Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Asus A8V Memory problem.. A known problem but need help in Timings..

Hi..

I have 2 x 512 mb DDR 400 in my system running Dual and I have added another 2 x 512 mb DDR 400 ...

Now I have a few questions if any one can answer as Im a noob to Memory etc etc ..

As Im aware the Asus A8V Deluxe has a problem when running 4 x 512 sticks, it some how reduces its speed from DDR 400 to DDR333 as seen on the Asus Web site ..

Why does A8V Deluxe automatically down-grade from DDR400 to DDR333 when four DIMMs of memory are plugged?
    Answer *

It is a protective function when system cannot boot up or any instable symptoms due to memory itself. Please enter BIOS setting and manually adjust memory frequency to 200MHz.
    So , Im unsure as to manually set my clock speed in the A8V Deluxe becuase it doesnt really make it easy for me. Ive tried reading this forum thread Here

They talk about setting the command rate to 2T and set the RAM speed manually to fix the problem... Im not sure how...

their is a noticable difference becuase when I run the Hl2 / CS S Stress test I loose 20 fps overall. So I guess If I was to change the Memory clock Speeds etc etc it would improve ..

Also The ram I have is off different Latency.. 2 @ 2.5 Latency and 2 stick of 3 Latency... Does this make much difference knowing it runs a slower speed...

Thx for any help..

These are my current settings as per CPUZ

Final Note , games such as BF2 use much Memory (Around 1.3 Gig) now becuase my Stress Test results are lower will this have an impact on more demanding games or will I see a much more stable game becuase of more ram even though its running slower ?

Hope I can get the most out of my 4 x sticks of DDR..
    Last edited by sifter; 08-10-2005 at 05:24 PM.

Re: Asus A8V Memory problem.. A know problem but need help in Timings..