Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 104
  1. #16
    Joined
    May 2004
    Posts
    15

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Quote Originally Posted by njkid32
    I havent been on this site in awhile but I figured I would post my 3800 X2 OC. I am at 2.95ghz at 1.58v on a TT Big Typhoon. Here is a SS. I am waiting on a Mach1 this week or at least by Tuesday.


    Stop making me wanna remove my IHS man !
    • AMD X2 Manchester 3800+
    • DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D
    • ATI Radeon X800XL PCIe 256mb
    • 2x1GB PC3200 2.5-3-3-7
    • 2x250GB Seagate Barracuda Raid0
    • 1x120GB WD Caviar Sata
    • OCZ Powerstream 420w
    • nSpire 601AE Aluminium Case
    • Watercooled with Dtek WW | Maze4GPU | Weapon Shroud/2-302 core | 2x120mm Sanyo Denkis | Swiftech mcp600

  2. #17
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,902

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Impressive.


    M

  3. #18
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Greece
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,046

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    The X2 processors are awesome because of their low default vcore. I plan to buy a 4400+ by October, and OC it to 2.75 GHz, in par with a second 7800 GTX in SLI & a second Raptor for RAID 0. My PSU & Watercooling are ready to handle them

  4. #19
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,870

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Are you guys that are over 250FSB running at 3xHTT or 4xHTT?

  5. #20
    Joined
    May 2005
    Posts
    5

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Quote Originally Posted by _John_Lennon_
    Are you guys that are over 250FSB running at 3xHTT or 4xHTT?
    I always run 3x on anything over HTT-250. I have never seen a performance difference.
    X2 3800+ CDBHE 0526UPBW Naked @2.95ghz 1.6v
    DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D w/ 704-2BT bios
    Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120 w/better TT fan
    Ram-OCZ4001024ELDCPE-K 2-2-2-5 1T 3.4v
    G.skill 4400 LE's 2x 512 *****Selling*****
    Enermax Noisetaker 485w PSU
    EVGA6600GT
    i4memory

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alberta, CA
    Posts
    7,763

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    I don't care for overclocking but I will do it if I don't have to raise my voltages

    4400 Toledo with Big Typhoon
    216FSB x 11 @ 1.3volts (in a room temp of 33C in July - certified)
    5 x HTT
    Last edited by solofly; 08-23-2005 at 04:51 PM.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,870

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Wow, your chip can handle 5x 216FSB? Mine was having problems at that,

    Have it pretty stable at 10x255 with 3 HTT. Gonna try and see what I have to give up to get it back over to 4, but 2.55Ghz is about my limit. (My shuttle XPC is no watercooling setup, after all.)

    But still, 2.55 Ghz I am quite happy with, espically seeing as how its at 4600 levels?, and in a SFF.

  8. #23
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    151

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    My memory is just not up to the job. Had to back it down to 166 to start (hence the low scores), but the proc is more than up for the chore.
    This is pretty much the highest stable OC on this little shuttle. If I had a mobo with more VCore and VMem, I know it could do lots more.

    Older version of CPUZ...didn't detect the correct core

    Lian Li PC-V880A HTPC
    X2 4600+ @ 2.8 Ghz ( CPUz)
    T-force 550
    2Gb-CorsairXMS2-6400 DDR2 800
    BFG 7900GTX
    34034 3DMark '01 @2.8Ghz
    Seagate Barracuda 320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s
    NEC Silver 16X DVD DL RW
    USB 2 External Lite-On 8X DVD RW
    USB 2 External 160Gb Rocket Pod HDD
    19" WS LCD & 17" LCD (extended desktop)
    Dell Inspiron 6400 Laptop / Dual Boot Mac OSX & WinXP

    "Why is it that our children can't read a Bible in school, but they can in prison?"

  9. #24
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    152

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    I just got my 3800+... so far I'm 100% stable at 2.6ghz w/1.375v on the stock cooler and my ram is at 1:1 w/2.85v 2.5,7,4,4.

  10. #25
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Greece
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,046

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Quote Originally Posted by solofly
    I don't care for overclocking but I will do it if I don't have to raise my voltages

    4400 Toledo with Big Typhoon
    216FSB x 11 @ 1.3volts (in a room temp of 33C in July - certified)
    5 x HTT
    And why don't you like some more voltage? If you use a nice watercooler, temperature will be fine and so will the noise. And your PSU can hadle it comfortably.

  11. #26
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    134

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    I'm sitting at 2.5Ghz stable on stock voltage on a 4400+. Stock heatsink on it. Waiting to push more vcore until I get my new watercooling. It's booted up to 2.8Ghz with vcore bumps, but
    I decided not to mess with vcore until I can keep it cooler. On the bright side, I ran my memory up to see how it did, I got to 330Mhz and stopped trying, though it errored with those timings at 350Mhz. I figure I won't run it at 330Mhz anyway.

    CPUZ Link

    Astaroth

  12. #27
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,989

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Here are some of mine. i have had this 4200 for some time, but have a 3800 Manchester to try in a few days when i get the time.



    This wasn't very stable, but shows what's possible:

    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  13. #28
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Greece
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,046

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    Quote Originally Posted by Astaroth125
    I'm sitting at 2.5Ghz stable on stock voltage on a 4400+. Stock heatsink on it. Waiting to push more vcore until I get my new watercooling. It's booted up to 2.8Ghz with vcore bumps, but
    I decided not to mess with vcore until I can keep it cooler. On the bright side, I ran my memory up to see how it did, I got to 330Mhz and stopped trying, though it errored with those timings at 350Mhz. I figure I won't run it at 330Mhz anyway.

    CPUZ Link

    Astaroth
    At last a report of how Toledo cores overclock. I'm surprised to see little interest in these cores; maybe its the price. Is 2.5 GHz where it tops at stock vcore? Or is it that you decided not to push any further anyway, due to aircooling?

    Oh, and by the way, do these CPUs have the overclocking problems that 130nm Athlon 64 cores had? Meaning that increasing their vcore barely made any difference.

  14. #29
    Joined
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    134

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    I think I'm limited by cooling at this point. It definately scales well with voltage with the limited testing I've done. My theory is that you need to keep load temps below 45-50'C to get effective overclocks. I'm hoping to get it stable at 2.55-2.6Ghz on stock vCore, and 2.8 stable around 1.5-1.55 vCore on water.

    Astaroth

  15. #30
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5,271

    Re: Post your X2 overclocks inside!

    I think cooling, mobo type and Psu are going to be important to get the best out of an X2 chip, the Manchester is rated at 89w the Toledo at 110w, after replacing a 3500 Venice with an X2 3800 and running it up to a similar overclock I noticed the Pwm temp around the same as Cpu load temp, with the Venice it was 4-5c cooler, with both chips:

    3500 Venice @ 2600 1.525Vore
    X2 3800 @ 2600 1.45Vcore

    Overclocked the same, the lower Vcore on the X2 means one thing, higher current draw, stock settings have the X2 with lower Vcore but higher heat output (89w) so with power (watts) being a simple P = E x I if you lower the vcore and the watts go up then there has to be more current draw, add the 110w Toledo to that list and the mobo mosfets and power regulation components are taxed far more than with a single Cpu, the extra drain on the 12v rail will find out any weakness in a "boderline" Psu, and all that extra heat has to go somewhere, so optimum cooling will be needed for serious overclocking,
    I've had no trouble getting my X2 Manchester 3800 to 2.6g but I already had a good watercooled rig and a new dual 12v rail Enermax Psu, I think pushing to 2.7g is, for me not worth the extra heat and Vcore needed, I've had it Prime stable at 2700 with 1.6v vcore and while the watercooling copes well, it's still spring here, factoring in midsummer room temps I would be pushing the self imposed limit of 50c for overclocking, and worse, at that speed Pwm temps read 2-3c higher that loaded Cpu temps, even though I have the stock Cpu fan fitted directly over the mosfets.
    So with the system at it's limit 2.7g Prime and gaming stable,
    At 2.6g it's still a fast dual Cpu rig, a cool and only moderately stressed system that I can run 24/7 in the hottest of summers,
    While the 1 meg cache per Cpu Toledo will undoubtebly perform certain tasks faster than a Manchester would, overclocking it to the max will need high end cooling or low ambient temps, and top notch mobo and Psu.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •