Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Flash

  1. #16
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Flash

    Does anybody know where I can get even flash player 7? Adobe seems to have broken the download site...... I've rebuilt since I got an amd64 and waited a few weeks now. Its just sort of annoying not being able to go to a bunch of sites.
    Last edited by DustSmoke; 05-04-2006 at 01:16 AM.
    http://dustsmoke.com/images/dustsmoke_logo.gif

  2. #17
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104

    Re: Flash

    Just tried, it is working fine here.

    http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/downl...ShockwaveFlash

    Edit: OK, yeah, I see it is giving that "Cannot be found" error. After clicking a few times it went through.
    Last edited by Senor Panadero; 05-04-2006 at 01:38 AM.

  3. #18
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Flash

    Wait, I think I see whats happening.... Adobe set the CNAME up badly so all of the servers I'm resolving through aren't getting it. (cox) There doesn't seem to be anything glueing fpdownload.macromedia.com to the real hostname under adobe's domain which is causing timeouts from extra lookups.

    I guess you could say its cox for dropping the requests due to the lookups... But I have literally never seen this happen to anything else.

    Code:
    An error occurred while loading http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/flashplayer/current/install_flash_player_7_linux.tar.gz:
    Unknown host fpdownload.macromedia.com
    http://dustsmoke.com/images/dustsmoke_logo.gif

  4. #19
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104

  5. #20
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Flash

    Thanks, but it doesn't look like it will do me any good.... x86_64 isn't supported. Guess I'll try and get that open source version working or something like that.
    Last edited by DustSmoke; 05-04-2006 at 01:51 AM.
    http://dustsmoke.com/images/dustsmoke_logo.gif

  6. #21
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104

    Re: Flash

    If your distribution has 32 bit libraries included, the way I think we've all been doing it is to just install a 32 bit firefox or other browser You can then install flash to that mozilla directory.

  7. #22
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Flash

    Hmmm, I guess I can try installing firefox from the 32 bit repo of debian sid.... I didn't know you could just do that and have it work.

    Or maybe I just don't care and all flash sites can go to hell.... ()
    http://dustsmoke.com/images/dustsmoke_logo.gif

  8. #23
    Joined
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21,104

    Re: Flash

    Quote Originally Posted by DustSmoke
    Hmmm, I guess I can try installing firefox from the 32 bit repo of debian sid.... I didn't know you could just do that and have it work.

    Or maybe I just don't care and all flash sites can go to hell.... ()
    Debian? Not sure but I don't think that will work unless you install the 32 bit libaries and stuff. Try downloading and installing the version from the firefox download site, see if that will work. It has worked for me in Mandriva, but it came with 32 bit libraries by default. I don't know if Debian does.

    I had the same problem in 64 bit Ubuntu, couldn't even install the downloaded 32 bit firefox. In order to get a fully working browser, along with mplayer plugin (wmv movies etc) had to do a 32 bit chroot to run it in. All works, but knd of a Pita,

    Edit: Haven't read this, but it just popped up in Google. probably is what I am referring to in Ubuntu: http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/356

    Edit 2: Yes, that is exactly what I did. ^^ Works very well. All the plugins work with no problem. I installed the 32 bit package manager and just update from there as well as from the 64 bit side.
    Last edited by Senor Panadero; 05-04-2006 at 02:25 AM.

  9. #24
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2,034

    Re: Flash

    ok, thanks for your responses. I'll see what I can figure out. I've been away from the 'normal' linux desktop for some time now so I need to do a little reading up on stuff.
    Last edited by DustSmoke; 05-04-2006 at 03:08 AM.
    http://dustsmoke.com/images/dustsmoke_logo.gif

  10. #25
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: Flash

    As I'm running an internal DNS server the issue with the cname is a lame server delegation, seems someone didn't delegate the records correctly.

  11. #26
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: Flash

    Remove the "fp" from the download URL for flash and it will work. I don't know how they have not fixed this by now...
    ./

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •