Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 52
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    318

    agp not sure if install or setup right help

    I got 2 games install and the performance is not good. card i have is nvidia 5500 agp8 on suse 9.2 64.I have read many post and see some get way better performance.
    Here is my config file it don't look right to me like where is agp showing it's working.

    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    BoardName "GeForce FX 5500"
    BusID "1:0:0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    VendorName "NVidia"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection
    . GA-EP45 DS3L 2GIG CORSAIR HITACHI 320 EVGA 260 216 896.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,618

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    I think its the ' BusID "1:0:0"' line but I dont think thats what you are thinking of. If you want to check speed and sideband adressing check the nvidia driver document Im sure its in there somewhere. From memory I think its "cat /proc/drivers/nvidia/agp" or something like that but you better check the driver doc or google a bit because I havent tinkerd with those settings for quite som time.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Quote Originally Posted by elvin
    I got 2 games install and the performance is not good. card i have is nvidia 5500 agp8 on suse 9.2 64.I have read many post and see some get way better performance.
    Here is my config file it don't look right to me like where is agp showing it's working.

    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    BoardName "GeForce FX 5500"
    BusID "1:0:0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    VendorName "NVidia"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection
    Did you install the latest Nvidia driver? If so, did you add the correct lines to your xorg.conf file? Of, course, remember, I'm a noob, just trying to offfer some help (since I've recieved SO much), I'm also running a different distro than you, but I don't see an option in your Screen, or Display section for AGP RenderAccel, or NvAgp?

    you can also go to /proc/driver/nvidia/agp and cat the status file, and it will tell you if it's running in 8X mode, if fastwrites or SBA is enabled, etc.....
    Last edited by Jackal; 04-09-2005 at 06:33 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    In and out of Detroit
    Posts
    1,556

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    First check in your xorg log (/var/log/Xorg.log or similar) to see what apg setting your currently using,
    should show something like
    Code:
    (II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
    if its working

    "Well, let's just say, 'if your VCR is still blinking 12:00,you don't want Linux.'"
    - Bruce Perens, Former Debian Project Leader

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Quote Originally Posted by Provicemo
    First check in your xorg log (/var/log/Xorg.log or similar) to see what apg setting your currently using,
    should show something like
    Code:
    (II) NVIDIA(0): Detected AGP rate: 8X
    if its working
    You can also use nvidia-settings, if you've installed thier driver.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    318

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    I do have the lastest driver install.

    from cl i did these after searching the net and i got this result.

    cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/card
    Fast Writes: Supported
    SBA: Supported
    AGP Rates: 8x 4x
    Registers: 0x1f000e1b:0x1f004302
    . GA-EP45 DS3L 2GIG CORSAIR HITACHI 320 EVGA 260 216 896.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    318

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Ok thx for the help i knew someone would dig me out of these mess I'm learning so darn much I might be a good newbie some day hahaha. Ok var /log show that agp is at 8x and also thx for that tip nvidia setting also shows that agp is working as it shows it for my card description. now SBA is showing supported but don't see it active or enable may be the better word or fast writes how can i fix those.
    . GA-EP45 DS3L 2GIG CORSAIR HITACHI 320 EVGA 260 216 896.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Quote Originally Posted by elvin
    I do have the lastest driver install.

    from cl i did these after searching the net and i got this result.

    cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/card
    Fast Writes: Supported
    SBA: Supported
    AGP Rates: 8x 4x
    Registers: 0x1f000e1b:0x1f004302
    Now do this one:

    cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status

  9. #9
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Quote Originally Posted by elvin
    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection
    Comment out above section (all of it). In addition, in the section named "Module" make sure the following appears:
    Code:
    Load "glx"
    and comment out the line that says
    Code:
    Load "dri"

  10. #10
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    45
    Posts
    13,194

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    What frame rates do you get with glxgears? Don't forget to minimize all other windows before trying this test.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    318

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    omg I in deep crap now I didn't take out end section and i can't log in.I need help how to edit file in dos mode I know it will use vim but I don't know what key to hit to fix it so i can boot to xserver.Plz help.Why do i know cause it's telling me that because of that error it can't boot to it.
    . GA-EP45 DS3L 2GIG CORSAIR HITACHI 320 EVGA 260 216 896.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Out there, just read my posts
    Posts
    5,473

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Quote Originally Posted by elvin
    omg I in deep crap now I didn't take out end section and i can't log in.I need help how to edit file in dos mode I know it will use vim but I don't know what key to hit to fix it so i can boot to xserver.Plz help.Why do i know cause it's telling me that because of that error it can't boot to it.
    LOL!!! I did the same thing, just login as root, then -

    cd /etc/X11
    vi xorg.conf

    when the file appears use your cursor arrows to get to the front of the EndSection - press i (for insert mode), type a #, press ESC (puts you back in command mode) - press ZZ (capitalized), you can then type init 6 and your system will restart normally.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    318

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    jackel thx so much for i was going crazy saying no no no not reinstall it all. thx a bunch on the fast response. spankin I'll post that glx in a min.thank god i have another pc shesh.
    . GA-EP45 DS3L 2GIG CORSAIR HITACHI 320 EVGA 260 216 896.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    318

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    ok this is what i get with glxgears.

    4954 frames in 5.0 seconds = 990.800 FPS
    6933 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1386.600 FPS
    6936 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1387.200 FPS
    6938 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1387.600 FPS
    6887 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1377.400 FPS
    6944 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1388.800 FPS
    6943 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1388.600 FPS
    6941 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1388.200 FPS
    6944 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1388.800 FPS
    6942 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1388.400 FPS
    6941 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1388.200 FPS
    6919 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1383.800 FPS

    this is with 9.2 64 suse on a 5500 nvidia chip agp 8 .
    . GA-EP45 DS3L 2GIG CORSAIR HITACHI 320 EVGA 260 216 896.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    In and out of Detroit
    Posts
    1,556

    Re: agp not sure if install or setup right help

    Do yourself a favor and make sure you have a normal editor installed, like nano or pico.
    They are wayyy easier to use then vim.

    vim has to be the least friendly program I've ever used, and I prefer to use terminal apps

    "Well, let's just say, 'if your VCR is still blinking 12:00,you don't want Linux.'"
    - Bruce Perens, Former Debian Project Leader

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •