Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Linux

New to Linux

I am new to linux. I want to try another operating system that is FREE. Can someone give me info on a linux OS that would be alright for someone like me who mainly uses my computer for surfing the web. Can anyone give me a download link.
    Abit IP35
    Core2 Duo E6850 9x412 - 3.71 GHz
    Freezer7 Pro
    2x1mb Balistics PC2-6400
    1Seagate 320GB - 1Maxtor 320GB Raid(0)
    1-EVGA 7600GT
    Antec 900
    Ultra Infinity 600W
    Samsung 730B
    Asus Sata DVD-ROM
    Samsung sata dvd-rw
    hercules game theater xp
    Logitech Z560 Surround

Re: New to Linux

For a first time linux user I would go with Simply MEPIS 3.4-3 but having said that Simply MEPIS 6.0 beta 5 is working fine for me. Take your pick: http://www.mepis.org/node/1462
    FRH
    If more sane people were armed the crazy ones would get off fewer shots.

Win 7 Premium SP1 / MX 15 KDE / MEPIS 11

Quote Originally Posted by Frenchie
    ... Can anyone give me a download link.
    Might take a look at the stickied posts above: * * * * All New Linux Forum Links * * * *->Linux Distro's->"Which distro should I use".

The links are there.

I definately recommend the Knoppix Live CD. It does a really good job. You can do the DVD if you want to see how much *stuff* they could cram into a live DVD operating system, but it *might* run slower. All you have to do is set your CD/DVD drive to boot from CDROM first in the BIOS boot order menu, and Knoppix runs in the memory.

I noticed the link was talking about Gentoo being for advanced, but I think Arch should also be mentioned in some way as being a bit more "difficult" than the average friendly distribution. It is by design, also.