Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011
Results 151 to 160 of 160
  1. #151
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    myrtle beach,south carolina, U. S. of A.!
    Posts
    12,696

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quote Originally Posted by MJD1964 View Post
    I was going to do water on both of them but decided the cost for 200-300mhz is not worth it. If I can get to 3.4g with the zalman that would be nice...
    thats what i was thinking.....for the cost of a good sink, or WC..... not worth it for 2-300mhz.....

  2. #152
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis,In USA
    Age
    55
    Posts
    675

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Had to back down my overclock on the cube system. It was rebooting at random, while unused, wierd.... I played around with the voltage settings and had to feed it 1.67 vcore@3.6g to get it stable on water. Temps shot through the roof with Orthos 55c. So I backed it down to 389x9=3.5g@1.52v and my temps dropped to 45c Orthos, 37c seti.. I thought I had a bad block mount so I reapplied AS5 and the temps stayed the same. I really need to lap this core but I don't want to void the warrenty. I think I had the cpu just past it's limit. It's strange it needed .15 vcore more for 100mhz.

    I played Oblivion for 10hrs yesterday without a problem.

    Final settings
    389.9x9=3501mhz
    vcore 1.52
    vdimm 2.2 4-4-3-8@780mhz
    Mch 1.79v

    Last edited by MJD1964; 11-05-2006 at 12:57 PM.

  3. #153
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Yermo, CA, USA
    Age
    59
    Posts
    9,946

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quote Originally Posted by MJD1964 View Post
    Had to back down my overclock on the cube system. It was rebooting at random, while unused, wierd.... I played around with the voltage settings and had to feed it 1.67 vcore@3.6g to get it stable on water. Temps shot through the roof with Orthos 55c. So I backed it down to 389x9=3.5g@1.52v and my temps dropped to 45c Orthos, 37c seti.. I thought I had a bad block mount so I reapplied AS5 and the temps stayed the same. I really need to lap this core but I don't want to void the warrenty. I think I had the cpu just past it's limit. It's strange it needed .15 vcore more for 100mhz.

    I played Oblivion for 10hrs yesterday without a problem.

    Final settings
    389.9x9=3501mhz
    vcore 1.52
    vdimm 2.2 4-4-3-8@780mhz
    Mch 1.79v
    I hope Yur flight aboard Conroe "air" has been a good one.

  4. #154
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis,In USA
    Age
    55
    Posts
    675

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    I hope Yur flight aboard Conroe "air" has been a good one.
    It's been a great flight. I have never traveled this fast........

  5. #155
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Yermo, CA, USA
    Age
    59
    Posts
    9,946

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quote Originally Posted by MJD1964 View Post
    It's been a great flight. I have never traveled this fast........
    Yeah twin engine, Must do a loop in a 707(4 engine).

  6. #156
    Joined
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis,In USA
    Age
    55
    Posts
    675

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quad core would be great. Need to absorb the 3 E6600 expense before I get one though..

    Need to do a side job or two...

  7. #157
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    51
    Posts
    20,229

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quote Originally Posted by MJD1964 View Post
    I think I had the cpu just past it's limit. It's strange it needed .15 vcore more for 100mhz.
    These Conroe's remind me of the old Athlon XP-M's - they overclock real sweet on not much voltage until you hit the wall. After that all the voltage in the world yields little extra gains. I think one of the guys in the Gigabyte bar even has a E6300 (or 6400) up to 3.2GHz with a slight undervolt

  8. #158
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Yermo, CA, USA
    Age
    59
    Posts
    9,946

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quote Originally Posted by MJD1964 View Post
    Quad core would be great. Need to absorb the 3 E6600 expense before I get one though..

    Need to do a side job or two...
    That and Ya need to know where to get one at, So far one place mentions them(But as to bein in stock yet, forget It), But I only stumbled upon them by accident while doing a google search, Have not been able to replicate that since of course. But I did save the web address of course. Two of them from this place would cost Me $2,138.75 and that would be about $1,069.37 each to Me($1,059.95 before shipping).

    http://www.libi.com/epages/libi.stor...ct/View/94156D

    You'd need to do a search for QX6700 as a direct link doesn't work there.

  9. #159
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Location
    myrtle beach,south carolina, U. S. of A.!
    Posts
    12,696

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    i certainly wouldn't be disappointed with 3.5ghz....... it smokes AMD's butt!

    will be interesting the bechies of q6700 vs. 4x4....... i suspect kentsfield will win in gaming...... but in some apps, kentsfields shared memory bandwidth shows up.......

    so funny, AMD says it will have the first "true" quad core! guess it depends on what the definition of is, is!

  10. #160
    Joined
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Yermo, CA, USA
    Age
    59
    Posts
    9,946

    Re: A8n32-SLi Dlx $hit the bed...

    Quote Originally Posted by thelmores View Post
    i certainly wouldn't be disappointed with 3.5ghz....... it smokes AMD's butt!

    will be interesting the bechies of q6700 vs. 4x4....... i suspect kentsfield will win in gaming...... but in some apps, kentsfields shared memory bandwidth shows up.......

    so funny, AMD says it will have the first "true" quad core! guess it depends on what the definition of is, is!
    Heck If I wanted a 4x4 I wouldn't have a 2006 Mustang GT.

    At least the QX6700 is not a Netburst cpu, It should do rather well in seti the way I'm setup now I should be able to do about 8,500 creds a day or so and that's just with what I have now, 2 more should bring Me near 19,163 or so. vroom, vroom.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •