Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    First off...
    I have a Asus A8N-SLI Premium, A64 3200+ Venice E3, 2x 512 Crucial Ballistix
    running on a Enermax 430W ATX 20pin PSU.
    The voltage readings seems normal... not dropping under load and within spec.
    The Crucial memory is running at spec: 200/400DDR 2-2-2-6 timings 2.8V.

    Now i have overclocked my CPU to 2500MHz/1.5V Prime stable.
    Memory is underclocked with 1/2 divider (125/250DDR)
    HT is 2x (just to be sure)
    HTT is 250

    Now... the problem:
    If i reduce CPU to 2400MHz/1.5V with a HTT bus of 240 and set a mem divider of 5/6 (333) my memory should run at spec 200/400DDR wich is what i want (memory at spec CPU overclocked)

    This becomes unstable?? Prime crashes almost emidiately. And PC often failes to boot.

    Why?
    My puter is rock stable with memory at this stock speed when my CPU is running at stock, so why not now?

    Am i correct when i suspect my PSU to be the problem?
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    I don't know if your psu is affecting your oc, but looking at your sig, you've got 4hdds, 2 burners, you're running an sli board (albeit only one video card), and you're using a 20 pin psu 430 watt psu? Maybe you can run all that just fine with a 20 pin 430 watt psu, but that just seems pretty marginal to me. Maybe others would disagree.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Only 3 HDD's are on... the last one is in a caddy i turn off except for when backing up... but yes... i think you are correct... If i take my OC step by step.. it seems to get unstable between 2300 and 2400 on the CPU if i dont hold the RAM low... guess i'll have to trie with more power
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

  4. #4
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    I'm not absolutely sure it's the psu that is limiting your oc. If you're able to oc it successfully until between 2300 and 2400, that's not all that bad, with your oc between 15% - 20%. Perhaps you're simply reaching the limits of the chip. There's no guarantee these things will oc to what others report. If my memory serves me rightl, the Asus boards are not known as great overclocking boards. My soltek 939 has a real mixed reputation re. overclocking, and when I had a venice 3200 E3, I was unable to get beyond 2300 stable.

    As for your psu, I was struck more by the fact that you've got an sli board, I'm assuming it has a 24 pin power connector on it, but I may be wrong. So with all that you've got connected, oc or no oc, I was wondering if there were problems.

    Good luck.

    marty
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  5. #5
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Yes it is a 24pin ATX connector on the mobo... but i was told if my PSU were powerful enough... i could use it even though it only have a 20pin cable on it.

    I am able to get a perfectly stable overclock of my chip to 2500 at least... havent tried higher. But i need to hold my RAM down.

    So again... it's stable at 2500MHz... why then... isnt it stable when i put the CPU down to 2400MHz and at the same time set my RAM at 5/6 divider (240HTT) wich results in 200/400DDR wich is what the RAM runs on at spec??

    I'm running my puter now at spec... CPU 2.0GHz and RAM at 200/400DDR 2-2-2-6 T1 2.8V.
    No problem.
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Visit Athens...
    Posts
    529

    I have also Enermax 20pin 465 Watts

    and my mainboard is ASUS A8N-E v2.0 and voltages using multimeter are rock stable.
    San Diego 3700+, 10*300 MHz two hard disks, DVDROM,DVDRW and many fans...
    So I don't think that your PSU is the problem but if you can measure the rails it is better.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Goddamnit. Giving up this pos.

    Borrowed a Enermax 520W 24pin PSU from a buddy... its a little more stable... but won't prime more than 5min.
    Also... it freezes up now. Hooraaaayyy....
    Tried to up the Vcore, Chipset voltage and HT voltage... but no luck.

    Gonna crye myself to sleep tonight

    Edit:
    Ok i'm a bit calmer now.
    So the PSU is not the problem... and if i tune down the RAM.. things go stable.

    Doesn't it like my beloved Crucial Ballistix sticks then?
    Last edited by Buzz76; 02-27-2006 at 03:10 PM.
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Doh!
    Tried again... but this time i run the RAM at 1:1 240MHz... with 3-3-3-8 timings and its ok
    Must be some stupid divider bug thingy then or what?
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

  9. #9
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,125

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    divider do not always work as they should ...
    sometime to run the mem at stock speed on a divider you will have to set the timming slower ...

    it depend on if the board and the mem like to work with each other ...
    I had a set of value ram that didnt wanted to boot at all with the "150" divider no matter what the fsb was like but 166 and 100 were ok ...

    when it comes to overclocking with a nf4 chiset good ram is often a limiting factor ... no wonder why the price range on ram is so big !!!

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    35
    Posts
    15,847

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    could be that the board just doesn't mesh well with that ram at spd timings. sometimes you just need to loosen the timings a bit and things will go stable for you. it sucks but i've seen a lot of people have this problem with all sorts of different ram and many different motherboards.

    from your latest posts it seems this was probably the problem.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4ghz (44 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 x 16GB
    2 x XFX R9 280x + 3 x Asus VS24AH-P 24" IPS 1920x1200
    Samsung 840 Evo 250GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black




    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Try switching your timings back just upping CAS to 2.5, or 3 and see if it is still stable, if not loosen them all then try. Have you tried running memtest...maybe its your RAM.

    If you check my sig I also have a 3200 E3, running 1:1, 2.5ghz at DDR 500 and its only an Nforce 3 board..so it is possible, unless you got a crappy chip then that sucks. I dont recall hearing crucial ballistix being problamatic, but not sure. I researched for a solid week before I decided to pick up the OCZ and it was a good choice.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Age
    63
    Posts
    337

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    I saw this on OCForums a while back it may have some relevance. It's from the first post in the stickied thread they have on the A8N SLI:

    "Venice Handicaps The A8N-SLI Deluxe:
    I've had a couple of hours to play around with the Venice 3200+ CPU in an A8N-SLI Deluxe and it appears that all memory dividers when used kill memory stability and severly handicap your memorys clock speeds. Testing with OCZ Premier PC3200 which can easily do 450MHz,,, the memory begins to lock up at around 366MHz and loosening timings or using 2T does nothing for getting the memory to clock higher. As soon as I switched back from 6/4 divider to 1:1, the system would even boot at 10 X 240 (2.40GHz) with memory running at 480MHz CL2.5 3-3-5-1T. This is a terrible limitation which currently is limiting overclocking on the Venice CPU platforms"
    Gigabyte DS3, E4300, 7900GS, 2x1GB OCZ pc6400, Antec 650 Trio, 3GHZ
    Asus A8N-E, Opteron 165, x800Pro, XP90 2.85 ghz
    Gigiabyte K8N51PVMT Micro, NV6600
    Abit Nf7s v2.0 M2600+, Biostar M7NCD pro M2400+, Shuttle AN35 M2200+

  13. #13
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by rbwilton
    I saw this on OCForums a while back it may have some relevance. It's from the first post in the stickied thread they have on the A8N SLI:

    "Venice Handicaps The A8N-SLI Deluxe:
    I've had a couple of hours to play around with the Venice 3200+ CPU in an A8N-SLI Deluxe and it appears that all memory dividers when used kill memory stability and severly handicap your memorys clock speeds. Testing with OCZ Premier PC3200 which can easily do 450MHz,,, the memory begins to lock up at around 366MHz and loosening timings or using 2T does nothing for getting the memory to clock higher. As soon as I switched back from 6/4 divider to 1:1, the system would even boot at 10 X 240 (2.40GHz) with memory running at 480MHz CL2.5 3-3-5-1T. This is a terrible limitation which currently is limiting overclocking on the Venice CPU platforms"
    Wow... great!
    Same problem as me... although i'm quite sure i had the same problem with the Newcastle core aswell.
    Got a bit fed up with it all.. so i haven't tried with my SanDiego wich replaced the 3200+ Venice... but i sure will... just to have it tested.
    Myself thinks its a limitation with the mobo and dividers....

    Thanx for the reply!
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

  14. #14
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Age
    63
    Posts
    337

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Maybe if you read up on some of the forums there may be a better bios revision that would be more stable. Here's the thread I was referring to on OCForums. At least on the deluxe board some of the bioses became unstable with certain memory timings.

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=364790
    Gigabyte DS3, E4300, 7900GS, 2x1GB OCZ pc6400, Antec 650 Trio, 3GHZ
    Asus A8N-E, Opteron 165, x800Pro, XP90 2.85 ghz
    Gigiabyte K8N51PVMT Micro, NV6600
    Abit Nf7s v2.0 M2600+, Biostar M7NCD pro M2400+, Shuttle AN35 M2200+

  15. #15
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    558

    Re: Whats wrong with my OC?? PSU problem?

    Thanx Will read through it.
    I tried 3 different BIOS'es myself. Same problem. Asus has come out with another beta now... havent tried that one.
    cpu: Opteron 185 @ 2.6GHz
    mobo: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    ram: Corsair TwinX2048-XMS3200C2
    video: Radeon X1900XT 512MB
    hdd 1: WD Raptor 74GB/16MB SATA
    hdd 2: WD Raptor 74GB SATA
    burner: NEC 4571
    dvd/cd-rom: Plextor PX-116A
    tower: Chieftech BH-02
    psu: Tagan Easycon 530W
    system:Vista Ultimate, Cat 7.6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •