Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 62
  1. #16
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    This is a SataII drive which controller are you running it on?

  2. #17
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    how do i find that out?

  3. #18
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    Does your board have l the optiona PRomise controller on it? If it does then they would be down low next to the BIOS chip.
    Last edited by themortarman; 02-12-2006 at 10:51 PM.

  4. #19
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    no it does not. I can clearly see the space where a chip would go. What does this mean that I don't have that?

  5. #20
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    What is the exact model# of your problemed drive?

  6. #21
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    Quote Originally Posted by hlaalu
    no it does not. I can clearly see the space where a chip would go. What does this mean that I don't have that?
    If you are referring to the board listed in your profile, it doesn have any extra SATA and/or RAID capability beyond what the VIA ports provide. The chip would be from Promise if it were there. I have the Neo 2-FIR, same as yours with the promise chip.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    the model number is 7L300S0, I got it from newegg, here is the link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144186

  8. #23
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive


  9. #24
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    so what does this mean? Is the harddrive bad?

  10. #25
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    and why will my harddrive format when i split it up into two partitions. Most importantly what caused this to happen? I have never had a harddrive get corrupted all of the sudden from overclocking

  11. #26
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    Quote Originally Posted by hlaalu
    so what does this mean? Is the harddrive bad?
    Possibly, and I'd recommend running maxtor's diagnostics to make sure one way or the other.

  12. #27
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    Quote Originally Posted by hlaalu
    and why will my harddrive format when i split it up into two partitions. Most importantly what caused this to happen? I have never had a harddrive get corrupted all of the sudden from overclocking
    Did windoze already have SPI on installation, or did you slipstream it??

    As for corruption, it certainly can. Even though the VIA ports are not on the PCI buss, they do use UDMA data transfers, which involves main memory. Any errors occuring in memory certainly can and often do result in corrupt data being written to the disk, or corrupting the MFT. Sounds to me like the next thing to do is run the diagnostics. If it passes without errors then return to stock cpu and memory settings and try it again.

  13. #28
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    everytime i run the diagnostics, assuming your refering to the little boot-floppy maxtor had me make, it freezes when it says detecting harddrive. Should I disconnect my other ide harddrives (include the one with windows) leaving the sata and then try and run the program?

  14. #29
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    Yes, you have WinXp listed in your profile but, do you have any service packs installed?

  15. #30
    Joined
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    33
    Posts
    327

    Re: NEED HELP with SATA drive

    Quote Originally Posted by BWM
    Did windoze already have SPI on installation, or did you slipstream it??
    sorry what do you mean by that?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •