Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 84
  1. #61
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    My thought is that the card is overheating and scaling back. The stock HSF on this card is truely very sad - not even as good as the one they put on the 6600GT Len.
    I'll replace that this weekend with either the Zalman or a water cooler and see if that does anything.

  2. #62
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (16x1,6vp)
    Riva Tuner works. Untested though, so may still get the corruption. Still, After I receive my rebate the cost on this is only $144. What a freakin deal.
    Gonna throw another Doom 3 bench on and see what the extra gets me.

  3. #63
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Still with stock cooling and speeds but now unlocked:

    With VSync: 57.1 Without VSync: 88.2
    Gained 1.5 FPS / 3.5 FPS

    Not sure if that's reasonable or not for unlocking those extra pipes. It's hard to gain any improvements with Vsync on - it seems as if you have to fight for every fraction since the ceiling is capped so low - but I expected a bit more with Vsync off.
    I was also running the temp monitor in the background and it shows the temp going as high as 68. Not sure where the throttling occurs with excessive heat. Maybe I'm still running into that. Next step is to replace the HSF with my trusty Zalman.

  4. #64
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Average in FEAR MP demo gained about 5FPS. Not a whole lot, but the FPS distribution plot skewed upwards signifigantly in the 25-40 FPS range (73%) and quite a bit in the 40+ range (24%). Only 3% were in the under 25FPS whereas before I think it was in the teens.
    Only going thru demos, but so far no evidence of any graphical corruptions. Will need to improve cooling before I could rule out heat inducement anyway...

  5. #65
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Looks like another hot running Nvidia chip. You should run that RTHDRIBL GPU tester to see what the temps peak at.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  6. #66
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    3dmark jumps to 4104, temp peaking @ 70. Best score I got with the 6600GT was 3937. Not a big difference, but still think performance is throttled. Nothing to do but change HSF... shutting down...
    Last edited by dna; 10-01-2005 at 12:33 PM.

  7. #67
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Added the VNF700.
    Doom 3
    VSync: 57.1
    No VSync: 89.6
    3DMark 05: 4120
    The Zalman helps considerable. I had set up some bot DM on UT2K4 before shutting down. Raised res to 1600x1200x32, all settings set to highest. The 6800 would play great, average FPS well above 100 but I would lock up. check out the temp and sure enough it was maxing out at 77. This card seems to have the same thermal characteristic that my 6600GT had.
    Switch to the Zalman and temps peaked in UT2K4 at 57. A 20 degree drop very similar to when I used it on the 6600GT.
    3Dmark seemed to max out around 50 degrees, Doom 3 demo under 50. Idles 42~43.
    So at this point I am unlocked but still set at stock mhz. Time to change that. Do a little auto-detect and see what it says...

  8. #68
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Sioux Lookout
    Age
    38
    Posts
    720

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Comeon dna, push that thing

  9. #69
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    It's resisting...
    Stock speeds are 325/750. It will auto-detect @ 358/815 which Doom 3 really liked but caused problems in 3d 05. Backed off quite a bit, went down to 330/760 and 3dmark finished but dropped 300 points.
    Confused about Riva Tuner as well - I can set the clock speed up but the monitor in Riva tuner refuses to admit I changed it. Reports memory the same as I set, but not core clock. when I watch the history of core clock it shows stead @ 324 with a few bursts up to 360 (target I set it at).
    So either Riva is whack or the card isn't actually increasing the core clock. I wonder if I need to increase the AGP voltage to make it go up. Still, I'd think I'd get a tiny OC out of it set up like this... but it refuses.
    Thoughts?

  10. #70
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Sioux Lookout
    Age
    38
    Posts
    720

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    what if you use the built in Nvidia utility?

  11. #71
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Sioux Lookout
    Age
    38
    Posts
    720

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    will 3DM only complete at 330/760?

  12. #72
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Southern Tier of NY
    Age
    52
    Posts
    21,707

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    That's a disappointing overclock especially with the Zalman. Remember that the AGP voltage isn't the voltage to the GPU core. Need a volt mod to do that.
    If you enjoy gaming click here to learn about the Fragging Frogs.



    [Proudly using only AMD desktop CPUs since 1996 and now also GPUs in 2014 - Thanks AMD!!]
    My Rigs - My Upgrade History - My Games

  13. #73
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Quote Originally Posted by drkCrix
    what if you use the built in Nvidia utility?
    Using coolbits it's the same. That's actually what I started with.

  14. #74
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Quote Originally Posted by drkCrix
    will 3DM only complete at 330/760?
    It completes, but at a loss of 300 points. I haven't tried going up from that as I grew confused over what Riva Tuner was telling me about the clock speeds.
    Otherwise, it was happy to complete at the much higher setting or 360/815 but there was some corruption (the FPS overlay at the bottom was multi-colored) Again, Doom 3 didn't seem to care, but I didn't have that run as long as 3DMark does. It may have flaked out eventually anyway.
    Last edited by dna; 10-01-2005 at 07:07 PM.

  15. #75
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9,314

    Re: Seriously Considering 6800nu

    Quote Originally Posted by Lenny
    That's a disappointing overclock especially with the Zalman. Remember that the AGP voltage isn't the voltage to the GPU core. Need a volt mod to do that.
    Yes, it isn't heat related at all - 3dmark doesn't go past 53 or so.
    Have to look up volt mods and see what the deal is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •