Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    298

    how to change cd-key?

    i soon have to help someone to install a valid copy of Windows-XP Pro OEM.

    the guy has used pirate version of XP Pro. i think it wasn't a OEM version.
    don't know if that has something to say.

    how can i do this fast and simple, without installing the whole OS again.
    i think i have heard before about something like key changer ?


    ASUS P5Q, P45, Socket-775, DDR2 (ATX, GbLAN, Firewire, PCI-Ex(2.0)16)
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz (4MB, BOXED w/fan Socket 775)
    OCZ DDR2 4096MB Gold GX XTC Dual Channel (PC2-6400 2x2048MB 800MHz. (5-5-5-18))
    OCZ Platinum 4GB DDR2 PC6400 KIT (2048MB x 2, 800MHz, CL 5-4-4-15)
    OCZ 600W StealthXStream PSU
    Western Digital Caviar SATA2 500GB (Black Edition, 7200RPM, 32MB)
    Club3D HD4670 512 MB GDDR3 PCIe 2.0 (ATI RV730 XT, GS750 MHz, 2xDVI,TV-out)

    NEC DVD-Writer ND-3550 IDE Black OEM DVD+R/+RW/DVD-R/-RW (Dual layer)
    HighPoint RocketRAID 100 2P ATA100
    APEVIA X-Navigator / 4 * 80mm fan, 120mm fan
    Samsung SpinPoint P80 (SP0802N) 80GB (IDE ATA/133 2MB cache 7200RPM)
    Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB IDE ATA/100 8MB cache 7200RPM
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB IDE ATA/100 16MB 7200RPM
    Samsung SpinPoint P120 250GB IDE ATA/133 8MB 7200RPM


  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Connecticut
    Age
    68
    Posts
    12,900

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    www.magicaljellybean.com but I doubt if it will work, unless an oem copy of XP was used to load it the first time Cd-keys can't be switched, from say retail to oem ,upgrade to retail, etc. and must match the software used in the install. I'd say u r looking at a new install.
    http://forums.pcper.com/trading.php TRADING RULEZ!! BIGDADDY51 I've joined the QUAD CROWD! ASUS M3A78 & a 9850

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    As long as you match Pro to Pro, you can do a repair install with a legitimate OEM or retail copy and enter the key when prompted. You cannot use an OEM/retail key to fix a illegal corporate key or otherwise mix/match flavors, as BigDaddy points out.

  4. #4
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Connecticut
    Age
    68
    Posts
    12,900

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    Most of the pirated stuff is usually VLK, Corp, or academic but ya never know, could have been anything and somebody used a key jack on it.
    http://forums.pcper.com/trading.php TRADING RULEZ!! BIGDADDY51 I've joined the QUAD CROWD! ASUS M3A78 & a 9850

  5. #5
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    I agree. However, either way, it can be fixed with a repair install using a legal copy and key.

  6. #6
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    47
    Posts
    239

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    You can adjust registry following these instructions here or this handy dandy tool for this exact purpose from Microsoft.
    Last edited by castron72; 01-22-2007 at 11:49 PM.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    Quote Originally Posted by castron72 View Post
    You can adjust registry following these instructions here or this handy dandy tool for this exact purpose from Microsoft.
    Neither method (link) will change a pirated VLK key to a legitimate OEM key. A repair install will.

  8. #8
    Joined
    May 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    47
    Posts
    239

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    Quote Originally Posted by Sick Willie View Post
    Neither method (link) will change a pirated VLK key to a legitimate OEM key. A repair install will.
    Don't know about the first option but the 2nd will for sure. I know from a similar situation as OP.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    I've moved.....I'm over here now.
    Age
    61
    Posts
    7,290

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    Quote Originally Posted by castron72 View Post
    Don't know about the first option but the 2nd will for sure. I know from a similar situation as OP.
    Then I believe you'll find it was an OEM version w/ a pirated key. MS is not going to let you mix & match licensing schemes with a key tool.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    298

    Re: how to change cd-key?

    ok.. thank you all.
    i will try it in the future.


    ASUS P5Q, P45, Socket-775, DDR2 (ATX, GbLAN, Firewire, PCI-Ex(2.0)16)
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz (4MB, BOXED w/fan Socket 775)
    OCZ DDR2 4096MB Gold GX XTC Dual Channel (PC2-6400 2x2048MB 800MHz. (5-5-5-18))
    OCZ Platinum 4GB DDR2 PC6400 KIT (2048MB x 2, 800MHz, CL 5-4-4-15)
    OCZ 600W StealthXStream PSU
    Western Digital Caviar SATA2 500GB (Black Edition, 7200RPM, 32MB)
    Club3D HD4670 512 MB GDDR3 PCIe 2.0 (ATI RV730 XT, GS750 MHz, 2xDVI,TV-out)

    NEC DVD-Writer ND-3550 IDE Black OEM DVD+R/+RW/DVD-R/-RW (Dual layer)
    HighPoint RocketRAID 100 2P ATA100
    APEVIA X-Navigator / 4 * 80mm fan, 120mm fan
    Samsung SpinPoint P80 (SP0802N) 80GB (IDE ATA/133 2MB cache 7200RPM)
    Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB IDE ATA/100 8MB cache 7200RPM
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB IDE ATA/100 16MB 7200RPM
    Samsung SpinPoint P120 250GB IDE ATA/133 8MB 7200RPM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •