Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    217

    Is This A Problem?

    NorthBridge Information :
    Architecture : HUB
    Manufacturer : AMD
    Revision : 00
    HTT Frequency : 208 MHz
    Memory Frequency (max.) : 200 MHz

    Copy and Pasted from PC Wizard 2006. This is the first time I have ever OC'ed and CPU, and decided to do it with MSI's CoreCenter, instead of straight in the BIOS to avoid having to reboot a bunch of times, whats the difference between Memory Frequency and HTT/FSB Frequency?

    EDIT: PC: MSI K8N Neo2, AMD64 4000+ (2.5)

  2. #2
    Joined
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Vvardenfell
    Age
    58
    Posts
    10,923

    Re: Is This A Problem?

    The "Memory Frequency (max)" I would guess actually refers to the official rated speed of the RAM, not the speed it is actually running at, because otherwise those figures wouldn't appear together.

    HTT and RAM speed run at a ratio. Assuming your RAM is capable of 200MHz, then the BIOS should have set that ratio to 1:1 at boot - sometimes also called 100%. You can set the RAM lower than the HTT, but not usually higher except using third-party BIOSes. In BIOS you will be able to set the RAM speed down: 90%, or 7:8 or whatever, depending on the board. The good news is that A64 performance is largely independant of RAM speed (within reason) so dropping the RAM divider/ratio won't affect performance.


    M

  3. #3
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Is This A Problem?

    I suggest you download CPU-Z and ClockGen. CPU-Z will show you your CPU speed, HTT speed, memory speed, timings and divider and a lot more. ClockGen is a nice small tool you can use to change the HTT speed in windows.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Visit Athens...
    Posts
    529

    I agree

    Abducted both of them shows these info.
    Some other monitoring programs are here the links.
    Last edited by MrSeanKon; 04-10-2006 at 06:09 AM.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    217

    Re: Is This A Problem?

    Yea i have clockgen and CPUz, alright thanks a lot guys.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: I agree

    Quote Originally Posted by MrSeanKon
    Abducted both of them shows these info.
    Some other monitoring programs are here the links.
    Doesn't ClockGen just show u the CPU, HTT and memory speed? As far as i know it doesn't show timings, divider, Vcore...
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    217

    Re: I agree

    Quote Originally Posted by Abducted
    Doesn't ClockGen just show u the CPU, HTT and memory speed? As far as i know it doesn't show timings, divider, Vcore...
    Yea Your right it doesn't but cpu-z does

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •