Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Machine Wont Boot

    A customer gave me a machine (custom built system) and said that they don't see anything when they power the machine on. I assume it's a failed video card so I take the machine home and plug it to my monitor (analog connection) and power the box on. I see everything on the machine boot up and light up but my monitor light stays amber. The monitor is never awakened to show POST stats.

    What I did:

    I replaced the video card twice and still no luck.
    I replaced the CPU and and added new thermal paste (socket 462).
    I flashed the CMOS with jumper and removing the battery.
    Swapped out the PC133 sticks of RAM one at a time to see if it was bad RAM.

    I honestly don't know what else I could swap except for the motherboard to locate the problem.

    Anyone have any suggestions and or more troubleshooting steps I can try?
    ./

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    Can you get your hands on a PCI VGA card? Try the customer's components in a different PC and test them.

    Does it beep when you start it? If not, check that it has a buzzer/speaker and try. Any beeps? If so: Google Search: BIOS Beep Codes

    If it's still a no go, remove all of the RAM and try.
    You can also try:
    • Test/replace the PSU.
    • Clear the CMOS:
      Unplug power and remove battery. Leave those out for a little while, then put them back in.
    • Remove all cables connected to the mobo (bar the ATX connectors and the CPU fan).
    • Remove all add-in cards.
    • Remove the motherboard from the case and set it up on a bench. Inspect it for anomalies when you have it out.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    No beeps and I tried a AGP and a PCI video card. I then took his video card in my known working system and is working. I am 90% sure its a fried mobo.
    ./

  4. #4
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    Could easily be a bad power supply. Just because fans spin and lights light, it doesn't mean the power is good. I see it all the time.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    Quote Originally Posted by Sick Willie
    Could easily be a bad power supply. Just because fans spin and lights light, it doesn't mean the power is good. I see it all the time.
    Agreed If you've got a meter available, this would be the first thing to test.

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Sonora, Ca.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,220

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    Check all the capacitors on the motherboard for leaking and buldging, might want to pull the CPU cooler and look at the thermal past, see if it looks burnt. What are the system specs? What kind of motherboard? Is the CPU fan plugged in to the header silk screened "CPU Fan"? Try a new fan on that header. If you pull the motherboard, look on the back side real close for burned areas oppsite the mosfets (voltage regulators). If you can, blow the board off real good and try the CPU in different board. Just some more info I thought I'd throw in here.

    flashawk.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    It was a AMD Duron CPU so I pulled that and used my AMD XP (socket 462) with a working heating and atric silver and same thing. I will swap out the PS and if that does not work, the only thing left would be the board.

    Thanks all!
    ./

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    Guys,

    Can someone tell me where I can find a replacement board for this machine?
    Newegg seems to only carry boards that use DDR SDRAM and not 133 SDRAM. Can someone please tell me who can sell me a board that runs a 462 socket for a duron & support PC133 SD RAM?
    ./

  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Sonora, Ca.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,220

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    Do you want an identical board or any ol' socket A?

  10. #10
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    any that is cheap and will take the same CPU and PC133 RAM
    ./

  11. #11
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Sonora, Ca.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,220

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    I bought from those guys before without problems.

    http://www.compuvest.com/Description...e=T&iid=132800

    Abit KT7E, KT7A or anything with the VIA KT133 chipset.

    flashawk.

  12. #12
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Sonora, Ca.
    Age
    58
    Posts
    1,220

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    That link was for the wrong motherboard. Anyway, just type KT133 in google and you'll find allot of boards.

    flashawk.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    I see a lot of reviews and what not but my question is does anyone sell these mobo's?
    ./

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    DDR RAM is very cheap these days. You'd probably be much better off going for a mobo that supports DDR RAM and getting a 512MB stick of RAM.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Machine Wont Boot

    That is another option - its up to the customer. I recommended that as well.

    Thanks.
    ./

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •