Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    35
    Posts
    3,062

    POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    I installed CentOS as a bare install with no GUI. I was just told that the users need to have a GUI for whatever reason and I was wondering how I can install Gnome and all the dependancies for X Windows via YUM? I am sure I can just reinstall the OS but I would like to know how to get this installed using YUM.

    Thanks for any info!

    Code:
    [root@tunafish ~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    CentOS release 4.4 (Final)
    ./

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    Probably the easiest way is to use yum groupinstall which will install all packages in that group plus any dependencies. The syntax is:

    Code:
    yum groupinstall "groupname"
    The group name must be in quotes, and yum grouplist will list all available groups:

    Code:
    # yum grouplist
    Setting up Group Process
    Setting up repositories
    update                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
    base                      100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
    addons                    100% |=========================|  951 B    00:00
    extras                    100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00
    yumgroups.xml             100% |=========================| 557 kB    00:01
    yumgroups.xml             100% |=========================| 4.6 kB    00:00
    Installed Groups:
       Administration Tools
       Authoring and Publishing
       Compatibility Arch Support
       DNS Name Server
       Editors
       Engineering and Scientific
       FTP Server
       GNOME Desktop Environment
       GNOME Software Development
       Games and Entertainment
       Graphical Internet
       Graphics
       KDE (K Desktop Environment)
       KDE Software Development
       Legacy Network Server
       Mail Server
       MySQL Database
       Network Servers
       News Server
       Office/Productivity
       PostgreSQL Database
       Printing Support
       Server Configuration Tools
       Sound and Video
       System Tools
       Text-based Internet
       Web Server
       Windows File Server
       X Software Development
       X Window System
    Available Groups:
       AptRPM
       Compatibility Arch Development Support
       Development Tools
       Horde-Apps
       Legacy Software Development
       XFCE-4.2
       drbd-heartbeat
    Done
    [root@Jessie ~]#
    So, depending whether you want gnome or kde, do:

    Code:
    yum groupinstall "X Window System" "GNOME Desktop Environment"
    or

    Code:
    yum groupinstall "X Window System" "KDE (K Desktop Environment)"
    Hope that helps

    Ned

    EDIT: there's actually a very nice howto on yum here:
    http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=25880
    Last edited by Ned Slider; 10-24-2006 at 12:46 PM.

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    35
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    Thanks - I had to build a LAMP server on CentOS for a software guy in the office and we was upset that I did not install a GUI.

    Everything looks like it's installing fine. If I want to still have the server default to CLI, I would set init to runlevel 3, correct?
    Last edited by Carlwill; 10-24-2006 at 04:20 PM.
    ./

  4. #4
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Posts
    20,230

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlwill View Post
    If I want to still have the server default to CLI, I would set init to runlevel 3, correct?
    Yep - you got it, and runlevel 5 for booting to the gui

    ~ Want to try Linux - check out the PC Perspective Linux FAQ ~
    ~ Please take some time to read the Forum Rules ~
    ~ Feed the spamb0tz, don't mail me here: B7Trz4568254@nirvana.admins.ws ~


  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Age
    35
    Posts
    3,062

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    Thanks - after install Gnome, /etc/inittab is still set to level 3. I installed Gnome remotely from home so I wont be able to tell until I get back to work if everything installed correctly.
    ./

  6. #6
    Joined
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    5,051

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    I had to build a LAMP server on CentOS for a software guy in the office and we was upset that I did not install a GUI.
    What does he need the gui for?

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    I'm a software developer and I'm not scared of the command line - but WHY does the aforementioned software developer need a GUI? Well... I can speculate....

    vi is not nearly as easy to use as kwrite for starters. Flipping bewtten tasks with a mouse is easier the fg bg ampersands and looking at a command line task list of processes and bringing them to the foreground...

    Oh then there is web browsing and googling for info... not fun using lynx - as much as I love lynx - you can't watch how to videos in lynx... silverlight (though I wish it didn't exist) or flash... another NO go at the command line...

    There is atrend for web based software - web apps - and frankly - as much as I love a command line for automating things and getting around faster for various compiling and file operations - the GUI's worth is unquestionable...

    It's almost unreasonable these days to wonder why a software developer would want a GUI installed.

    --Jason

  8. #8
    Joined
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Southern Ontario
    Age
    40
    Posts
    13,183

    Re: POST Install GUI (CENTOS)

    I agree. Yes its possible to develop webapps without a GUI, but it is easier to do so with one. Also the GUI is needed to verify how your webapp is going to look for the average user anyways. So why not use it from the start.

    But in reality I generally do my webapp development on my desktop/laptop via sftp to my headless webserver. This way the data is always properly backed up, as with everything else on that server, yet I'm able to do my developing on any computer I have available.

    I must admit that I have added LAMP to my laptop so I can do some development on the road. But I run the very real risk of loosing my data between backups since this laptop does not support multiple HDDs for a RAID array, and it can easily be lost due to a HDD failure. On top of that, I the whole laptop could be lost or stolen (or run over by a 10Ton forktruck like one laptop I had ) if I'm not careful.

    BTW, Welcome to PcPerspective's Forums!
    Last edited by Spankin Partier; 06-18-2009 at 05:22 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •