Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 66
  1. #31

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    Quote Originally Posted by dna
    See this thread for some suggestions
    Huh?
    It's All About Having Fun ..... Isn't It?

    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
    XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5 | Acer G246HL 24" WideScreen
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB | Western Digital Caviar Black 500GB (Storage) | Samsung SH-S224 DVD Burner
    HT|Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll ~ Stanton 681EEE MKlll
    Esoteric Sounds Rek-O-Kut Professional Phono Preamp MKII
    Klipsch Pro Media v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision ~ Sennheiser PC165 (Mic/Headset)
    Lian Li Lancool PC-K7B w/ Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
    Win7 x64

  2. #32
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    Is everyone using the chaintech drivers or tha via drivers. I'm getting my card tomorrow!

  3. #33
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    I've used the Chaintech drivers.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  4. #34
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    I used the VIA drivers as suggested above. Seemed to work OK but didn't use the Chaintech so can't compare.

  5. #35
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    Jerky,

    I'd be very interested in that review. I have a live I'd loan for the review if you wanted another low cost item.

    I installed the new AV-710 tonight. I am impressed. The sound is better then the built in AC'97 on the VNF4 Ultra in my opinion.

    My only other thought is I miss an equalizer, and does it take work load off the processor?

    Some reviews I found real quick:

    http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=654

    http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=140&p=1

    http://www4.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=75454

    http://www.verummedia.com/av710.php (Frame Rates Compared)

    http://techgage.com/review.php?id=2300

    http://www.techniz.co.uk/modules.php...content&id=234
    Last edited by undersea; 09-26-2005 at 09:10 PM.

  6. #36
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9,837

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    Thanks undersea! I've sent you a PM about this.

    The wheels are turning...

    My AV-710 should be arriving this week. I can't wait to give it a spin!

    - Jon.
    Mobile Editor - PC Perspective
    Follow me on Twitter

  7. #37
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9,837

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    I got my AV-710 in the mail 2 days ago. I popped it into the Intel 915P test machine for some HTPC lovin'.

    - Getting SPDIF output to work much easier than the C-Media ones for Azalia (could have been older Azalia drivers).

    - Having both Azalia and the AV-710 both installed breaks AV710's SPDIF output to only the front-right channel. Disabling HD-Audio in the BIOS and reinstalling Envy24 drivers fixed this.

    - The optical cable in the box is a bit of a joke. It's 3' (I think) and very low gauge.

    The audio sounds pretty good at the moment. Played some Scorpion King, Initial D, and Tubular Bells 2003 on it and it sounded awesome.

    - Jon.
    Mobile Editor - PC Perspective
    Follow me on Twitter

  8. #38
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    I agree about the cable....what is it really good for??
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  9. #39
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9,837

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    Quote Originally Posted by UncleBob
    I agree about the cable....what is it really good for??
    I think I'm going to use it to tie back the hedges in my yard. If I run out of twine, I know what I'm going to reach for!
    Mobile Editor - PC Perspective
    Follow me on Twitter

  10. #40
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    Don't forget those FPS comparisons!!!

  11. #41
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    - The optical cable in the box is a bit of a joke. It's 3' (I think) and very low gauge
    Agreed its a small cable but does optical cable need to be thick like giant monster cable. I used it for my home theatre setup and my new TV and it works fine.

    The card rocks

  12. #42
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    9,837

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    I think the only reason you would want a thicker gauge cable would be to protect against kinks that would otherwise ruin transmission, and maybe provide redundancy if an optical strand gets severed.

    I've caught my optical cable under speakers and my wall unit before, so I can appreciate a nice thick cable!
    Mobile Editor - PC Perspective
    Follow me on Twitter

  13. #43
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    The thickness was never an issue for me. The shortness was. To use it I had to do some major rearranging of my HTPC gear!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  14. #44
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    HTPC gear
    How is that set up UB?

    Haven't heard you mention it in some time.

  15. #45
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Review on the Chaintech AV-710

    I'm still using the V915 chaintech board. It works flawlessly. I can record TV and watch it on network in other rooms.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •