Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    May 2002
    Posts
    55

    8RDA+ not posting?

    Hey,
    I'm having trouble getting my 8RDA+ to boot....at first i was getting the C1 error for memory and i verified the memory was fine and now i'm getting it error at 01? Any good ideas?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    471

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    Quote Originally Posted by pentachromium
    Hey,
    I'm having trouble getting my 8RDA+ to boot....at first i was getting the C1 error for memory and i verified the memory was fine and now i'm getting it error at 01? Any good ideas?
    Sorry to hear about your troubles with the 8RDA+. Take a look at your board and see if the tops of the capacitors are bulging. Check if some of them are leaking. The 8RDA+ is notorious for prematurely dying because Epox used inferior quality caps. Read the following threads:

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...highlight=caps
    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...highlight=caps
    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...highlight=caps

    You might be able to send the board back to Epox for repairs. If it's out of warranty, they will charge you. I tried to RMA mine, but Epox wanted to charge me an exorbitant amount to repair it. They wanted something like $15 for the caps PLUS $17 because I replaced the southbridge heatsink, PLUS I would have to pay about $10 for shipping it to them. That would have been about $42.

    I chose to throw mine in the trash. I will NEVER buy another Epox product.
    Last edited by 7th Angel; 10-30-2005 at 06:25 PM.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Age
    50
    Posts
    987

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    Quote Originally Posted by 7th Angel
    Sorry to hear about yout troubles with the 8RDA+. Take a look at your board and see if the tops of the capacitors are bulging. Check if some of them are leaking. The 8RDA+ is notorious for prematurely dying because Epox used inferior quality caps. Read the following threads:

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...highlight=caps
    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...highlight=caps
    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...highlight=caps

    You might be able to send the board back to Epox for repairs. If it's out of warranty, they will charge you. I tried to RMA mine, but Epox wanted to charge me an exorbitant amount to repair it. They wanted something like $15 for the caps PLUS $17 because I replaced the southbridge heatsink, PLUS I would have to pay about $10 for shipping it to them. That would have been about $42.

    I chose to throw mine in the trash. I will NEVER buy another Epox product.
    It seems you have nothing better to do than cruise the Epox threads and find a reason to bash them. If you hate them so much, why visit the Epox threads?

    Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe - AMD Opteron 1212 HE @ 3.0GHz - 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400C4 @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 -
    BFG 7950GT OC @ 600/1600 - 160GB Seagate SATA2 - 3 x 300GB Seagate SATA1 - Enermax Whisper II 535w
    Heatware

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    471

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    Quote Originally Posted by SPQQKY
    It seems you have nothing better to do than cruise the Epox threads and find a reason to bash them. If you hate them so much, why visit the Epox threads?
    THE GUY ASKED A QUESTION AND I GAVE HIM SOME LINKS TO ASSIST HIM WITH HIS PROBLEM!!!

    Now, what's YOUR problem???

  5. #5
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Western Pa
    Posts
    1,986

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    SPQQKY
    I dont think he was bashing, it's common knowlege about the 8RDA's and GSC capacitors. These caps were installed in other brands of mainboards, PSU's and even coffee makers. Not EpoX's fault initially but then again, where do you draw the line?
    My 8RDA had bad caps, I overclocked it from day one, when it became dodgy, I got mad but successfully changed them myself and yet recently upgraded to an Epox 939 board. No need to bait a participant that you may believe to have a grudge, after all, he gave a straight and definative response. Oh, btw I enjoyed your little video on posting, lol.
    Last edited by BUTT_UGLY; 10-30-2005 at 05:31 PM.
    "Use the NForce3 Luke"



  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Western Pa
    Posts
    1,986

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    Pentachromium
    Have you tried removing ATX plug, the CMOS battery, closing the CLR CMOS jumper, remove and re-insert the memory, reset the CMOS jumper, re-insert the battery and ATX plug to see if you get the same issue?
    "Use the NForce3 Luke"



  7. #7
    Joined
    May 2002
    Posts
    55

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    After reviewing my board it is the capacitors......kind of a bad design if you ask me because I don't OC at all besides just running my processor at 166FSB...which the MB and memory should be very capital of doing..... whatever, i'll workout the RMA tomorrow. Thanks

  8. #8
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    Western Pa
    Posts
    1,986

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    Good luck. The GSC capacitor issue was a scheme gone bad......No one uses them anymore.
    "Use the NForce3 Luke"



  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    33

    Re: 8RDA+ not posting?

    Dang, I have the same board too, so far<knock on wood> no problem yet. Only my +12.00 voltage kinda srewy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •