Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Opteron's

  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    32
    Posts
    389

    Opteron's

    Im looking to build a new system this summer. so far ive got it pretty well planned out. My question is about opterons. They make:

    144 Venus/Single Core@1.8Ghz: $170
    146 Venus/Single Core@2.0Ghz: $210
    148 Venus/Single Core@2.2Ghz: $259
    154 Venus/Single Core@2.8Ghz: $892
    165 Denmark/Dual Core@1.8Ghz $327
    170 Denmark/Dual Core@2.0Ghz $400
    175 Denmark/Dual Core@2.2Ghz $506
    180 Denmark/Dual Core@2.4Ghz $712

    Which is better for overall value. I was looking at a FX-57, but decided to continue my overclocking adventures. I will be using an ABIT AN8 32X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI X16 motherboard and can only afford to stick to air cooling. I will be using the PC for gaming, and multimedia/internet, and some dvd burning. What is the most practical solution here? Should I go Single or Dual Core? Do both cores run at the advertised speed or is that both cores added together?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Opteron's

    Best bang for buck is the Opteron 144/146 and the 165. Just because they are the cheapest. They'll probably all overclock to about the same. The only problem with the Opteron 144 is that the core is probably able to do 3.0Ghz or even more, but the multiplier is limited to 9x max. So you need a mainboard that can handle a stable high HTT. So in that case the 146 with a 10x max multiplier might be a better option.

    The Opteron 165 run at 1.8Ghz meaning that each core will run at 1.8Ghz. Since the dualcores dont overclock as high as the singlecores the 9x max multiplier of the 165 should be enough to max out the CPU.

    There is some discussion about how good a dualcore is for gaming. In a lot of games it adds very little performance even with the 'dualcore optimized' drivers. But it's been said that the newer games will be optimized for dualcores more and more. But there is only so much you can optimized for dualcores in a game. So i'm still not convinced that dualcore is a better choice for a gamer. I mean what will be faster for the new games, a dualcore at 2.7Ghz or a singlecore at 3.0Ghz? But a dualcore will make your computer and windows much snappier and some applications really get much much faster.
    Last edited by Abducted; 04-15-2006 at 09:14 PM.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  3. #3
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    32
    Posts
    389

    Re: Opteron's

    I understood all of that except the bit about HTT's. I only have experience overclocking an amd athlon xp 2000, and 2400. and i have only recently been seeing HTT on the web. I would appriciate it if you could explain HTT's to me. I know it has something to do with the system clock yes?

  4. #4
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    820

    Re: Opteron's

    Quote Originally Posted by Abducted
    Best bang for buck is the Opteron 144/146 and the 165. Just because they are the cheapest. They'll probably all overclock to about the same. The only problem with the Opteron 144 is that the core is probably able to do 3.0Ghz or even more, but the multiplier is limited to 9x max. So you need a mainboard that can handle a stable high HTT. So in that case the 146 with a 10x max multiplier might be a better option.

    The Opteron 165 run at 1.8Ghz meaning that each core will run at 1.8Ghz. Since the dualcores dont overclock as high as the singlecores the 9x max multiplier of the 165 should be enough to max out the CPU.

    There is some discussion about how good a dualcore is for gaming. In a lot of games it adds very little performance even with the 'dualcore optimized' drivers. But it's been said that the newer games will be optimized for dualcores more and more. But there is only so much you can optimized for dualcores in a game. So i'm still not convinced that dualcore is a better choice for a gamer. I mean what will be faster for the new games, a dualcore at 2.7Ghz or a singlecore at 3.0Ghz? But a dualcore will make your computer and windows much snappier and some applications really get much much faster.
    I agree with abducted, depends on your motherboard.

    I'd say a 146 with the 10X multi might be your best bet, the ATI chipset has been pretty good lately.

    My Sapphire has no problem with 300 HTT, OTOH the new 580 seems to be better.

    Crap shoot as far as the CPU goes.
    AMD 8320
    Gigabyte GA990FXUD3
    2X8 GSkill Ripjaw X series
    Sapphire 7770
    Samsung 830 256GB SSD
    WD Black 1TB
    Seasonic X750 Gold

  5. #5
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    820

    Re: Opteron's

    Quote Originally Posted by cherryelky305
    I understood all of that except the bit about HTT's. I only have experience overclocking an amd athlon xp 2000, and 2400. and i have only recently been seeing HTT on the web. I would appriciate it if you could explain HTT's to me. I know it has something to do with the system clock yes?
    Explaine?

    On die memory controller?

    Dividers do not hurt you like XP days, your rig will fly.

    AMD 8320
    Gigabyte GA990FXUD3
    2X8 GSkill Ripjaw X series
    Sapphire 7770
    Samsung 830 256GB SSD
    WD Black 1TB
    Seasonic X750 Gold

  6. #6
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Opteron's

    The new AMD architecture doesn't use a FSB anymore. What sets the CPU clockspeed now is the multiplier times the HTT (or HT) speed. It can be a bit confusing since some people call it HTT some call it HT and some still call it FSB.

    The S939 CPUs work with a 1000Mhz HyperTransportTechnology bus (This is where HTT comes from, but doesn't direclty have influence on the CPU speed). This is what connects the CPU to the rest of the system (IDE, SATA, PCI, PCI-E, etc). With a stock speed CPU this HTT is calculated by a HT(T) of 200Mhz times the LDT multiplier of 5x. That 200Mhz HT(T) sets the CPU clockspeed. For instance an Opteron 146 runs at 2.0Ghz so it uses a 10x multiplier.

    Where you would increase the FSB with previous systems now u increase the HT(T) to overclock the CPU. When u do you will have to lower the LDT multiplier because the HTT speed should stay at or under 1000Mhz. Most nForce4 Ultra systems have no problem running a HT(T) of 300Mhz or higher. (making it possible to run an Opteron 146 at 10x300Mhz=3.0Ghz and higher)
    But i'm just not sure what the nForce4 x16 can do. I would expect it wont have any problems with 300Mhz HT(T) too, but that's just based on what the nF4 Ultra and SLI can do.

    While with previous systems when u increased the FSB very high you had to make sure you had memory that could handle it to be able to keep it running in sync and get the most out of the high FSB, that isn't the case with the new AMD architecture. Of course the faster the memory runs the faster the system will be, but the difference is quite small. So you can just get some simple DDR400 memory, run the HT at 300Mhz but still have the memory run at +/- DDR400 speeds with the use of a memory divider without loosing too much performance.
    Last edited by Abducted; 04-15-2006 at 11:51 PM.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  7. #7
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    32
    Posts
    389

    Smile Re: Opteron's

    Many thanks for the info i understand it all now! :-) Thanks so much now i can make a better choice when it comes to spending $1500 or more on a new system

  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    820

    Re: Opteron's

    Quote Originally Posted by cherryelky305
    Many thanks for the info i understand it all now! :-) Thanks so much now i can make a better choice when it comes to spending $1500 or more on a new system
    $1500?

    That's some major bucks on a rig..........is the bulk spent on video cards???

    AMD 8320
    Gigabyte GA990FXUD3
    2X8 GSkill Ripjaw X series
    Sapphire 7770
    Samsung 830 256GB SSD
    WD Black 1TB
    Seasonic X750 Gold

  9. #9
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    32
    Posts
    389

    Re: Opteron's

    well thats the high end that im willing to commit to. Four years ago i spent 2300 on an alienware that has served me well for the past years and my parents want a new computer so i thought i would trade down my parts that i have now and keep my alienware case and swap in all new hardware, and me and my parents can split the cost. my current calculations are a low end of 1100 so far. but thats with one video card. You can check out my othe post in this forum "torn between two setups" those are my configurations im considering.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    32
    Posts
    389

    Re: Opteron's

    I'm having some trouble finding a place to get a good opteron 165. I've started to look at steppings now and I see that most current offers are E6 steppings. How does that relate to the CCBWE 0551UPMW steppings. do i have two different things confused here? and my PC(athlon xp 2400oc@2.22 stock vcore) is running a little warm i think. Just idle it sits at 43c. I know thats not dangerous but it used to be at 35c. Probably has to do with the seasons. Its 71f outside and i think thats why its warmer.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Opteron's

    E6 is the core revision and not the stepping and they are all E6, so that's no issue.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

  12. #12
    Joined
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    32
    Posts
    389

    Re: Opteron's

    Ive seen the 146 can get up to 3.4ghz. Is that a realistic number for someone using air cooling? I'm thinking of getting a 144, how high do the optys go on aircooling?

  13. #13
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    4,169

    Re: Opteron's

    3.4Ghz isn't even realistic with watercooling. That must have been with phase change cooling or something. On average a singlecore Opteron should be able to do about 2.8Ghz at stock Vcore and 2.9-3.0Ghz with a little extra volt. If you get an Opteron 144 that can do 3.0Ghz that does mean your mainboard must be able to run at a HT of 333Mhz. Check out the ABIT or ASUS section and see if people with the nF4 x16 chipset can normally run at those speeds.
    Overclocking system:
    ASUS Rampage Formula (BIOS 0403)
    Xeon x3350 SLAX2 @ 8x475=3.8Ghz 1.29Vcore
    Dual Radiator (modded) Koolance EXOS with Zalman WB5 CPU block
    2 x 2GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 @ 950Mhz 5-5-5-18 1.8v
    Enermax NoiseTaker 600W
    ASUS GeForce 8800GTX @ 645/1645/1000

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •