Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5

    Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    : Anyone out there that can help!!!'
    I baught a Compaq SR1520NX computer with AMD Sempron 3100+ processer and 512MB/160GB. Each time I start the computer the Compaq logo screen appears with options for boot, setup, recovery in lower right corner. This screen hangs there for about 4 minutes before it starts Windows XP. I contacted HP, they were not able to help fix the issue.
    I tried going through msconfig and startup, checked the Boot order, Bios settings-no update available. Nothing has worked. This is very frustrating. Is there anyone that knows of this issue or how to fix it? PLEASE!!!
    Last edited by sarge36; 09-30-2005 at 01:42 AM.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    i would do a re-image honestly.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    catford south london
    Posts
    8,208

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    got any usb card readers etc in there
    P5Q Deluxe
    Intel QX 6700
    8 GB OCZ
    60 GB Vertex drive
    ATI 5850
    SILENCER 610 WATT





  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    I have no USB card readers installed.
    What is a re-image, and how do I do that? Thank you

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    get out your compaq restore disk, and start over.

    back up important data first.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    5

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    Quote Originally Posted by steven975
    get out your compaq restore disk, and start over.

    back up important data first.
    This is a brand new computer, I have only had it one week and have not made any changes to it, so how is restoring it going to help.

  7. #7
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Athens, GA
    Posts
    334

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    Virus, or worm. If you've only had it a week, then you won't lose anything buy wiping and restoring it. Install an antivirus and antispyware program before you connect it to the internet.
    "I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy."

    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ | ABIT NF8-V | 2 X 512MB Kingston Hyper-X PC4000 | ATI X850XT PE 256MB | Samsung SP1213C 120GB SATA | Lite-on DVDRW SOHW-16935 | Aspire 550W PSU

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    dont think its an os issue..if windowze was frozen instead of the compaq logo yeah..

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Isle of Anglesey
    Posts
    147

    Re: Compaq Logo Screen hangs for 4 minutes before windows XP starts

    Sounds like a BIOS problem - try clearing the CMOS.

    Could also be a problem with wrongly configured or faulty IDE devices - check jumper settings on the hard drive and/or CD/DVD drives, and/or try disconnecting drives.

    Good luck
    Regards
    Ian.
    Gigabyte K8NS
    Athlon 64 3200+ @2.475 11x225
    Thermaltake Polo 735
    2x256Mb OCZ PC3500 EL
    Radeon 8500 315/315
    Maxtor SATA 80Gb & Hitachi Deskstar 80Gb
    Lian Li PC65
    Antec True Blue 480W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •