Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192

    Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    I decided to try MSI motherboards again, I bought a Neo4-F.

    I have had nothing but trouble since I built the PC with this motherboard.

    Hopefully someone can help me.

    The problem is that there are too many random BSOD's. Often when there is a BSOD, I loose my USB keyboard, and sometimes the USB mouse. By either installing a PS/2 keyboard or clearing cmos clears the problem.

    The FDD works randomly.

    I installed the latest bios, all the drivers are the latest.

    There appears to be a cold boot issue also, where it will give a BSOD once or more, than run fine for a while.

    There are circumstances where installing software, running an anti-virus program or firewall will cause a BSOD also.

    Ofcourse there is no overclocking on this unstable motherboard, and most all bios settings are at optimized defaults.

    Harrdware is as follows:
    MSI Neo4-F, with latest bios.
    OCZ Modstream 520 (new)
    Kingston Hyperx 3500 2x256 (proven good)
    AMD 3200 Winchester w/retail HSF, temps around 35c
    WD160JB IDE drive.

    I dont want to rip MSI being I am looking for help. But this is my 2nd MSI board, and both have not worked properly. The first was due to a CRC error that was a common problem.
    I am an experienced builder, I run a DFI Lanparty with an Opteron that is heavily overclocked on my personal PC.

    Is there anything I can try with this board before I return it?
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D, 165 Opteron. 9x275 1:1, OCZ 3200 2x512 TCCD, Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade, Raptor 74, Benq 1640, Liteon 166S DVD, Antec 660 Perf.+, Fortron Blue 500, Viewsonic VX910, XPsp2, Herc. GTXP 6.1, Z640

  2. #2
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,354

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    I have a similar setup to you and its been the most rock stable computer I ever built. I'm thinking your problem may be related to the memory. Even tho its good you may want to try some Corsair or something else just to see if that solves the problem.

    It also may be driver related but I dont know what vid card or sound card your using. I would double check your bios settings too. Also make sure you have installed the latest NForce 4 system drivers.

    If all else fails I'd try to reformat. Good luck. Post back how things go
    Opteron 170 CCBBE 0610DPMW @ 2.8 Ghz!
    MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum NForce4 Mobo, Bios 1.D0
    XFX 8800GT XXX PCIe Vid Card (650c/1900m)
    Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu LED CPU Fan
    2 Gigs GSkill F1-3200USU2-2GBHS PC3200
    Corsair 520HX 520w Power Supply
    Hitachi 7K80 HDS728080PLA380 SATA2 HD
    NEC ND 2510-A Dual Layer DVD-RW
    Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300s
    Asus VW193 1440 x 900 WS

    WinXP Sp2, DX 9.0c
    175.19 Forceware

  3. #3
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Thanks Kev1.

    This issue has been resolved, and put the solution in the back of your mind for future reference.

    Turns out that my system does not like the Nvidia SW drivers.

    After re-installing the OS and using only the Microsoft drivers, all problems went away.

    Does MSI/NF4 have in issue with WD IDE drives using the SW drivers?
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D, 165 Opteron. 9x275 1:1, OCZ 3200 2x512 TCCD, Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade, Raptor 74, Benq 1640, Liteon 166S DVD, Antec 660 Perf.+, Fortron Blue 500, Viewsonic VX910, XPsp2, Herc. GTXP 6.1, Z640

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Hi danny. IIRC, several other members have run smack into the same thing with the nvidia drivers. Reverting back to the MS default drivers usually fixed it, but I'm definately not up to snuff on nvidia stuff.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    1,779

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Was glad to see you fixed your problem. I run the same board and it has been flawless.

    I have not had any luck overclocking though and was wondering if anyone has had any success with the board. I am not a big overclocker, just frustrated that I can't do it.
    Asus M8Z77-V Deluxe
    Intel 3770K
    G-Skill 1600 16G
    Corsair H100
    EVGA 670 GTX
    2 Corsair Force 3 120G (Raid 0)
    2 x Seagate 1T 6G
    2 Samsung SyncMaster T260HD Monitors
    Thermaltake Level 10 UGK
    Silverstone Olympia OP1000 1000W
    Windows 8

    Never argue with idiots, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The barren wasteland of Vinton, TX
    Age
    41
    Posts
    148

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Another "witness" to the whole Nvidia drivers thing. So far everything running fine with Windows drivers. Just need to remember that you need to use Disk Managment in the Administrative Tools to access new SATA drives (via SATA or even USB).

    Still pissed that I didn't notice no Firewire on this board Eyeing another board at the moment.

    Current workstation:
    SolidBox Engineer Desktop L2|Intel XEON X5680 (3.33Ghz) Six-core|12GB DDR3|Quadro 4000|Intel 520 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs) | WD Raptor 10k 300GB (Files)|WD Black Caviar 1TB (Video Files/Scratch Disk)|Windows 7 Professional 64-bit


    HTPC:
    AMD Opteron 175 (2.2Ghz) Dual-Core|Corsair XMS 1GBMBx2|MSI K8N Neo4-F|PNY Quadro FX 580
    Antec TruePower 2.0 650W|Antec TX640B Case|WD Raptor 10k 75GB (OS/Programs) | WD Black Caviar 1TB (Files)|Plextor PX-740A|Windows XP Pro

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    I did some Goole searching and found numerous problems with NF4 chipsets and drivers that caused data corruption. Hopefully it is indeed a driver flaw, and not a defect in the chipset.

    Another problem I ran into, but have not delt with the problem in depth yet is that the board does not seem to like to run the memory timings in T1. I never had a motherboard that needed to run into T2.

    Also, are there any good bios setup links available?

    I don't plan on overclocking this PC much, but I want to run as fast as possible.
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D, 165 Opteron. 9x275 1:1, OCZ 3200 2x512 TCCD, Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade, Raptor 74, Benq 1640, Liteon 166S DVD, Antec 660 Perf.+, Fortron Blue 500, Viewsonic VX910, XPsp2, Herc. GTXP 6.1, Z640

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The barren wasteland of Vinton, TX
    Age
    41
    Posts
    148

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Quote Originally Posted by danny5
    I did some Goole searching and found numerous problems with NF4 chipsets and drivers...
    Did the same thing after I was having problems. I wish I would have found all these things out BEFORE buying all my hardware.

    The real question is, WHEN/IF the driver issue will be resolved, or WHAT alternative chipsets are there that will be good alternatives?

    Current workstation:
    SolidBox Engineer Desktop L2|Intel XEON X5680 (3.33Ghz) Six-core|12GB DDR3|Quadro 4000|Intel 520 SSD 180GB (OS/Programs) | WD Raptor 10k 300GB (Files)|WD Black Caviar 1TB (Video Files/Scratch Disk)|Windows 7 Professional 64-bit


    HTPC:
    AMD Opteron 175 (2.2Ghz) Dual-Core|Corsair XMS 1GBMBx2|MSI K8N Neo4-F|PNY Quadro FX 580
    Antec TruePower 2.0 650W|Antec TX640B Case|WD Raptor 10k 75GB (OS/Programs) | WD Black Caviar 1TB (Files)|Plextor PX-740A|Windows XP Pro

  9. #9
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    UpstateNY
    Age
    64
    Posts
    76

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Quote Originally Posted by danny5
    I did some Goole searching and found numerous problems with NF4 chipsets and drivers that caused data corruption. Hopefully it is indeed a driver flaw, and not a defect in the chipset.

    Another problem I ran into, but have not delt with the problem in depth yet is that the board does not seem to like to run the memory timings in T1. I never had a motherboard that needed to run into T2.

    Also, are there any good bios setup links available?

    I don't plan on overclocking this PC much, but I want to run as fast as possible.
    No, you shouldn't have to run T2 command rates with only 2 sticks, only if you install sticks in all 4 slots. I've run my NEO4F at 1T and 2 sticks without any issues. Again, echoing one of the other posters, it could be an issue with the brand of memory. I used to run a K7N2 Delta from MSI and it wasn't too fond of Kingston ram. I'm not sure if your referring to BIOS tweaking guides (which I doubt since you're an experienced OCer) or BIOS updating but I used MSI Live Update to flash the latest BIOS and drivers. Worked fairly well, too. Good luck getting it sorted and tweaked.

    Asus A8N32 SLI
    Opteron 165 @ 2745 Mhz (305x9)
    BFG 7900 GT (580 & 1600)
    2Gb Corsair PC4000 3-4-4-8
    Seagate 160 Gb 7200.9
    OCZ Powerstream 600W SLI
    Chieftec Matrix MX

  10. #10
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Quote Originally Posted by azonicbruce
    Did the same thing after I was having problems. I wish I would have found all these things out BEFORE buying all my hardware.

    The real question is, WHEN/IF the driver issue will be resolved, or WHAT alternative chipsets are there that will be good alternatives?
    I think is it is indeed a driver issue, it will be resolved in time. Nvidia has always been a bit slow releasing drivers, IMO.


    Quote Originally Posted by marine73
    ...Again, echoing one of the other posters, it could be an issue with the brand of memory. I used to run a K7N2 Delta from MSI and it wasn't too fond of Kingston ram. I'm not sure if your referring to BIOS tweaking guides (which I doubt since you're an experienced OCer) or BIOS updating but I used MSI Live Update to flash the latest BIOS and drivers. Worked fairly well, too. Good luck getting it sorted and tweaked.
    The memory brand could be an issue, the only way to find out is to put my OCZ Platinum R2 memory in there and see how that goes. But this Kingston Hyperx has been good to me, it has worked on 3-4 motherboards, particularly in my DFI where I was able to put 3 volts into it and get 240 FSB. These particular modules use the BH-6 chips.

    And yes I am looking for tweaking guides. They tend to take a lot of time out the the process. This MSI bios is fairly good, has a lot of memory settings to play with. Since it is not my personal PC, I want to tweak it as fast as possible.
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D, 165 Opteron. 9x275 1:1, OCZ 3200 2x512 TCCD, Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade, Raptor 74, Benq 1640, Liteon 166S DVD, Antec 660 Perf.+, Fortron Blue 500, Viewsonic VX910, XPsp2, Herc. GTXP 6.1, Z640

  11. #11
    Joined
    Nov 2003
    Location
    UpstateNY
    Age
    64
    Posts
    76

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    danny, here are a couple of tweaking guides, but they are not specific to just MSI hardware. Rather (NOT Dan) they are specific to AMD 64 based systems. Maybe they will help you speed up the process.


    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=847481
    http://forums.extremeoverclocking.co...d.php?t=151373

    Asus A8N32 SLI
    Opteron 165 @ 2745 Mhz (305x9)
    BFG 7900 GT (580 & 1600)
    2Gb Corsair PC4000 3-4-4-8
    Seagate 160 Gb 7200.9
    OCZ Powerstream 600W SLI
    Chieftec Matrix MX

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Perhaps the following memory population tables from AMD's own official documentation will help. It's always good to know what is and is not normal operation when forming one's expectations, especially on A64 platforms, where the chipset has nothing to do with it. The CPU itself and circuit board layout are the dominant factors.

    http://members.cox.net/bwm.pcp/ecore.html

  13. #13
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    Oh my, some good reading.

    I am on it.

    Thanks M73 and BWM.

    I admit that I been playing with DFI's settings for a time now, but there are some settings that I really do not have a handle on, in regard to what they do. I hate playing the "play and see what happens" game.
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D, 165 Opteron. 9x275 1:1, OCZ 3200 2x512 TCCD, Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade, Raptor 74, Benq 1640, Liteon 166S DVD, Antec 660 Perf.+, Fortron Blue 500, Viewsonic VX910, XPsp2, Herc. GTXP 6.1, Z640

  14. #14
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    It's enough to drive a fella plum nutz, ain't it!

  15. #15
    Joined
    Feb 2002
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    5,192

    Re: Neo4-F headaches, please help.

    LOL, and it is getting harder and hard to teach this old dog new tricks.

    Its' like putting a gallon of water in a thimble.
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D, 165 Opteron. 9x275 1:1, OCZ 3200 2x512 TCCD, Sapphire X800GTO Fireblade, Raptor 74, Benq 1640, Liteon 166S DVD, Antec 660 Perf.+, Fortron Blue 500, Viewsonic VX910, XPsp2, Herc. GTXP 6.1, Z640

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •