Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 25 of 25
  1. #16
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    26

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    We'll find out for sure in 2006, but:

    1. Will there be a socket M2 single core?
    2. If yes, there 'were' only three cores planned:

    Manila
    Orleans
    Windsor

    of which Windsor is dual core 'for sure'
    and
    Manila is DDR2 Socket M2 Sempron-type value model 'for sure'

    If the initial plans inlcuded the single core Socket M2, could it therefore be Orleans?

    so we're back to:

    Will there be a socket M2 single core?
    Last edited by c627627; 04-27-2005 at 01:17 PM.

  2. #17
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,141

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    It's entirely possible that by the time this new socket hits, dual core will even be on their FX line up, across the board dual cores.
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


  3. #18
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    26

    Smile Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    Could be yes, but still I went ahead and disagreed with the 'all dual core M2' speculation.

    The bet is on Windsor being the only dual core CPU and both Manila and Orleans being single cores with Manila having half the cache and lacking Presidio and Pacifica.

    It's April 2005 now, we'll see next year what AMD will end up doing...
    http://www.c627627.com/AMD/Athlon64/

  4. #19
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    New York
    Age
    38
    Posts
    294

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    Every Time I turn around there is a new core..... Im going broke here.. I will hold off until Dual cores are out!!
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ MSI K9N Diamond v1.1 OCZ DDR1066 4GB XFX 8800GTS OCZ 700W Windows XP Pro (fully updated) Installed Bios 1.4

    Plextor 716SA DVD/RW+
    Seagate 160GB perpendicular * 2 in Raid 0
    Seagate 320GB perpendicular (for storage)

  5. #20
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    26

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    If you're a power user, yes.

    Since games won't take advantage of dual cores for quite a long time, you're better off with Venice/San Diego single cores if you use your system for average daily/gaming use.

    Also dual cores Toledos will be priced like so:

    $1,001 Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Dual 2.4GHz, 1MB cache each
    $803 Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Dual 2.4GHz, 512Kb cache each
    $581 Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual 2.2GHz, 1MB cache each
    $537 Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Dual 2.2GHz, 512Kb cache each

    ...which is quite a bit more than affordable for average users.
    Last edited by c627627; 04-29-2005 at 11:51 AM.

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    26

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    Hey Ryan, X-Bit Labs talks about, but does not link to your article.

    They confirm AMD says DDR2 is coming first (no skip to DD3.)


    http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...430084624.html
    Last edited by c627627; 05-01-2005 at 11:45 PM.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    Yup, looks like ddr2 is a sure bet for amd, with ddr2 already being available up to 800mhz from both Corsair and OCZ its going to be interesting to see how far they can push speeds up by the time the socket M2 is released in 2006.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  8. #23
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,141

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    Quote Originally Posted by c627627
    Hey Ryan, X-Bit Labs talks about, but does not link to your article.

    They confirm AMD says DDR2 is coming first (no skip to DD3.)


    http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...430084624.html
    Yeah, very tactful of them. heh
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


  9. #24
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    26

    Thumbs up Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    This time overclockers picked it up fully, with a link!

    http://www.overclockers.com/tips00770/

  10. #25
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,141

    Re: Athlon 64 Rev F Changes

    Cool, thanks for the link. Xbit linked to me know too.
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •