View Poll Results: Which of 3 Distros to use and why?

Voters
13. You may not vote on this poll
  • Fedora 4

2 15.38%
  • Fedora 5

5 38.46%
  • CentOS 4.3

6 46.15%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Fedora Vs. CentOS

Having a choice of CentOS 4.3 or Fedora 4 or 5, which would you pick, I could also go SuSE but tried it, and didn't really care for it, too much "windows" like.

Re: Fedora Vs. CentOS

I voted for FC4 as I'm familiar with it, it installs flawlessly on my equipment, FC5 to me is a no-no as it's too new and cutting edge (read buggy), CentOS I have no experience with.

Was running FC3 was time to move on to something new.
    Tried FC5 it was very unstable for me, then went with Centos.

Very similar look and feel as FC3. Very stable!!
    Last edited by themortarman; 05-11-2006 at 04:50 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by themortarman
    Was running FC3 was time to move on to something new.
    Tried FC5 it was very unstable for me, then went with Centos.

Very similar look and feel of FC3. Very stable!!
    GREAT input, just what I was looking for, have FC3 running on my "test box" behind me here at work, so if it's like that, and I get more votes for CentOS, I'll go that route.

Quote Originally Posted by Jackal
    GREAT input, just what I was looking for, have FC3 running on my "test box" behind me here at work, so if it's like that, and I get more votes for CentOS, I'll go that route.
    Well, I voted for CentOS (literally), as I'm running it on all my boxes at present.

I've run everything from RH 7.x up to Fedora 4 (excluding RH 8). For the most part, I've found them all reasonably stable. There have been bugs in Fedora, but then there were in the old RH line, and you'd expect them anyway as RH make no qualms about fedora being cutting edge and a huge public beta testing ground for new developments.