Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,718

    Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Is anyone using the Opty 165 or 170 with this mobo and if so, how far have you been able to push it? Thinking of upgrading from my Venice E6 because of all the vid encoding I do and the dualies seem far better for that, especially if I can OC it to about the same point or better. Thanks.
    AND Phenom X3 8650
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H mobo
    Sapphire HD3870 vid card
    2 GB PC 6400 DDR2
    74GB Raptor
    320 Seagate SATA HDD
    500W Fortron Blue Storm PSU

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    perdomot,

    Yes I think UB is using a 175 with the newest bios. See Here:

    http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.p...14#post3694114

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Yup! It's in my main everyday rig, too and solid as a rock!
    Several different configurations to look at:

    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2003
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,001

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    *slaps bob* stop bragging :P

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    It's not just that, PF....think about buying one and not knowing if it will even boot up in your mobo....kind of an expensive experiment, huh?


    But, yeah [slap]...I'm a proud poppa!!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Well since perdmont ain't talking I'll go a little off subject. When do you think we going to see the new socket motherboards?

    I've got the new computer itch again.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    I hear sometime in April......don't quote me, though!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Long time for a computer itch

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Don't scratch is all I can say!
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  10. #10
    Joined
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,610

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    I'm in no hurry. Nothing in the next generation seems interesting until 65nm finally comes out.
    I was looking at the new asus sli x 32 with 8 phase power, but there is no point since it will be close to a year until there is a cpu worth putting in it, and it's the wrong socket.
    Waiting for the K9


    "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
    - Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

  11. #11
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,718

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Hey UB, what do you use your 175 rig for? Aside from the usual web stuff, I encode video and audio which is why the dualies have caught my eye. I'm hoping the Optys bigger cache gives better performance in this area as opposed to the X2 cpus. As for the mobos, I'm hoping for some value mobos like the VNF4 that DONT need to use Clockgen to really reach high OCs. Its the one area of the VNF4 that really bugs me.
    AND Phenom X3 8650
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H mobo
    Sapphire HD3870 vid card
    2 GB PC 6400 DDR2
    74GB Raptor
    320 Seagate SATA HDD
    500W Fortron Blue Storm PSU

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    I use it for all sorts of stuff. Audio decoding, picture rendering, genreal accounting, etc. It has yet to eaven groan and it's still overclocked as above.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,070

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    ped,

    You can get great OC's without clockgen.

    I've sort of given up on clockgen because when I crash with it seems to mess up windows

  14. #14
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,718

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    Wish I could but I can get 10 X 250 with Clockgen but not with bios tweaks. Wish I knew why but it must just be an idiosincrisy with this mobo. The Clockgen advantage has been documented at various websites so it seems quite genuine.
    AND Phenom X3 8650
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H mobo
    Sapphire HD3870 vid card
    2 GB PC 6400 DDR2
    74GB Raptor
    320 Seagate SATA HDD
    500W Fortron Blue Storm PSU

  15. #15
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Dual core Opterons and VNF4

    I use Clock Gen to get it to where I works and then the BIOS. My 146 runs great that way right in the BIOS.....??

    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •