Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    115

    what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Those CPU seem to gain popularity due to better overclocking possibilities than Venice/San Diego.

    Is it true or just a HOAX?

    What are the difference between Opteron architecture and Athlon 64?

    Thanks for your input.


    Asus Maximus Formula
    Core 8600 4,4Ghz@1,38V
    Watercooled by Swiftech
    2*1Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
    ATI Radeon 4870
    SB Audigy2 ZS
    2*Samsung Spinpoint 200Gb SATA II - RAID 0 (waiting for SDD price to become less outrageous)
    2*Samsung F1 1Tb - RAID1
    Adaptec controller 5805
    Corsair HX620
    Lian Li PC343 "The cube"
    Win Xp Pro


  2. #2
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    E n g l a n d
    Posts
    10,978

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    The Socket 939 Opterons are the same as the regular A64s, but are supposed to tested more rigourously. I'm sure they'll overclock just the same.

    The 1xx series Socket 940 Opterons are also the same, but need registered memory. Early models only officially supported up to DDR333 RAM. This was uprated to DDR400 after the C0 stepping was released.

    The 2xx and 8xx series Opterons have extra hypertransport links to allow them to be connected in multi-cpu configurations
    Last edited by Enmore; 10-10-2005 at 07:59 PM.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    115

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    According to this forum (sorry, in french), those opterons are San Diego cores, but starting at 1,8Ghz for the 144 model.

    So you can buy a very affordable SD core...

    Overclocking seems similar to SD/Venice cores : from 2,7 to 2,9v.


    Asus Maximus Formula
    Core 8600 4,4Ghz@1,38V
    Watercooled by Swiftech
    2*1Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
    ATI Radeon 4870
    SB Audigy2 ZS
    2*Samsung Spinpoint 200Gb SATA II - RAID 0 (waiting for SDD price to become less outrageous)
    2*Samsung F1 1Tb - RAID1
    Adaptec controller 5805
    Corsair HX620
    Lian Li PC343 "The cube"
    Win Xp Pro


  4. #4
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,035

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Yep - based on the San Diego (i.e. a Venice with 1MB L2 cache). O/C should be on a par with a regular SD. Many have got good results (similar posts in MSI forum & in AMD forum).

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Quote Originally Posted by Enmore
    The 1xx series Socket 940 Opterons are also the same, but need registered memory. Early models needed ECC RAM.

    I don't think Opterons EVER required ECC. It was an option, but not required. Registered RAM is the requirement.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Exactly. Socket-940 is tailored for Registered DIMMs, with or without ECC.

    Socket-939 Athlons need Unbuffered DIMM, without ECC.
    The new S939 Opterons want Unbuffered DIMMs, and are capable of using ECC. Also, the dual-core S939 Opterons have a lower thermal design power than the Athlon X2 types, 95W versus 110W.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    The Bean Counter, Leading The March To Oblivion
    Posts
    34

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    So just to confirm, all versions of 939 Opterons require registered ram?
    IC7-MAX3_2.4c_2*512 Corsair 3200 XL | BH 7 Dimm clip Broken in box | NF7-S V2.0 XPM (A) 2*512 Infineon 2700 NB Fan whines like a banshee, Oscillating harmonics increase with additional HDs, Great OCer, Poor benches VS A7N8X-Dlx 1.04 | A7V-333 & A7V-333r NP ever | KR7a-133r Minimal use Never OCed (no PCI lock) Fans spin No post Bad caps? | BX6 2.0 PIII 800EB ESD Death | BH-6 Cel300a@450 Bad clock | AB-TX5
    Zalman VF700-Cu & 400W Active PFC, Enermax EG465P-VE, APC UPS, Panaflo, InWin J series, Aeroflow and Thermalright

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    115

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Quote Originally Posted by steempy
    So just to confirm, all versions of 939 Opterons require registered ram?
    Not at all. They're classic San Diego. The target for AMD are cheap servers, according to this link

    Another interesting link here


    Asus Maximus Formula
    Core 8600 4,4Ghz@1,38V
    Watercooled by Swiftech
    2*1Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
    ATI Radeon 4870
    SB Audigy2 ZS
    2*Samsung Spinpoint 200Gb SATA II - RAID 0 (waiting for SDD price to become less outrageous)
    2*Samsung F1 1Tb - RAID1
    Adaptec controller 5805
    Corsair HX620
    Lian Li PC343 "The cube"
    Win Xp Pro


  9. #9
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Quote Originally Posted by steempy
    So just to confirm, all versions of 939 Opterons require registered ram?
    I'm not going to confirm the exact opposite of what I wrote. Read my previous post again.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    AFAIK s940 opterons require registered ram, whether its ecc or not doesn't matter, maybe things are different with the newer cores but the first cores required registered memory.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  11. #11
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    E n g l a n d
    Posts
    10,978

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Quote Originally Posted by steven975
    I don't think Opterons EVER required ECC. It was an option, but not required. Registered RAM is the requirement.
    Oops, I meant DDR333. Knew there was something the early ones didn't like. Fixed above.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    E n g l a n d
    Posts
    10,978

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    I'm not sure why the average home user would buy a Socket 939 Opteron over a A64 anyway. They are bound to be slightly more expensive and in shorter supply.

  13. #13
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    actually they are not. the 1.8Ghz 1MB 144 is comparable to the 3000+

    highoctane, every single last socket940 cpu needs registered ram. every single last socket939 cpu needs unbuffered DDR RAM. ECC is an option for both, I believe.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  14. #14
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: what's the deal with 939 opteron?

    Quote Originally Posted by steven975
    highoctane, every single last socket940 cpu needs registered ram. every single last socket939 cpu needs unbuffered DDR RAM. ECC is an option for both, I believe.
    Ok, thats what I thought but I wasn't sure about the later cores.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •