Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    a galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    3,689

    Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    I took a look at my case and I seem to have ample room for a Cooler Master Aquagate R120 liquid cooler but I forgot to see if my mainboard has cpu mounting holes. I checked a bunch of pics through Google Image search but none are big enough to tell and most pics are of the yellow/gold version.

    Does the purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Oct 2002
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    380

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    Lo Chiles

    sadly mate it does not have the holes !!!!

    I've modded a thermalright SI 120 skt 939 heatsink to fit my FRN2-L goldy !!!!

    now temps never go over 30 degrees centigrade !!!!

    of course I do have a 120mm 200cfm delta fan onboard !!!!

    at full belt it is a little loud !!!!

    but as I've a fan controller I can turn the sucker up or down depending on

    what I'm doing or I can allow the fan controller to do it dynamicallyy

    for me !!!!

    gotta go gogo go !!!!
    Spiidi

    Spiidi's pc's
    Asrock dual sata II 939 rev. 1.04 opteron 165@2880mhz
    Thermalright SI 120 cooler + 120mm delta 220cfm !!!!
    Powercolor HD4870 x2 4gb OCZ PC3500 memory
    Maxtor 7200 sata hard drive
    Wife's rig
    Asrock dual sata II 939 opteron 165@2700mhz
    Thermalright SI 120 120mm delta 220cfm fan !!!!
    ATI HD3870 x2 2gb OCZ PC3500 memory
    Maxror 120gb 7200 ide hard drive
    Daughter's rig
    Asrock dual sata II 939 opteron 165@2700mhz
    Thermalright SI 120 120mm delta fan
    ATI HD 3870 2gb OCZ PC3500 memory
    Maxtor 120gb 7200 ide hard drive

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    a galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    3,689

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    Thanks, Spiidi. Looks like my dream of having a simple, self-contained, inexpensive water cooler wth a resulting quieter box and cooler cpu have gone up in smoke.

    I have a brand new Asrock 939 Dual-Sata2 sitting on my shelf but I'm not going to buy a Venice 3500 and an Aquagate R120 for $300 just to have a nice water cooler. My box with its 75FRN2-RL and eVga 6800GT is still kicking butt in all my games.

    I'll reconsider the Aquagate in the future when I really get the urge to upgrade.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,555

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    Nope, none of the FRN2 have the holes. Too bad to because that is one of the key things
    which kept it from becoming popular with the OverClocking crowd. The FRN2 are certainly
    stable enough, and can handle relatively high FSB.
    ~ SolTek SL-75FRN2-RL (nForce2) = 10x230fsb, 2.0/2/2/11 DC
    ~ 1800+ DLT3C/VPMW/0307 ~ Leadtek 6800nu (16/6 400/825)
    ~ PCP&C 425deluxe ~ Gskill "LE" 1gb TCCD/437

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    a galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    3,689

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    Well, I'm in the process of shelving my FRN2 for a refurb Epox 8RDA+ I found on the shelf where I keep all my parts. It's got the holes. It's amazing the stuff I find on my parts shelf.

    I was never able to get my FRN2-RL with Mobile XP 2600+ over 200FSB. It wouldn't fail. Instead, my FSB and multiplier would simply be reset. I put this same cpu in the Epox board and was able to go to at least 210 without problem.

    Is it possible that the FSB jumper on the Soltek needs to be completely removed? It was always my understanding that the jumper needs to be in the 166-200 position for taking the FSB over 200.

    Oh well, that's water under the bridge. I have a FRN2 (non-raid) in my business box so my FRN2-RL will be it's backup. And it'll be a backup to my gaming rig if the caps on this Epox board start to "bleed". Though by that time, I'll probably have a Socket 939 board in my sights.

    I guess I should read the threads here to see if:
    a) Soltek is still going to be around in the future
    b) are the Soltek socket 939 boards upholding the great Soltek reputation

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Phelan,Calif.
    Posts
    84

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    Quote Originally Posted by Chiles4

    Is it possible that the FSB jumper on the Soltek needs to be completely removed? It was always my understanding that the jumper needs to be in the 166-200 position for taking the FSB over 200.
    That's the key to sucess.
    If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
    -Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    a galaxy far, far away...
    Posts
    3,689

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    That's the key to sucess.
    And I used the board for about two years without figuring that out. Oh well, the FRN2-RL has been shelved. I now have an Epox 8RDA+ in my rig and with the L12 mod on the socket, I've got the FSB up to 228 stable.

    BTW, the water cooler was a failure. I just about killed the mainboard in installing it. Luckily, after I removed it, the fatal FF post code went away and I was back in business. The Aquagate R120/R80 appears to fit very few Socket A mainboards but does much better on Socket 939 boards.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4,555

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    Not to muddy things, but I have not observed any difference in OCing ability from
    removing the Jp2 jumper. And I haven't had much success with the "Aggressive" CPU
    interface setting either. Could be attributed to my choice of RAM and CPU, just don't know.

    BIOS versions are a different story however. So far I have had the best results, in FSB speeds
    & overall stability, from v1.7LFB. Even in the newer FRN2 revision.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    9,188

    Re: Purple 75FRN2-RL have cpu mounting holes?

    No problem at all with 200 and then some on my purple. I run a 2500 in my box at a healthy FSB overclock so I can't be certain what you were doing wrong. Odd thing is mine is still chugging along with the official release D1.6L that it shipped with. I'm running 240X10 with OCZ 3200 6-2-3-2 DCEL sticks. Don't remeber for sure but I think the timings are 7-3-4-2.5.
    Last edited by Radiohead; 02-08-2006 at 07:15 PM.
    DFI T2RS, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gig Ballistix, EVGA 460GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q6600@3.2Ghz, OCZ 6400 DDR2, EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K-E WiFi, Q6600@3.2ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin XP2 6400 DDR2, EVGA 260GTX
    ASUS P5Q-Pro Turbo, Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X1gig Mushkin HP 6400 DDR2 EVGA 9850
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz, 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, MSI 460GTX Cyclone
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R, Q6600 , 2X1gig Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800, EVGA 9800GT
    ASUS P5K Prem WiFi Q9450@3.4Ghz 2X2gb OCZ DDR2 800, Asus 9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3R, Q6600@3.2Ghz, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L, Q9450@3.4, 2X1gb Corsair XMS 12-4-4-4, BFG9850GTX

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •