Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Angry FRN2 problem (purple)

    Hi guys .
    I think I have a little problem with my mother board.... I have been posting over at the processor forum, if you go over there, you will see the whole problem, and where it all started going wrong for me . I have been seeing something I haven't seen @ boot up before.. it say's "your overclock has failed" and then it lock's up (can't get in the BIOS) ...BUT.. please check out the other thread I started over there, it is called (How much heat is too much 2400-m)
    Soltek SL-75FRN2 nVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD 2400-m Barton FJQ4C 35w @2405.00 MHz 12x200 Vcore 1.65 V
    air cooled 37c/43c Cooler Master HHC-001
    OCZ 512ELDC-K (2.0-3-2-6 @ 200 MHz)
    Award BIOS REV D2.0L
    Video Adapter ATI X850 pro

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    9,188

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    Can't find the thread. Would you mind linking to it and I'll see what I can do.
    DFI T2RS, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gig Ballistix, EVGA 460GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q6600@3.2Ghz, OCZ 6400 DDR2, EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K-E WiFi, Q6600@3.2ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin XP2 6400 DDR2, EVGA 260GTX
    ASUS P5Q-Pro Turbo, Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin HP 6400 DDR2 EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, MSI 460GTX Cyclone
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R, Q6600 , 2X1gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, EVGA 9800GT
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, Asus 9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3R, Q6600@3.2Ghz, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    9,188

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    I found the thread. To be honest I'm not sure where you stand but if the CPU wouldn't work in another computer it may have simply failed. They're funny things, some will run forever in extreme conditions but when run out of spec with high voltages no one knows how long they are gonna last. I never used any 2400Ms but have had great sucess with 2500s (the 2400s were hard to come by here in Canada). I know you can still pick them up at some online etailers. The board may very well be just fine but I'd be tempted to see if you can get a different CPU to run on the FRN2 before going out and sinking any money on a new CPU.
    I take it that all the caps on the mobo appear to be in good order? Reason I ask is cuz one of my 754 setups has one cap that looks questionable and has been acting up as of late. These boards were manufactured AFTER the bad cap debacle that almost all makers suffered from so thats why I'm curious.
    DFI T2RS, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gig Ballistix, EVGA 460GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q6600@3.2Ghz, OCZ 6400 DDR2, EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K-E WiFi, Q6600@3.2ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin XP2 6400 DDR2, EVGA 260GTX
    ASUS P5Q-Pro Turbo, Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin HP 6400 DDR2 EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, MSI 460GTX Cyclone
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R, Q6600 , 2X1gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, EVGA 9800GT
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, Asus 9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3R, Q6600@3.2Ghz, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    Have you tried resetting your cmos?
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    Thanks Radiohead and alex666 for your reply. with a closer look @ ware the black sticker is on the cpu I can see a small hole burnt though I think ?...or I hit it with the corner of the heatsink when I installed it the board seem's to be ok w/1900+ in it
    Soltek SL-75FRN2 nVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD 2400-m Barton FJQ4C 35w @2405.00 MHz 12x200 Vcore 1.65 V
    air cooled 37c/43c Cooler Master HHC-001
    OCZ 512ELDC-K (2.0-3-2-6 @ 200 MHz)
    Award BIOS REV D2.0L
    Video Adapter ATI X850 pro

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    9,188

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    Well then in that case it certainly sounds as though the CPU is pooched. Take it easy on the 1900 till ya can come up with another CPU. There are still a few floating around on line.
    DFI T2RS, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gig Ballistix, EVGA 460GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q6600@3.2Ghz, OCZ 6400 DDR2, EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K-E WiFi, Q6600@3.2ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin XP2 6400 DDR2, EVGA 260GTX
    ASUS P5Q-Pro Turbo, Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin HP 6400 DDR2 EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, MSI 460GTX Cyclone
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R, Q6600 , 2X1gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, EVGA 9800GT
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, Asus 9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3R, Q6600@3.2Ghz, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,049

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    Sad times there sir, what you going to replace it with?

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    I am looking around for a 2400-m or 2500-m 45w...can't find 35w
    I have my old 2100+ @ 2.2 in my wife's pc it has never miss a beat..... sence I replaced some cap's on the board..... I got them from soltek for free about a year ago now. This forum sure has helped.. ME... a lot in the years.
    Soltek SL-75FRN2 nVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD 2400-m Barton FJQ4C 35w @2405.00 MHz 12x200 Vcore 1.65 V
    air cooled 37c/43c Cooler Master HHC-001
    OCZ 512ELDC-K (2.0-3-2-6 @ 200 MHz)
    Award BIOS REV D2.0L
    Video Adapter ATI X850 pro

  9. #9
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    There's a bunch on ebay. Good luck. I've got two 2600Ms. The mobiles are great chips.
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    76

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    thanks alex666 ....that is the game plan.
    Soltek SL-75FRN2 nVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400
    AMD 2400-m Barton FJQ4C 35w @2405.00 MHz 12x200 Vcore 1.65 V
    air cooled 37c/43c Cooler Master HHC-001
    OCZ 512ELDC-K (2.0-3-2-6 @ 200 MHz)
    Award BIOS REV D2.0L
    Video Adapter ATI X850 pro

  11. #11
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,555

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    > " it say's "your overclock has failed" and then it lock's up (can't get in the BIOS) " <

    Try holding the "insert" key while you push the re-set button. That should let you
    boot at default so you can go into BIOS & make some changes. And if that fails try clearing the CMOS.

    In extreme cases you can try leaving the CMOS jumper in the clear position & leave the power
    cord to the PSU disconnected overnight. Don't know exactly why but it works.
    ~ SolTek SL-75FRN2-RL (nForce2) = 10x230fsb, 2.0/2/2/11 DC
    ~ 1800+ DLT3C/VPMW/0307 ~ Leadtek 6800nu (16/6 400/825)
    ~ PCP&C 425deluxe ~ Gskill "LE" 1gb TCCD/437

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Phelan,Calif.
    Posts
    84

    Re: FRN2 problem (purple)

    I have 2 xp-m's up for auction on ebay; PM if interested.
    If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
    -Albert Einstein

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •