Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26
  1. #16
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    745

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by DriveEuro
    Yeah, mine that I sold you was an M0 stepping. I hope that vdroop mod I did is still staying on there pretty well. That P4P800DLX won't run that chip over 3.6ghz without that droop mod on there.
    Yeah, I found that out when I tried to hook up that 3.2 Ghz P4C I got from Sparkie34. I wanted to use an Asus P4C800E Deluxe for that as my 'work' computer. Darn voltage was all over the place -- even at stock speeds / stock volts (cannot hold 1.5v and cannot OC at all). Even checked it with a Multi Meter. Major volt flux. So, I am working on getting the nerve to do the droop mod on that MB. I thought I could just use yours as an example. However, there are different solder points on the P4C800E D. I finally found the correct one -- with good pics -- on Malves site. I just picked up the 50 ohm VR about two weeks ago. That MB is still like $180, so I really don't want to kill it, lol. Plus, I forgot the hot glue gun, as I want to do like you did and fasten the wires down with the glue. So small an area, it's easy to have it fall off. I've been handling yours with 'kid gloves' so it won't come off, lol.

    Any ram suggestions?? What did you use in that P4P800?
    An inquisitive mind, is a questionable thing.....

    MY HEAT

  2. #17
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    233

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    where do I find how to do V-droop mod? and what voltage did u use to crank 3.9ghz??
    P4 2.4C @ 3.3, 2X512 TwinMos DDR400 BH5 @ DDR440 2-3-3-6 (need more voltage), Asus P4P800, Geforce 3 Ti500, Samsung 172T, Noisetaker 470W, Swifty MX4000+panaflo 92mm HI, Intellimouse Explorer.

  3. #18
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    745

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by jokerr
    where do I find how to do V-droop mod? and what voltage did u use to crank 3.9ghz??

    Here is one link to Malves Corner: http://www.malvescorner.net/p4p800.html

    Also note there is a Vdimm mod too. Driveuro used some grabbers and seemed to work out great.
    Last edited by Hansbroken; 07-22-2005 at 03:40 PM.
    An inquisitive mind, is a questionable thing.....

    MY HEAT

  4. #19
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    IL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,249

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by jokerr
    where do I find how to do V-droop mod? and what voltage did u use to crank 3.9ghz??
    I think I was pushing 1.75v. Maze4 waterblock with a single 120mm procore heatercore. I was able to do 4.0ghz but windows wasn't stable.

    Man, this was about 8 months ago... So long ago. haha

  5. #20
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    745

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Geeze dude, how many dual CPU rigs to you have? And I thought I was a collector, lol

    So, you think once I get this P4 on some H2O@ 3.9 that it will still hold it's own for the most part? It was stable at 3.9 right?
    An inquisitive mind, is a questionable thing.....

    MY HEAT

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    IL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,249

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Um, I had on and off days with it. For the most part I remember running 3.8ghz day to day. 3.9ghz was used to bench a few times. I didn't run that CPU for too long. I ended up changing to A64 with a 3400 Clawhammer.

    But truthfully, I change rigs soo much that I can't remember much about that P4 rig..

    And yes, to the duallys. I'm BIG into F@H. I have to maintain my #4 spot at EOCF. Besides, how could I pass this up last week on ebay.... 4x 1.6LV Xeons D1 stepping for $130 shipped

  7. #22
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    28

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by DriveEuro
    I don't agree with Joker. I think it is worth more like $145 or so. My reasoning is that P4s are not in demand much anymore. Especially the socket 478.

    By all means, post it for $160, but expect to be bumping your thread for well over a week.
    if u want to sell computers for that price drive euro i will buy 1 4 that price if u do have em ?



    1. SD 3700 @ 2.75ghz Watercooled - DFI SLi-DR - 2gb Ballistix Tracer @ 275mhz - XFX 7800GTX - Antec 550w - 1020gb
    2. Dell XPS2 - 2.0ghz Dothan - 2.0gb DDR2 - 40gb 7200rpm - 6800go Ultra - 17" WUXGA
    3. AMD XP 3000 400fsb at 2.25ghz - DFI ULTRA-AL - 1x512mb Corsair VS - 60gb WD - SiS Xabre 200 - Antec 300w
    4. 2x 1.6g LVs @ 3.3ghz Watercooled - Asus PC-DL - 1.5gb DDR - TNT2 - 310gb - AMS 400w PSU
    5. 2x 1800 Durons - Tyan S2460 - 768mb PC2100 - 80gb - SuperFlower 450w
    6. 2x 1.6LV @ 2.8ghz - Asus PC-DL - 1gb PC3200 - 80gb - AMS 460w

  8. #23
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Location
    IL
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,249

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by storm_x
    if u want to sell computers for that price drive euro i will buy 1 4 that price if u do have em ?



    1. SD 3700 @ 2.75ghz Watercooled - DFI SLi-DR - 2gb Ballistix Tracer @ 275mhz - XFX 7800GTX - Antec 550w - 1020gb
    2. Dell XPS2 - 2.0ghz Dothan - 2.0gb DDR2 - 40gb 7200rpm - 6800go Ultra - 17" WUXGA
    3. AMD XP 3000 400fsb at 2.25ghz - DFI ULTRA-AL - 1x512mb Corsair VS - 60gb WD - SiS Xabre 200 - Antec 300w
    4. 2x 1.6g LVs @ 3.3ghz Watercooled - Asus PC-DL - 1.5gb DDR - TNT2 - 310gb - AMS 400w PSU
    5. 2x 1800 Durons - Tyan S2460 - 768mb PC2100 - 80gb - SuperFlower 450w
    6. 2x 1.6LV @ 2.8ghz - Asus PC-DL - 1gb PC3200 - 80gb - AMS 460w
    What the heck are you trying to say? I can't understand you...?

    Also, none of my computers are for sale... Possibly #5... But I won't ship to Australia.

  9. #24
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,895

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by Hansbroken
    I have a retail 3.0 Ghz 30 capper P4 Northwood CPU. It has been in it's original box since I purchased it from New Egg -- Just tested once for like 5 min to make sure it was not DOA. Stock HSF is unused (SLK-948U used for test).

    I believe this is a D1 stepping ( SL6WJ Malay).

    High potential for a good OC CPU IMHO.

    Also: approximately 2 years left on warranty.

    LMK what you all think it's worth.

    Thank you in advance
    Hey how ya doing I stumbled across your thread .
    Dont know if this helps But I just picked up a brand new retail boxed p4 northwood 3.2 Ghz for $239.83 plus 9.99 shipping so your is a 3 Ghz I would think at least 165-175 shipped . just My opinion though you might want to surf thru ebay and see what they are getting for them
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  10. #25
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Cary, IL
    Age
    50
    Posts
    745

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Thanks Brothergc How have you been my friend? .. too bad I could not have hooked you up with this before you bought the 3.2 ... Thanks for your input though. I plan to list this FS soon ... just have not gotten around to making up a tread (I have a few other items too, so got to get organized, lol).
    An inquisitive mind, is a questionable thing.....

    MY HEAT

  11. #26
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,895

    Re: P4 Northwood 'C' 3.0 Ghz *30 Capper* Retail New w/ warr

    Quote Originally Posted by Hansbroken
    Thanks Brothergc How have you been my friend? .. too bad I could not have hooked you up with this before you bought the 3.2 ... Thanks for your input though. I plan to list this FS soon ... just have not gotten around to making up a tread (I have a few other items too, so got to get organized, lol).
    Been good..too blessed to be stressed! I might have taken you up on that , I might know where you can unload that cpu not real sure but I will have to check with a coworker who wants a p4 setup. we will see but know that he has been talking about it off and on for a year so lets see if comes up with the cash. PM me your asking price and I will let him know
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •