Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: vnc issue?

  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    vnc issue?

    somebody has been trying to access mi vnc server f a few mins now.whois ip gives :

    http://cqcounter.com/whois/


    IP Address : [69.230.15.114] adsl-69-230-15-114.dsl.pltn13.pacbell.net
    IP Location: United States United States [US]


    OrgName: Pac Bell Internet Services
    OrgID: PACB
    Address: 208 Bush St. #5000
    City: San Ramon
    StateProv: CA
    PostalCode: 94104
    Country: US

    NetRange: 69.224.0.0 - 69.239.255.255
    CIDR: 69.224.0.0/12
    NetName: PBI-NET-021304
    NetHandle: NET-69-224-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-69-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS1.PBI.NET
    NameServer: NS2.PBI.NET
    Comment:
    Comment: Contact IPAdmin-PBI@sbcis.sbc.com for general IP support.
    Comment: Contact support@pacbell.net for technical support issues.
    Comment: Contact abuse@pacbell.net for policy abuse issues.
    RegDate: 2004-02-18
    Updated: 2005-01-11

    TechHandle: PIA2-ORG-ARIN
    TechName: IPAdmin-PBI
    TechPhone: +1-800-648-1626
    TechEmail: pbiip@txmail.sbc.com

    OrgAbuseHandle: APB2-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Abuse - Pacific Bell
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-648-1626
    OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@sbcglobal.net

    OrgNOCHandle: SPBI-ARIN
    OrgNOCName: Support - Pacific Bell Internet
    OrgNOCPhone: +1-800-648-1626
    OrgNOCEmail: support@pacbell.net

    OrgTechHandle: PIA2-ORG-ARIN
    OrgTechName: IPAdmin-PBI
    OrgTechPhone: +1-800-648-1626
    OrgTechEmail: pbiip@txmail.sbc.com

    CustName: Ficus Computer-050124105546
    Address: Private Address
    City: Plano
    StateProv: TX
    PostalCode: 75075
    Country: US
    RegDate: 2005-01-24
    Updated: 2005-01-24

    NetRange: 69.230.15.112 - 69.230.15.119
    CIDR: 69.230.15.112/29
    NetName: SBC06923001511229050124105549
    NetHandle: NET-69-230-15-112-1
    Parent: NET-69-224-0-0-1
    NetType: Reassigned
    Comment:
    RegDate: 2005-01-24
    Updated: 2005-01-24

    TechHandle: PIA2-ORG-ARIN
    TechName: IPAdmin-PBI
    TechPhone: +1-800-648-1626
    TechEmail: pbiip@txmail.sbc.com

    OrgAbuseHandle: APB2-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Abuse - Pacific Bell
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-648-1626
    OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@sbcglobal.net

    OrgNOCHandle: SPBI-ARIN
    OrgNOCName: Support - Pacific Bell Internet
    OrgNOCPhone: +1-800-648-1626
    OrgNOCEmail: support@pacbell.net

    OrgTechHandle: PIA2-ORG-ARIN
    OrgTechName: IPAdmin-PBI
    OrgTechPhone: +1-800-648-1626
    OrgTechEmail: pbiip@txmail.sbc.com

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-08-26 19:10
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.







    http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl



    Search results for: 69.230.15.114

    Pac Bell Internet Services PBI-NET-021304 (NET-69-224-0-0-1)
    69.224.0.0 - 69.239.255.255
    Ficus Computer-050124105546 SBC06923001511229050124105549 (NET-69-230-15-112-1)
    69.230.15.112 - 69.230.15.119

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-08-26 19:10
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.





    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=69.230.15.114


    Location: United States [City: Plano, Texas]

    NOTE: More information appears to be available at NET-69-230-15-112-1.

    Pac Bell Internet Services PBI-NET-021304 (NET-69-224-0-0-1)
    69.224.0.0 - 69.239.255.255
    Ficus Computer-050124105546 SBC06923001511229050124105549 (NET-69-230-15-112-1)
    69.230.15.112 - 69.230.15.119

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-08-26 19:10
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.


    [If E-mail address(es) were hidden on this page, you can click here to get the results with the E-mail address].









    so wtf is ficus computer???

    Last edited by _dangtx_; 08-27-2005 at 06:25 AM.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: vnc issue?

    Did it just happen once, or is it an ongoing thing? If just once, it could easily be a typo on the other end. As a matter of course, I change the default port from 5900 and password protect all servers.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: vnc issue?

    The other thing to be careful about is spoofing, the ip might not be the real origin.

    Keep track of attempts to login, especially dates and do a tracert on the ip address as the whois tends to only show the ip block holder and not sub-allocation holders.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    51
    Posts
    20,229

    Re: vnc issue?

    If you're going to open VNC up to the outside world, then you should really use some sort of firewall IP filtering as an absolute minimum. IIRC, vnc doesn't encrypt passwords (or doesn't encrypt them very well) so it's best to also tunnel the connection over SSH which uses strong encryption of passwords. There's not mch point password protecting a connection and then sending the password in plain text.

    Ned

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: vnc issue?

    Or purchase the personal edition which includes session encryption.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: vnc issue?

    im using ultravnc which seems more secure.it went on for maybe 10 min..maybe more didnt keep track but for a little while.spoofing ..i tought of that first,maybe tought some geek in here was praying a joke so i went easy on the words
    thnks

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: vnc issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider
    If you're going to open VNC up to the outside world, then you should really use some sort of firewall IP filtering as an absolute minimum. IIRC, vnc doesn't encrypt passwords (or doesn't encrypt them very well) so it's best to also tunnel the connection over SSH which uses strong encryption of passwords. There's not mch point password protecting a connection and then sending the password in plain text.

    Ned
    Point taken. Ultravnc says it does 128 bit encryption.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: vnc issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by _dangtx_
    im using ultravnc which seems more secure.it went on for maybe 10 min..maybe more didnt keep track but for a little while.spoofing ..i tought of that first,maybe tought some geek in here was praying a joke so i went easy on the words
    thnks
    You have to configure the encryption plugin manually or it's not secure - if it is then....

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    51
    Posts
    20,229

    Re: vnc issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sick Willie
    Point taken. Ultravnc says it does 128 bit encryption.
    That's good to know. I've only used RealVNC - not tried the Ulta or tight variants.

    Whilst we're on this topic, does anyone know if any of them allow drag and drop file copying between the remote and local desktops?

    Ned

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: vnc issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ned Slider
    That's good to know. I've only used RealVNC - not tried the Ulta or tight variants.

    Whilst we're on this topic, does anyone know if any of them allow drag and drop file copying between the remote and local desktops?

    Ned
    I move to RealVNC from Tight because I was disappointed in the way Tight kept dropping connections on me. Real works fairly well.

    Ultra doesn't do drag and drop (as near as I can tell), but it does have a Laplink/FTP style file transfer interface that works pretty well.

    You can also set up the login on Ultra so that it authenticates on the MS username and password.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    41
    Posts
    37,286

    Re: vnc issue?

    yep.ze best so far.

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •