Page 2 of 20 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 289
  1. #16
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    U.S.
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,724

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    You're making me antsy!

    What ram are you using?

  2. #17
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    503
    Posts
    1,200

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    2 x 1 gb Gskill pc4000

    currently low on a divider while I test the cpu....

    I accually failed prime QUICKLY tonight when I enabled 1T at 2.4ghz. I had givin it 1.4 volts at that time. I'm suprised at the failure with how well it's doing... tells me there's not much headroom left at these low volts... I'm going to have to give it some juice just for 1T? It can't be the ram as it does 1T at ddr500 and it's under 450mhz right now

    I'll share more as it comes...
    Last edited by got-mota?; 11-12-2005 at 07:39 AM.
    TRADING POST RULES - HEAT
    Folding For Our Future

    <xxxxxxxxx(|::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,049

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    The two cores availible in the Opteron 146 currently are both good cores. One of them is the core that goes on the FX-57 and the other can easily reach 2.7-2.8 with decent cooling. Once I have a lil more funds availible I will be upgrading to said setup.


    CPU-Z My Heat
    Request Granted. Safe Passage Guaranteed via JimZ

  4. #19
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Well i just got my Opteron 146!
    Stepping: CABYE 0540FPMW So nothing new there.

    I've seen great clockspeed, but i haven't been checking how the memory controller is. This is a rev E4 San Diego and not a E6. So i wonder if i can still run my memory at DDR600+.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  5. #20
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,481

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Quote Originally Posted by Abducted
    This is a rev E4 San Diego and not a E6. So i wonder if i can still run my memory at DDR600+.
    Probably - my PC3700 hit it's limit ~265@1T so if you have RAM that can run faster you can probably use it.
    abit AB9 QuadGT/E6600 , abit IP35 Pro/E6600, Asus P5N-E SLI/E6600
    abit AX78/5000+ Black


    RGone Certified!
    (he should be )

  6. #21
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Stockbridge GA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    377

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Got my Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 today from Monarch!

    2.8ghz 10X280 on Air, stock voltage. Running prime95. Gonna test some 3d in a few minutes and run Prime overnight. I might have to go get another for my second system. Time to go get some water to keep this baby running long term. Temps 38C idle, 46C load. Enjoy the first screenshot!

    Last edited by Digital-EX; 11-15-2005 at 07:12 PM.
    AMD Opteron 146 2800mhz (10X280) 1.365volts
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Bios 1.015 HT3X
    2GB 4-512 Corsair Value PC3200 (2.5 -3-3-8) 2.6volts 133Divider
    2 - Evga 7800 GT SLI 445/1070mhz
    160GB Seagate SATA
    Antec 480watt NEOPower
    Zalman 7700 Cooler
    Lian Li PC61
    22" Mitsubishi 2040U


  7. #22
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Dear mother of god. I removed the IHS from my brand new Opteron 146 and all of a sudden one of the blades went it too far. So far it took of one of those little thingies that surrounds the core.
    So after shitting in my pants i remembered reading that somebody else had done the same, but that his CPU worked fine and that those little thingies were supposed to protect against static electricity.

    Well whatever they do, mine still works with one less of those little thingies.
    Now i have to see if it still overclocks atleast the same as before i removed the IHS.

    I've removed the IHS of my P4, my Venice 3200+ and a bunch of older chips and never had a problem. It wasn't that i was getting sloppy, if anything i told myself to take some extra time for it. So that shows that even a pro like me can screw up in the blink of an eye.

    But my CPU temp did drop 9c and the Shin Etsu hasn't even settled yet. Is it worth the risk? U tell me...

    Anyway, it did 2.88Ghz at stock voltage (CPU-Z showed 1.375v) with heatspreader and watercooling. Max Temp was 40c. I'll see what it can do tomorrow after i leave it priming overnight to let the Shin Etsu take.
    Last edited by Abducted; 11-15-2005 at 07:56 PM.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  8. #23
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3,085

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Quote Originally Posted by Digital-EX
    Got my Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 today from Monarch!

    2.8ghz 10X280 on Air, stock voltage. Running prime95. Gonna test some 3d in a few minutes and run Prime overnight. I might have to go get another for my second system. Time to go get some water to keep this baby running long term. Temps 38C idle, 46C load. Enjoy the first screenshot!

    No F@#&ing way. 2.8 ghz on STOCK VOLTAGE!!!! Anyone see that before?
    Just walk up to a girl and say "If you were x^2 I'd wanna be (1/3)x^3 cause I'd be the area under your curves." -salutethyshorts

  9. #24
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Actually that's quite normal for these CPUs
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  10. #25
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,391

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    I wonder if I need to clear the Cmos When I boot I get a Amd Unkown processor and second boot I cranked it to 240X11 and no problems. CABYE 540 stepping Opteron 148.
    Last edited by Rustler; 11-15-2005 at 09:06 PM.
    DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR
    A64 Opteron 180 235x12 @ 2820Mhz 1.35v
    Thermalright Ultra 90, MSI 8800GT
    2 Raptors 74G HDs in Raid
    Mushkin 2 X 1GB XP4000
    PC PWR Cooling 510 SLI PSU


    HEAT

  11. #26
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    The BIOS just doesn't recognize the CPU. Maybe a future BIOS update will fix that, but probably not since most mainboard companies will not officially support the Opterons in their boards. Same thing happend with the Duron Applebred when it was first released.
    And of course the Athlon XP Mobiles, those weren't (and probably still aren't) recognized either.

    But that doesn't change anything about the way the CPU performs. It's just a name in the boot screen.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  12. #27
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,391

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Stock Voltage 255x11 2809MHz what an amazing processor...................yeah baby

    Processor tempature is 33C..................!!!
    Last edited by Rustler; 11-15-2005 at 10:00 PM.
    DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR
    A64 Opteron 180 235x12 @ 2820Mhz 1.35v
    Thermalright Ultra 90, MSI 8800GT
    2 Raptors 74G HDs in Raid
    Mushkin 2 X 1GB XP4000
    PC PWR Cooling 510 SLI PSU


    HEAT

  13. #28
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Stockbridge GA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    377

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Mine detected it as a Opteron 146 just fine. Time for some better memory so I can run 1:1 or less of a divider. PC4000 shall we? FX-57 speeds! Maybe over 12k 3dmark and 90k aqua?





    Last edited by Digital-EX; 11-15-2005 at 10:28 PM.
    AMD Opteron 146 2800mhz (10X280) 1.365volts
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Bios 1.015 HT3X
    2GB 4-512 Corsair Value PC3200 (2.5 -3-3-8) 2.6volts 133Divider
    2 - Evga 7800 GT SLI 445/1070mhz
    160GB Seagate SATA
    Antec 480watt NEOPower
    Zalman 7700 Cooler
    Lian Li PC61
    22" Mitsubishi 2040U


  14. #29
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    2,391

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    I just flashed to the new bios it was 1014 now running 1015 and it detected the Opteron on the boot screen.................FX speeds for 230 bucks not to shabby.
    DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR
    A64 Opteron 180 235x12 @ 2820Mhz 1.35v
    Thermalright Ultra 90, MSI 8800GT
    2 Raptors 74G HDs in Raid
    Mushkin 2 X 1GB XP4000
    PC PWR Cooling 510 SLI PSU


    HEAT

  15. #30
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Stockbridge GA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    377

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rustler
    I just flashed to the new bios it was 1014 now running 1015 and it detected the Opteron on the boot screen.................FX speeds for 230 bucks not to shabby.
    Enjoy! Im thrilled.
    AMD Opteron 146 2800mhz (10X280) 1.365volts
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Bios 1.015 HT3X
    2GB 4-512 Corsair Value PC3200 (2.5 -3-3-8) 2.6volts 133Divider
    2 - Evga 7800 GT SLI 445/1070mhz
    160GB Seagate SATA
    Antec 480watt NEOPower
    Zalman 7700 Cooler
    Lian Li PC61
    22" Mitsubishi 2040U


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •