Page 4 of 20 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 289
  1. #46
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Stockbridge GA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    377

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Quote Originally Posted by rulocal
    have just installed my Opteron 146 (CABYE 0540 FPBW) into my Epox 9nda3+ motherboard. I am using pretty ordinary OCZ PC3200 memory (Ballistix arriving tomorrow ) and am really struggling to get the chip stable beyond 2.6Ghz.

    I have taken the memory out of the equation with a very low divider and I know the motherboard is happy up to 310HTT as I was able to run my Venice 3000 at 300 * 7 with no problems.

    I can get the system stable at 2500 with 1.45v but after that I am really struggling. I can't get it rock solid stable at 2.6Ghz unless I am pushing 1.625 volts through the chip (bios setting is 1.625 but CPU-Z etc show .05v lower?) and anything beyond that is not prime stable.

    My results seem the worst I have seen for this chip (by some distance) and am inclined to think it is my inexperience at overclocking that is contributing.
    I would really appreciate any helpful pointers anyone can provide.

    Many thanks

    Give us more info on your system specs. Your ram timings, HT settings.
    AMD Opteron 146 2800mhz (10X280) 1.365volts
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe Bios 1.015 HT3X
    2GB 4-512 Corsair Value PC3200 (2.5 -3-3-8) 2.6volts 133Divider
    2 - Evga 7800 GT SLI 445/1070mhz
    160GB Seagate SATA
    Antec 480watt NEOPower
    Zalman 7700 Cooler
    Lian Li PC61
    22" Mitsubishi 2040U


  2. #47
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    532

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Got OPTERON 146 CABYE 0540FPMW arriving tomorrow. Bought it off jazzisjazz here in the forums. Hoping to hit 3 ghz but not sure if my ram will hold me back. But right now I can hardly sleep waiting on tomorrow.
    GamESTatioN
    Intel Conroe E6600 L627A685@3.6ghz 1.440<vdroop1.4750v bios(24/7) , ASUS P5W DH DELUXE(New Rev.), Corsair Nautilus 500, 2 eVGA 7900GT's SLI modified drivers, G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ, Two WD 320GB Serial ata raid, HP DVD Writer 740, Creative Audigy 2 Platnium, NZXT Lexa w/OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU, Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP, Logitech Z680's.
    MediaSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0617 FPMW@2906 Mhz 1.4vcore, Zalman CNPS9500,DFI Lan Party UT nF4 Ultra-D,ATI AIW 2006, 1 GB Kit CORSAIR XMS 3200XL Pro's, Two Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA Raid, 2 Maxtor 250GB on 3ware Escalade 7500 Raid,Plextor 712A DVD Burner, Enermax 535w PSU
    MobileSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 FPMW, ZALMAN CNPS8000, DFI RS482 Infinity, 1 GB Kit Corsair XMS 3500, Plextor 740a DVD Burner, Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA, ATi HDTV Wonder, ASPIRE X-QPACK

  3. #48
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Well if you're going to use it with your Corsair TCCD memory i don't think you'll have a problem. And there is always the use of a divider.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  4. #49
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    26

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Quote Originally Posted by Digital-EX
    Give us more info on your system specs. Your ram timings, HT settings.
    I am using 2*512mb PC4000 Ballistix which I am running below stock on a 166 divider with timings of 8-3-3-3. HTT is 260 with and the HTT multiplier is 3x. I know the board is happy up to 300 HTT because I was able to run my Venice at 300*8.

    Could the power supply be the problem it is a Chieftec 340w.

    Thanks

  5. #50
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,596

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Ordered a Opteron 170 from the egg today should be here Tuesday. Will post back with stepping when it arrives.

  6. #51
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    532

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Can't seem to reach 3000 Stable, even 2700 fails prime but runs Quake 4 endlessly. I think my rams can't handle the high clocks. Using 704-2bta bios & orange slots. Can someone recommend bios settings for Corsair 3200xl or OCZ EL Rev2 tcc5's. Bought some g.skills from the forums but would like to hit something higher than 2.7 prime stable now b4 they get here.
    Last edited by thenemesis; 11-20-2005 at 11:19 AM.
    GamESTatioN
    Intel Conroe E6600 L627A685@3.6ghz 1.440<vdroop1.4750v bios(24/7) , ASUS P5W DH DELUXE(New Rev.), Corsair Nautilus 500, 2 eVGA 7900GT's SLI modified drivers, G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ, Two WD 320GB Serial ata raid, HP DVD Writer 740, Creative Audigy 2 Platnium, NZXT Lexa w/OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU, Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP, Logitech Z680's.
    MediaSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0617 FPMW@2906 Mhz 1.4vcore, Zalman CNPS9500,DFI Lan Party UT nF4 Ultra-D,ATI AIW 2006, 1 GB Kit CORSAIR XMS 3200XL Pro's, Two Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA Raid, 2 Maxtor 250GB on 3ware Escalade 7500 Raid,Plextor 712A DVD Burner, Enermax 535w PSU
    MobileSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 FPMW, ZALMAN CNPS8000, DFI RS482 Infinity, 1 GB Kit Corsair XMS 3500, Plextor 740a DVD Burner, Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA, ATi HDTV Wonder, ASPIRE X-QPACK

  7. #52
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    532

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Update
    Switched to the Corsairs after I found posts over @ xtremsystems on how bios should be config for TCCD's. Now running @ 2900 mhz 10x290. Prime running as I speak, 32m Pi complete as well as OCCT Test. Gonna let her run prime overnight then try for 3 GHZ
    GamESTatioN
    Intel Conroe E6600 L627A685@3.6ghz 1.440<vdroop1.4750v bios(24/7) , ASUS P5W DH DELUXE(New Rev.), Corsair Nautilus 500, 2 eVGA 7900GT's SLI modified drivers, G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ, Two WD 320GB Serial ata raid, HP DVD Writer 740, Creative Audigy 2 Platnium, NZXT Lexa w/OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU, Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP, Logitech Z680's.
    MediaSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0617 FPMW@2906 Mhz 1.4vcore, Zalman CNPS9500,DFI Lan Party UT nF4 Ultra-D,ATI AIW 2006, 1 GB Kit CORSAIR XMS 3200XL Pro's, Two Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA Raid, 2 Maxtor 250GB on 3ware Escalade 7500 Raid,Plextor 712A DVD Burner, Enermax 535w PSU
    MobileSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 FPMW, ZALMAN CNPS8000, DFI RS482 Infinity, 1 GB Kit Corsair XMS 3500, Plextor 740a DVD Burner, Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA, ATi HDTV Wonder, ASPIRE X-QPACK

  8. #53
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Excellent Can you maybe post a link to that thread with the BIOS settings?
    I am running stable at 3000Mhz, but maybe i can try some other BIOS settings when i try to go higher.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  9. #54
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    532

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    I used this as a guide & currently I'm 3 hrs prime stable @295x10. System hung @ 300 & 299mhz once I got into windows, but I think thats the corsair reaching its limit. I am running the memory 1:1 though, no divider
    Last edited by thenemesis; 11-20-2005 at 10:17 AM.
    GamESTatioN
    Intel Conroe E6600 L627A685@3.6ghz 1.440<vdroop1.4750v bios(24/7) , ASUS P5W DH DELUXE(New Rev.), Corsair Nautilus 500, 2 eVGA 7900GT's SLI modified drivers, G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ, Two WD 320GB Serial ata raid, HP DVD Writer 740, Creative Audigy 2 Platnium, NZXT Lexa w/OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU, Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP, Logitech Z680's.
    MediaSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0617 FPMW@2906 Mhz 1.4vcore, Zalman CNPS9500,DFI Lan Party UT nF4 Ultra-D,ATI AIW 2006, 1 GB Kit CORSAIR XMS 3200XL Pro's, Two Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA Raid, 2 Maxtor 250GB on 3ware Escalade 7500 Raid,Plextor 712A DVD Burner, Enermax 535w PSU
    MobileSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 FPMW, ZALMAN CNPS8000, DFI RS482 Infinity, 1 GB Kit Corsair XMS 3500, Plextor 740a DVD Burner, Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA, ATi HDTV Wonder, ASPIRE X-QPACK

  10. #55
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Are you also using 2.5-3-3-7 timings? In that case your memory is doing better then mine.
    Using 2.5-4-3-7/6 timings should even get you higher.
    Weird thing with my system is that i'm memtest stable (with those timings) over 315Mhz (DDR630). But i start to see some instability at around 307Mhz. I had the same problem with my Venice core. So i'm thinking it's not the memory controller otherwise it would be very coincidental that both memory controllers (on difference core types and different revisions) start to cause problems at +/- 307Mhz. So i might try BIOS version 510 a little later. I've seen people getting good results with that one too. I'm currently using the same BIOS u are.

    BTW with the A64 systems you are always running a divider. There have been some threads about it. But the memory controller uses the CPU clockspeed to set the memory speed.
    When you run 10x300=3000Mhz with your memory at DDR600 you're not running 1:1, but using a 10x memory divider. In this case the divider is the same as the multiplier so the memory speed will always be the same as the HTT frequency, yet not really in sync, just the same. Once you start running the memory at a different speed the memory vs HTT speed will start acting a little different.
    So basicly you never run in sync. That might also be the reason these systems don't get such a big performance hit (compared to nForce2) if you don't run the memory at the same speed as the HTT speed.
    This is also the reason you have those 'weird' settings for your memory speed in the BIOS now. 200Mhz, 166Mhz 133Mhz etc etc. and not just a divider like it used to be.
    For instance if you set the memory speed to 166Mhz or 133Mhz in the BIOS and you increase the FSB in windows, the memory wont always be perfectly 6/5 or 3/2 of the HTT speed. Give it a try.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  11. #56
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    532

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Overclocking sure has changed from my 1700 DLTC & Epox 8rda days. Of course from the celeron 300a day's too. I know that amd systems ran something dif than those days since everythings HT clock & not FSB. Thanks for explaining it cuz I'm still learning. But it is true if my memory is set 1:1 200 mhz thats a better overclock than say 9:10 180mhz. Or is it just bragging rights but same overall performance either way? I don't think I tried 7-3-3-2.5. Never could get past 251 @ 6-3-3-2.5 stable with the venice so I left it @ 7-3-4-2.5 from then. Now you got me curios. About to shut down & see. Are you running corsair too?
    GamESTatioN
    Intel Conroe E6600 L627A685@3.6ghz 1.440<vdroop1.4750v bios(24/7) , ASUS P5W DH DELUXE(New Rev.), Corsair Nautilus 500, 2 eVGA 7900GT's SLI modified drivers, G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ, Two WD 320GB Serial ata raid, HP DVD Writer 740, Creative Audigy 2 Platnium, NZXT Lexa w/OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU, Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP, Logitech Z680's.
    MediaSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0617 FPMW@2906 Mhz 1.4vcore, Zalman CNPS9500,DFI Lan Party UT nF4 Ultra-D,ATI AIW 2006, 1 GB Kit CORSAIR XMS 3200XL Pro's, Two Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA Raid, 2 Maxtor 250GB on 3ware Escalade 7500 Raid,Plextor 712A DVD Burner, Enermax 535w PSU
    MobileSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 FPMW, ZALMAN CNPS8000, DFI RS482 Infinity, 1 GB Kit Corsair XMS 3500, Plextor 740a DVD Burner, Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA, ATi HDTV Wonder, ASPIRE X-QPACK

  12. #57
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,167

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    I'm running Mushkin. But i was just wondering if you were running 2.5-3-3-7 since that guide you linked to use that settings in BIOS. I'm using 2.5-4-3-6/7 just like you and i suggest you leave it like that for now. Running the memory at a higher speed of course will give you better benchmark results. But since you're not running in sync anyway, using the 180Mhz 9/10 settings will just result in a slightly lower benchmark results because of the lower memory speed, but not because you aren't running 'in sync' anymore, cause, once again, you never did anyway.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  13. #58
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Greenfield, Wisconsin
    Age
    31
    Posts
    702

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Has any one gotten like 3.1-3.2ish with water? Im sure you can probaly get a good 3.4ghz+ with phase or cascade, but I have yet to build my home made phase heh, so im wondering what people on water are getting. Not this "oh i dont like to push my hardware to the limit" or "I dont want to put any volts into it" crap. Lets see some 1.7v action with clocks over 3ghz! common people, you dont have to leave it like that, and running your proc with 1.7v+ at 3ghz+ wont hurt it if you dont do it long. Especialy on water. Just see whatcha can do, because im wondering what to expect when i get mine (give or take a few hundred mhz ) Also run your memory on divivder if you have to. Im sick of people saying their procs max out at 2.5-2.6ghz because their memory doesnt clock well heh.
    EVGA 790i Ultra
    Intel 9550 @ 3.922ghz 1.2125v
    ATI 4870x2
    OCZ 2x2gb @ DDR1600 7-6-6-21 @ 1.9v
    OCZ Game Xstream 700w
    4x80gb WD Sata2 in Raid 0
    40" Samsung 4071 @ 1080p
    Custom Waterloop on CPU and Video
    Thermaltake Tsunami case (Black)
    7 Ultimate 64-bit

  14. #59
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Greenfield, Wisconsin
    Age
    31
    Posts
    702

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Quote Originally Posted by Abducted
    Are you also using 2.5-3-3-7 timings? In that case your memory is doing better then mine.
    Using 2.5-4-3-7/6 timings should even get you higher.
    Weird thing with my system is that i'm memtest stable (with those timings) over 315Mhz (DDR630). But i start to see some instability at around 307Mhz. I had the same problem with my Venice core. So i'm thinking it's not the memory controller otherwise it would be very coincidental that both memory controllers (on difference core types and different revisions) start to cause problems at +/- 307Mhz. So i might try BIOS version 510 a little later. I've seen people getting good results with that one too. I'm currently using the same BIOS u are.

    BTW with the A64 systems you are always running a divider. There have been some threads about it. But the memory controller uses the CPU clockspeed to set the memory speed.
    When you run 10x300=3000Mhz with your memory at DDR600 you're not running 1:1, but using a 10x memory divider. In this case the divider is the same as the multiplier so the memory speed will always be the same as the HTT frequency, yet not really in sync, just the same. Once you start running the memory at a different speed the memory vs HTT speed will start acting a little different.
    So basicly you never run in sync. That might also be the reason these systems don't get such a big performance hit (compared to nForce2) if you don't run the memory at the same speed as the HTT speed.
    This is also the reason you have those 'weird' settings for your memory speed in the BIOS now. 200Mhz, 166Mhz 133Mhz etc etc. and not just a divider like it used to be.
    For instance if you set the memory speed to 166Mhz or 133Mhz in the BIOS and you increase the FSB in windows, the memory wont always be perfectly 6/5 or 3/2 of the HTT speed. Give it a try.
    WELL said abducted, most people dont know / believe that hehe. But yea, you can prove it by using 2 or more different A64procs with different multiplyers. Just run your ram with the so called "166mzh' divider, then check what your real mem frequency is. It should very form multi to multi.
    EVGA 790i Ultra
    Intel 9550 @ 3.922ghz 1.2125v
    ATI 4870x2
    OCZ 2x2gb @ DDR1600 7-6-6-21 @ 1.9v
    OCZ Game Xstream 700w
    4x80gb WD Sata2 in Raid 0
    40" Samsung 4071 @ 1080p
    Custom Waterloop on CPU and Video
    Thermaltake Tsunami case (Black)
    7 Ultimate 64-bit

  15. #60
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    532

    Re: Opteron - Best stepping & more?

    Tried Memory divider down to 5:6=166mhz, but prime errors immediately. I'm just gonna wait for the G. Skills. Besides humming along @ 2950mhz stable for $200 is not too shaby. Eat your hearts FX owners.
    GamESTatioN
    Intel Conroe E6600 L627A685@3.6ghz 1.440<vdroop1.4750v bios(24/7) , ASUS P5W DH DELUXE(New Rev.), Corsair Nautilus 500, 2 eVGA 7900GT's SLI modified drivers, G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ, Two WD 320GB Serial ata raid, HP DVD Writer 740, Creative Audigy 2 Platnium, NZXT Lexa w/OCZ GameXStream 700w PSU, Dell UltraSharp 2407WFP, Logitech Z680's.
    MediaSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE 0617 FPMW@2906 Mhz 1.4vcore, Zalman CNPS9500,DFI Lan Party UT nF4 Ultra-D,ATI AIW 2006, 1 GB Kit CORSAIR XMS 3200XL Pro's, Two Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA Raid, 2 Maxtor 250GB on 3ware Escalade 7500 Raid,Plextor 712A DVD Burner, Enermax 535w PSU
    MobileSTatioN
    AMD Opteron 146 CABYE 0540 FPMW, ZALMAN CNPS8000, DFI RS482 Infinity, 1 GB Kit Corsair XMS 3500, Plextor 740a DVD Burner, Maxtor 250GB Serial ATA, ATi HDTV Wonder, ASPIRE X-QPACK

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •