Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,026

    What's "32Bit Data Transfer" setting?

    I saw this in the bios after installing the new Seagate hd I picked up Sat. (it was $70 I couldn't pass it up) .

    It has a setting there "32bit Data Transfer" should I enable or disable it? I'm using normal WinXP Pro.


    You eat beaver?
    May I ask where you live that beaver is eaten?
    Originally posted by POCI

  2. #2
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: What's "32Bit Data Transfer" setting?

    That should allways be enabled for fastest read and write speed.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    5,026

    Re: What's "32Bit Data Transfer" setting?

    Right on.

    Thank you.


    You eat beaver?
    May I ask where you live that beaver is eaten?
    Originally posted by POCI

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,554

    Re: What's "32Bit Data Transfer" setting?

    you're welcome.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cherry Point, NC
    Age
    47
    Posts
    137

    Re: What's "32Bit Data Transfer" setting?

    Hey BMW, I wanted to bring this up again if you don't mind. Do you think this would help SATA drives?
    Here is what Adrian's Rojak Pot says about 32bit data transfer:

    32-bit Disk Access

    Options : Enabled, Disabled

    32-bit Disk Access is a misnomer because it doesn't really allow 32-bit access to the hard disk. What it actually does is set the IDE controller to combine two 16-bit reads from the hard disk into a single 32-bit double word transfer to the processor. This makes more efficient use of the PCI bus as fewer transactions are needed for the transfer of a particular amount of data.

    However, according to a Microsoft article about Enhanced IDE operation under WinNT 4.0, 32-bit disk access can cause data corruption under WinNT in some cases. Microsoft recommends that WinNT 4.0 users disable 32-bit Disk Access.

    On the other hand, Lord Mike asked someone in the know and he was told that the data corruption issue was taken very seriously at Microsoft and that it had been corrected through Service Pack 2. Although he couldn't get an official statement from Microsoft, it's probably safe enough to enable IDE HDD Block Mode if you are running WinNT, just as long as you upgrade to Service Pack 2.

    If disabled, data transfers from the IDE controller to the processor will then occur only in 16-bits. This degrades performance, of course, so you should enable it if possible. Disable it only if you face the possibility of data corruption.

    You can also find more information on the WinNT issue above in our Speed Demonz' guide on IDE Block Mode!



    Sounds to me like it is only for IDE and could possibly give corruption?

    I have it set on disable now, but if I changed it to enable would I have to do a clean install (like if I changed from IDEmode to AHCI)?
    Thanks

    Thanks
    Last edited by AirJarhead; 03-13-2007 at 06:56 AM.
    AirJarHead

  6. #6
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago subs
    Posts
    1,447

    Re: What's "32Bit Data Transfer" setting?

    Quote Originally Posted by AirJarhead View Post
    I have is set on disable now, but if I changed it to enable would I have to do a clean install (like if I changed from IDEmode to AHCI)?
    Thanks

    Thanks
    No you wouldn't.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •