Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,142

    New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    What do you all think of this crazy product?

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=180
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Age
    40
    Posts
    1,327

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    Interesting board but I have no use for it. Even if the quad sli did work, I cant see myself dropping $1200-2000 on video cards. There very well may be some professionals who may be able to take advantage of than many displays though.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------


    "We've got a gang of clueless bozos steering our ship of state right over a cliff, we've got corporate gangsters stealing us blind, and we can't even clean up after a hurricane much less build a hybrid car!" -Iacocca

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3,035

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    Extreme overkill. By the time any game requires 4xSLI, the CPU & chipset will be obsolete.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,438

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    It's a Novelty, nothing that will last in my opinion. It would work well as a heavy workstation machine but there's not much market for that. I don't see the enthusiast market really going for it either. Not a lot of people have the money to shell out good money on a motherboard and even more for 4 high-end video cards. Plus instead of 4 lower/mid-end video cards (provided that all 4 can work in SLI mode) it might be best to save some money on the MB hefty price and get two higher-end video cards in SLI mode with a cheaper MB instead.



    Ring ring ring ring ring ring ring Banaaaaana phone




    Last edited by a cat : yesterday at 05-11-2004 at 11:09 AM

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2005
    Location
    melbourne, australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    84

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    a gimmick, one i'd love to own though - 8 monitors is pimp. hehe
    Q6600 (G0) @ 3GHz | ASUS Maximus Formula | 4GB Corsair XMS2 DHX PC6400 | eVGA 8800GTX 628/1605/1042 | Seasonic S12 650W | WD Raptor150 (System) | Scythe Ninja | Antec P180 | 3 x Nexus 120mm | X-Fi Gamer | BenQ FP241W | Vista Home Premium 64bit

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2000
    Location
    Florence, KY, USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    5,142

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    But does the idea of running SLI mode in two of the PCIe slots with say, two 7800 GTXs, and still having two monitors running by putting in an old 6600 PCIe or something in a third slot appeal to people? I know it does to me; I must have multi-monitors to work efficiently now and constantly disabling and enabling a monitor to run games in SLI mode is kind of annoying...
    Ryan Shrout
    Owner, PC Perspective
    rshrout -at- pcper -dot- com
    --= Follow me on Twitter =--


  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    5,438

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    If the third card will be for web surfing, word documents, and even 2d graphic design, something like a Radeon 9000 on a PCI slot would suffice.



    Ring ring ring ring ring ring ring Banaaaaana phone




    Last edited by a cat : yesterday at 05-11-2004 at 11:09 AM

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    *4 dual-core 7800's drool

    nice!!!

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2001
    Location
    N.S. Canada
    Posts
    4,137

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    4X 7800GTX .... gezz, can we say power hungry

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    Quote Originally Posted by _dangtx_
    *4 dual-core 7800's drool

    nice!!!
    can't be done as each core uses 8 lanes or the 16x slot. Thus, with this board, it would be like running 4 single core cards at 8x. The other cores would sit unused.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  11. #11
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan
    But does the idea of running SLI mode in two of the PCIe slots with say, two 7800 GTXs, and still having two monitors running by putting in an old 6600 PCIe or something in a third slot appeal to people? I know it does to me; I must have multi-monitors to work efficiently now and constantly disabling and enabling a monitor to run games in SLI mode is kind of annoying...
    Ryan, Matrox already makes a 1x PCIe video card with dual outputs:

    http://www.matrox.com/mga/workstatio.../g550_PCIe.cfm

    So you can have that kind of functionality with current motherboards.
    SN25P rev.2
    A64 X2 3800+ @ 2.6ghz (260x10x4 @ 1.4v)
    2GB GigaRAM PC3500 @ 217Mhz (3-4-4-8-1T @ 2.6v)
    eVGA 7900GTO @ 690/1600
    250GB Maxtor 7.2K 16MB SATA
    400GB Seagate 7.2K 16MB PATA
    NEC 3540A
    2x Dell 2001FPs

  12. #12
    Joined
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    6,871

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    as interesting as it is, i fear it will be impracticle for the average user, as well as too expesnive for most...for some it will be great, but for the rest its one more reason that we want more money

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    30,879

    Re: New Gigabyte Quad GPU Motherboard?

    too much for what I need

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •