Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,084

    Talking Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    I upgraded last weekend to an Intel Core 2 Duo from my aging Athlon 64 3000+. I was a bit less than optimistic for a long time in going with Intel. I've been an AMD user ever since I had a 1.2GHz "thunderbird". That's even when I registered on this forum--get it? Tbird ("thunderbird") 761 (AMD 761 chipset--really popular back then).

    Anyway, I have to say that the money seems well spent. Check it out:







    To keep the page from getting cluttered, here are some of the others in link form:
    Sandra RAM Bandwidth
    Sandra RAM Latency (Combined Results)
    Sandra RAM Latency (Detailed Results)
    SuperPI and CPU-Z

    This was done with an ArcticCooling Freezer 7 Pro HSF. It's only air, but it's wonderful.

    Motherboard, CPU, Video, RAM... Side-View
    Motherboard, CPU, Video, RAM... Top-View
    Sometimes I feel like I'm becoming a dinosaur.

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,049

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    Congrats on the OC but have you thought about dropping the multi a lil an upper your fsb clock and giving us all some more info on how far you are able to push that DQ6 (the majority of us are Asus P5B or GB DS3 board owners).


    CPU-Z My Heat
    Request Granted. Safe Passage Guaranteed via JimZ

  3. #3
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,084

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    I'll give it a shot.

    Added this while I was at it:
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=132614
    Last edited by TBird761; 10-24-2006 at 05:06 PM.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm becoming a dinosaur.

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,084

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    No go for the higher FSB. I tried 3.60GHz (8 x 450MHz) as a first step since my RAM is DDR2-900. It failed to boot properly and had to be reset to default before I could get video. Additionally, my second core seems to be throwing fits at 3.76GHz. The first core seems game, but when you load up Core 1 the machine will often insta-reboot. I'm at 3.64GHz right now and all seems well. Damn that's annoying.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm becoming a dinosaur.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Age
    28
    Posts
    13,680

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    Nice

  6. #6
    Joined
    Mar 2004
    Location
    mtl,canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    37,301

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    sweet.lets see how it compresses a 2gb file
    and,it should be foldn hard!!!
    dan

    add a couple 120mm fans overhead to drop temps by 10+ celsiusD.S.C-12(2)-disclaimer : whatever u do with your hardware/software is your
    responsibility, which i dont hold if u break anything

    GRAB here OcBible v1.55 and Guidemania v1.21
    scary pooch?pooch#1taking ball from dogpooch pulln on ropeme on board after 2 years
    of no board
    http://gonny.se/ <-cool lady http://www.mediafire.com/?8dmg21ms1vx
    IN MEMORY OF HOW BM WAS TREATED HERE...

  7. #7
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,084

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    Quote Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
    sweet.lets see how it compresses a 2gb file
    and,it should be foldn hard!!!
    dan
    Working on it.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm becoming a dinosaur.

  8. #8
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Greenfield, Wisconsin
    Age
    26
    Posts
    702

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    awesome OC! I Work at bestbuy and am getting 2x C2D 6300 ES's and 2x crappy mobo x2 Plus vista ultimate for like $305. Still wondering what mobo to use with them tho.. will post my (hopefully) 4ghz+ Screens soon. If you want you can join my folding team =) 49648.
    EVGA 790i Ultra
    Intel 9550 @ 3.922ghz 1.2125v
    ATI 4870x2
    OCZ 2x2gb @ DDR1600 7-6-6-21 @ 1.9v
    OCZ Game Xstream 700w
    4x80gb WD Sata2 in Raid 0
    40" Samsung 4071 @ 1080p
    Custom Waterloop on CPU and Video
    Thermaltake Tsunami case (Black)
    7 Ultimate 64-bit

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2005
    Location
    College Station, TX
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,049

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    Damn, I find it so odd that my comp sits so comfortably at the fsb it is at most of the time and can go through the torture of folding on both cores above 500 fsb (it just runs a lil too hot for the air cooling I use on it for my tastes to leave it always up there).


    CPU-Z My Heat
    Request Granted. Safe Passage Guaranteed via JimZ

  10. #10
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,084

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    I suppose it's possible that the board just doesn't like 450. There have been a few other numbers that I've run into that it hates, such as 394MHz. It'll work great at 393MHz and 395MHz, but at 394MHz it fails mprime repeatedly and quickly.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm becoming a dinosaur.

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bogota, NJ
    Posts
    7,028

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    I suppose it's possible that the board just doesn't like 450. There have been a few other numbers that I've run into that it hates, such as 394MHz. It'll work great at 393MHz and 395MHz, but at 394MHz it fails mprime repeatedly and quickly.
    It also doesn't like the memory dividers. Haven't really played with it because I'm happy with 2.8 but I tried when starting, thinking about my AMD successes but Intel is very different in that regard.
    "Angels on the sideline, Puzzled and amused.
    Why did Father give these humans free will?
    Now they’re all confused."


    940@ 3.0, Biostar 750(Bios 7/23) Geil 2 x 2GB (DDR2-1066), OCZ 600, Xigmatek HDT-S1283, WD AAKS 640 X2 Raid0, EVGA 560, Auzentech X-Studio, ASUS Xonar DX, Win 7

    Phenom 955 @ 3.6, Asrock 870, Gskill DDR3 1600, OCZ 700, Xigmatek, Samsung 830 240,Sapphire 7950, WIN 7


  12. #12
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,753

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    Nice OC'r you got there!
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  13. #13
    Joined
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Age
    37
    Posts
    140

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    I got the same cpu and ram today along with a ASUS P5N32-SLI Premium. I wonder how far I can OC using water cooling?

  14. #14
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,084

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    I updated to the latest BIOS with no improvement. I'm starting to imagine that it might be due to the solid caps. Perhaps they are more proned to noise or something, though they last longer.
    Sometimes I feel like I'm becoming a dinosaur.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Age
    37
    Posts
    140

    Re: Yay @ Conroe Overclocks (Large Images)

    Put some of the unused CPU cycles to use and Come fold with the Frogs 3.7 Ghz is a nice oc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •