2.5ghz (Maze4 Cooled) || 2 * 256mb twinmos @ DDR 454 (6-2-2-2)
    Coolermaster 210 (Blue) || Radeon 9700pro 450/350 (DangerDen Cooled) || NB 1.93v (DangerDen Cooled)
    Pioneer DVD player || Liteon CD-RW (40/32/40) || 80gb WD 8mb cache || 80gb Maxtor 2mb cache

    [3DMark2001 - 20139] || [3DMark2003 - 6512] || [PCMark2002 - 7598/6634/1009]
    Email / MSN: gokou@blueyonder.co.uk || Trust : Click here

  4. #34
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    11,090

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    do you have ANY winchesters on hand ryan? aside from the multi, pretty much all things are similar, so i'd be willing to compare a 3000+ or 3500+ winnie to the 3200+ venice, as long as a mention of the multiplier being higher/lower and a possible comparison to the FSB's attained. while not necessarily a truly "apples to apples" comparison, it would still be valid when compared to the newcastle at the same time


    Trust me, I do science
    My Hardware, Past and Present

  5. #35
    Joined
    May 2003
    Location
    Steilacoom, WA
    Posts
    186

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    My whole thing with the "newcastle" vs. a "winchester" in your comparison was just about being able to show the improvements in the .09 cores as time moves on. Not a huge deal. I understand that you didn't have a winnie to use so you did what you could. BTW, did you notice your 3200 Newcastle shows as a 3800 in your 1st CPUZ shot? Those of us that pay attention to the newest stuff are curious how much better an overclocker it may be or how much cooler it may run or what bugs have been fixed or discovered with the new toy on the shelf. (almost) Yes, I understand that a die and/or process shrinkage also decreases the surface area available to slap a heat sink against to rid the heat. Historically, though, with AMD at least you will usually see an improvement in efficiency and a lower voltage requirement. I know that this is not always the case but generally is has been and now that a revised .09 core is here we're hoping to see exactly what you found... I think better stuff with more potential to push those clocks up.

  6. #36
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Age
    69
    Posts
    133

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by gldnflmr
    My whole thing with the "newcastle" vs. a "winchester" in your comparison was just about being able to show the improvements in the .09 cores as time moves on. Not a huge deal. I understand that you didn't have a winnie to use so you did what you could. BTW, did you notice your 3200 Newcastle shows as a 3800 in your 1st CPUZ shot? Those of us that pay attention to the newest stuff are curious how much better an overclocker it may be or how much cooler it may run or what bugs have been fixed or discovered with the new toy on the shelf. (almost) Yes, I understand that a die and/or process shrinkage also decreases the surface area available to slap a heat sink against to rid the heat. Historically, though, with AMD at least you will usually see an improvement in efficiency and a lower voltage requirement. I know that this is not always the case but generally is has been and now that a revised .09 core is here we're hoping to see exactly what you found... I think better stuff with more potential to push those clocks up.
    Good post, I think we all need to see what the new kid on the block has to offer.
    Asus A8N-E AMD 4800X2 E-6
    Freezer 64 cooling fan 36 degress cels.
    Radeon x/1900 all in wonder 256mb
    Corsair dual chanel mx 3200 2 gigs 2x1 Gig Creative Audigy Platinum 2 ZS
    Thermaltake 600W
    Dell 2405FPW 24 inch widescreen monitor
    Bios f-10
    Lite on DL DVD Burner
    Plextor PX-760a 10xDVD+DL burner 2 WD 74 gb raptors raid 0 Win XP pro 32
    WD 320Gig ATA 100 7200rpm Maxtor 60 gig ATA 133 7200rpm Win XP 64

  7. #37
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,408

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Hey Ryan. I thought it was worth noting your test setup lists 2x512MB but that last CPU-Z screenie on the first page of the article lists 2GB of total RAM.
    Epox 8RDA w/ 512 MB TwinMOS PC3200 (2x256MB)-=-Athlon XP 1700+ JIUHB:0310WPMW @ 2,305 (1.775v) 11.5 x 200 FSB-=-Antec ATX12V 400W PSU-=-Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro @ 412/358-=-SB Live 5.1-=-Linksys NIC-=-Pioneer DVD-ROM drive-=-WD 'SE' 80GB-=-Chieftec Case w/ four 80 mm fans-=-WinXP Pro

    Watercooled: D-Tek White Water-=-DD Maze4 GPU-=-1972 Chevy K10 Pickup heatercore-=-2x120mm Evercool fans-=-HydorL30-=-1/2 ID Clearflex60-=-Zerex coolant

  8. #38
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,015

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Hmm AMD has done a damn good job with thier 90nm process..WAY TO GO AMD..thanks for another great Review Ryan! I will add more to the topic when im not soo tired. Good Night fella's
    Mobo:Gigabyte K8N-Ultra-SLI
    CPU:AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+@2.5ghz
    Ram:2gigs Corsair TwinX DDR 3200 LLPT
    Video:Geforce 7900 GT OC
    HD1 150gig 10,000k rpm Raptor
    HD2 160gig seagate
    PSU:Fortron Source 550watt

  9. #39
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    5,143

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Of Death
    Hey Ryan. I thought it was worth noting your test setup lists 2x512MB but that last CPU-Z screenie on the first page of the article lists 2GB of total RAM.
    That is a bug of that revision of CPU-Z actually.
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


  10. #40
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,408

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan
    That is a bug of that revision of CPU-Z actually.
    Heh, that explains that. I've since noticed a few other Venice previews that mention something similar. Nice review, BTW. I'm definitely excited about this one. It seems like the perfect stopover until the dual core desktop chips are out.
    Epox 8RDA w/ 512 MB TwinMOS PC3200 (2x256MB)-=-Athlon XP 1700+ JIUHB:0310WPMW @ 2,305 (1.775v) 11.5 x 200 FSB-=-Antec ATX12V 400W PSU-=-Sapphire Radeon 9700 Pro @ 412/358-=-SB Live 5.1-=-Linksys NIC-=-Pioneer DVD-ROM drive-=-WD 'SE' 80GB-=-Chieftec Case w/ four 80 mm fans-=-WinXP Pro

    Watercooled: D-Tek White Water-=-DD Maze4 GPU-=-1972 Chevy K10 Pickup heatercore-=-2x120mm Evercool fans-=-HydorL30-=-1/2 ID Clearflex60-=-Zerex coolant

  11. #41
    Joined
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    52

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    any update on when they will be buyable?

  12. #42
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Wa. USA
    Posts
    399

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Just pre-ordered an ADA3200BPBOX for $209 to the door, $19 more than a winnie, but hopefully worth it, chump change in my opinion for the updated mem controller alone.............

    Already got my 9NDA3J and 1 gig DC gskill 2-3-3-6's for $196, $5 over budget but who's gonna notice..............

    VENNIE ME schpiffy...................... ETA 4/18

  13. #43
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    248

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by bonzer
    Just pre-ordered an ADA3200BPBOX for $209 to the door, $19 more than a winnie, but hopefully worth it, chump change in my opinion for the updated mem controller alone.............

    Already got my 9NDA3J and 1 gig DC gskill 2-3-3-6's for $196, $5 over budget but who's gonna notice..............

    VENNIE ME schpiffy...................... ETA 4/18
    I need one too....

  14. #44
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Age
    53
    Posts
    170

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by bonzer
    Just pre-ordered an ADA3200BPBOX for $209 to the door, $19 more than a winnie, but hopefully worth it, chump change in my opinion for the updated mem controller alone.............

    Already got my 9NDA3J and 1 gig DC gskill 2-3-3-6's for $196, $5 over budget but who's gonna notice..............

    VENNIE ME schpiffy...................... ETA 4/18
    Nice!
    Last edited by Jipcee; 04-12-2005 at 08:57 PM.
    Heat

    ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA
    e8400 500X8.5=4.25Ghz (Everyday Setting)
    2x2GB G. Skill 8500
    4 Raptors (Raid 0)
    Visiontek HD 4850
    Big Typhoon
    Fortron FX700-GLN 700W PSU


  15. #45
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    37
    Posts
    5,143

    Re: 3200+ Venice @ 2.8 GHz

    Quote Originally Posted by bonzer
    Just pre-ordered an ADA3200BPBOX for $209 to the door, $19 more than a winnie, but hopefully worth it, chump change in my opinion for the updated mem controller alone.............

    Already got my 9NDA3J and 1 gig DC gskill 2-3-3-6's for $196, $5 over budget but who's gonna notice..............

    VENNIE ME schpiffy...................... ETA 4/18
    Where did you find these for sale? I'd like to share.
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •