Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 52
  1. #16
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,072

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    How much does DDR2 cost anyway, compared to similar quality ddr 400?

    My 754 AGP board is aging fast, and I've been holding out for am2 for eons (or so it seems). Now if I'm going to pay more for a 940 CPU and ddr2 memory for no performance gain, might as well get a 939 setup.

  2. #17
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    E n g l a n d
    Posts
    10,978

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_raider
    How much does DDR2 cost anyway, compared to similar quality ddr 400?
    There's not much in it, but it's still another thing to factor in.

    Anand used DDR-2 800 memory in his preview, which is rarer & more expensive than the more usual DDR 2 400, 533 and 667 stuff.

    AM2 chips were originally supposed to support up to DDR-2 667Mhz memory. They then delayed the launch at the last minute to add support up to 800Mhz. Presumably this was because the performance was so lame otherwise that it was lower than their Socket 939 equivalents.

  3. #18
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  4. #19
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    I think we can all agree memory bandwidth isn't a problem for AMD even with the current DDR systems. If they really need this step to supply enough bandwidth for future faster system. (which would have to be dualcore 4Ghz or something if u ask me) Why not just officially supprt DDR500? It's widely available, we know the memory controller has no problem with DDR500, they probably just need to tweak it a little to make it work with DDR500 when using a 200Mhz HTT. This wouldn't mean people will have to buy DDR500, but AMD could recommend it with the future faster CPUs, like u can recommend getting low latency DDR400 memory now for extra performance.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  5. #20
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,271

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    AM2 and DDR 2 is probably used for transition. We will see processors with more than 2 cores at a certain moment. The more cores, the more memory bandwidth needed. When I feel the need for upgrade and the conroe is every bit as good as it's cracked up to be I'd probably be tempted
    Whisper Performance setup:
    Asus Maximus Formula (X38)
    Asus Geforce EN8800GT
    Intel Q6600 3720 Mhz 1.45v.
    2x 74Gb WD Raptors RAID-0
    WinXP Pro SP2
    Eheim 1048 // Apogee GT // Black Ice GT Stealth 240 XFlow
    TT Mozart Tx

  6. #21
    Joined
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Indpls. IN.
    Posts
    7,896

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Right Now IMO It would be foolish to get a M2 , if we all think back when the 939s were 1st released how there were minor problems and revisions on the cores a wise man would wait until the cpus have been out a while
    I know I was all caught up in all the hoopla when the 939s came out ,.. lets see we had the new casltle core , the winchester , core , 2 vennice cores , and the clawhammer , I would just wait till all the dust settles and see what happens and in the meantime just enjoy the 939s
    "The Lord Is My Shepherd, I Shall Not Want"
    PS:23

  7. #22
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Quote Originally Posted by thelmores
    you heard that rumor too?
    I heard that also, Ill see If I can find the article where the AMD engineer stated it was possible they might support DDR3 out of the box.

  8. #23
    Joined
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    457

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Quote Originally Posted by gitrman
    I heard the AM2 socket will support quad-core processors...something socket 939 and DDR1 hasn't the bandwidth to work with.

    I dont think AMD is going to be putting 4 cores on a 90nm chip. They have already stated though that sometime in 2007 when 65nm chips are out quad cores are deffinatly gonna be around.

    You guys also have to remember that the Conroe is 65nm, the AM2 is still 90nm process.

    Another thing.

    While Intel has 65nm now, they are working on 45nm.
    AMD on the other hand are still working on their 65nm, but also working on 32nm...so in a few years there is gonna be something to see.

  9. #24
    Joined
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    1,481

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Quote Originally Posted by Pilfer69
    I dont think AMD is going to be putting 4 cores on a 90nm chip. They have already stated though that sometime in 2007 when 65nm chips are out quad cores are deffinatly gonna be around.
    there are already rumours of multi-socket AM2 boards so they can get 4 cores straight away by having 2x dual-cores ...
    abit AB9 QuadGT/E6600 , abit IP35 Pro/E6600, Asus P5N-E SLI/E6600
    abit AX78/5000+ Black


    RGone Certified!
    (he should be )

  10. #25
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    SNP (Scottish National Party)
    Posts
    1,103

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    I rather aviod AM2 as Im waiting for multi-core that using new K8L that coming from 2007 with DDR-III and PCIe-II and die core will be 65nm and less than 65nm so I would saving some cash from now on until the multi-core is release --Im much happy with mine K8NXP-9 with FX-55... it still great. find out when AM2 is release and read review if it good or not -if you want buy one then you will cough up big bill by get motherboard, RAM, processor and heatsink so do you need to get one or wait for multi-core processor?? remember 12 months is not too long as it much quicker than we thought...

  11. #26
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    17

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    the move to the AM2 socket wasnt with performance in mind (well...not as much as we would like). it was more for having a unified socket for its processors, both high and low end, and bringing DDR2. dont know why everyone expects this change to bring performance benefits to beat intel's conroe. remember....Intel had to redo its architecture and use the 65nm process to bring about that increase in performance (there are p4s on the 65nm process that bring about little performance gains over its 90nm counterparts). AMD is still using 90nm process and its K8 architecture (which is a couple years old now).
    AMD Opteron 144 (2.601GHz @ 1.48V)
    Abit K8N SLI (HTT = 280 MHz, Multi = 3x)
    OCZ PC3700EL 1GB Kit (236MHz @ 2.5-3-3-8-1T @ 2.9V)
    Asus Geforce 6800GT 256MB
    ThermalTake Slient Power 480W
    -----------------------------

  12. #27
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Quote Originally Posted by fyahstar
    the move to the AM2 socket wasnt with performance in mind (well...not as much as we would like). it was more for having a unified socket for its processors, both high and low end, and bringing DDR2. dont know why everyone expects this change to bring performance benefits to beat intel's conroe. remember....Intel had to redo its architecture and use the 65nm process to bring about that increase in performance (there are p4s on the 65nm process that bring about little performance gains over its 90nm counterparts). AMD is still using 90nm process and its K8 architecture (which is a couple years old now).
    Your comments underscore the question: who cares about a "unified socket" and "bringing DDR2? I don't, and I don't think most end-users do, either. AMD probably does, along with the mobo manufacturers. And so it probably is that necessary step in the evolutionary process like you said. As for end-users, the people likely most interested in AM2 initially will be those purchasing retail boxes, those building a system from complete scratch, and those doing a total upgrade from a much earlier system. It will not be for those of us who now own a64 systems that are working well and who don't want to spend a lot of money upgrading a cpu + mobo + memory + cooling solution all at once . . . for little if any performance gain!
    Last edited by alex666; 04-14-2006 at 03:36 PM.
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

  13. #28
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Quote Originally Posted by Heidfirst
    there are already rumours of multi-socket AM2 boards so they can get 4 cores straight away by having 2x dual-cores ...
    that could not be done with current chipsets, as AM2 only supports one hypertransport link. Opterons have up to 3 for chip-chip connections, but A64s do not.

    now, if a chipset were introduced with 2 hypertransport links this could be done (just a chip to chip connection would be 2 hops, which isn't much on hypertransport). I know the chipset makers would love to make a chipset that supports this. margins are tight, and the potential to produce a truly premium chipset will interest all of them.

    right now, the sli x16 is the premium, but it doesn't offer much. a chipset that supported dual cpus would definitely command a higher price.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  14. #29
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,976

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    This is not a chipsets matter, and no, even with a two-HT chipset you can't make two Athlon-64 work together. The point here is cache coherence.

    The CPUs need to have HT links with cache coherency support (and at least one more for I/O connection toward the chipset), else you can't make a dual-CPU board. Only Opteron 2xx and 8xx processors have that. 2xx have one CHT and two normal HT, 8xx have two CHT and one normal HT.

  15. #30
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Northern UT
    Age
    68
    Posts
    4,506

    Re: AM2 not looking so hot

    Check out this link from anandtech re. AM2 performance, their fourth in a series. Their results again suggest that the initial round of AM2 performance will be pretty similar to current 939.

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2741
    Gigabyte P55A-UD4P, Core i7-860 Lynnfield at 3.6GHz, ZALMAN CNPS10X QUIET 120mmCPU HSF, CORSAIR Vengeance (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1640, PowerColor HD5870, Earthworks 650W PSU, Samsung 840 EVO 120g SSD (W10 Pro 64-bit), 320G Blue Caviar storage, LiteOn DVD burner, Antec 902 case [B]
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3, i5 2500K OCed at 4.5GHz, CM 212 Hyper Plus, G. Skill Ripjaws 4G X 2 2133 Ram, Samsung 840 EVO 250G, 3Tb Seagate HDD, unknown DVD drive, XFX Double D Radeon HD 7870, PC Power and Cooling 610 Silencer, Fractal Define R4 Case, LG 27" AOC IPS monitor, Win 10 Home 64-bit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •