Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,498

    I thought Vista was 64bit

    How come I can only find 32bit versions of Windows Vista on newegg? I thought it was gonna be 64bit. Is there a 64 bit version? Does it matter?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    682

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    There is a 64 bit version, but from what I read, some problems with it.
    http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2007/01..._64_not_ready/

  3. #3
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Connecticut
    Age
    68
    Posts
    12,900

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by fatlazyhomer View Post
    How come I can only find 32bit versions of Windows Vista on newegg? I thought it was gonna be 64bit. Is there a 64 bit version? Does it matter?
    It comes in both. Something about having to send in for 64bit version right now. You are better off with 32 bit right now. better driver support etc.
    http://forums.pcper.com/trading.php TRADING RULEZ!! BIGDADDY51 I've joined the QUAD CROWD! ASUS M3A78 & a 9850

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,262

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGDADDY51 View Post
    It comes in both. Something about having to send in for 64bit version right now. You are better off with 32 bit right now. better driver support etc.
    you're better off with XP right now for atleast 4-5 months.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,745

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    I was searching for Vista retail packages earlier today and Newegg does list a Vista 64bit OEM 3pack but its not available until 1/30.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16832116216

    I agree with the others, stick with 32bit for now for best software and hardware compatibility.
    i7 Beast: Asus P6T Deluxe, Intel i7 920 21x191 (4000) HT on 1.3875v, Swiftech GTZ/D5/BIX2
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill pi Black DDR3 1600, ECS 9600GT
    CM STACKER 810, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    i7 Game: Asus P6T, Intel i7 920 20x180 (3600) HT on 1.275v, TRU-120
    6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill DDR3 1333 7-7-7-18, MSI GTX260 OCv2, Dell 3007WFP LCD
    CM STACKER 830, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750


    AMD: Biostar 790GX A2+, PII X4 940BE 17x200, Freezer 64 Pro
    4GB (4x1GB) Ballistix Tracer DDR2 800, Powercolor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Auckland
    Age
    40
    Posts
    30,912

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    I saw some with 32 bit and 64 bit on a DVD however they wont be available for sale until the 30th.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,498

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Thanks for the info. I think imma go vista if it makes enough difference in supreme commander.

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2002
    Location
    SNP (Scottish National Party)
    Posts
    1,103

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Vista will get 32 and 64bits driver for motherboard, graphic card, etc.. as Ive download one from Epson for my scanner (4490) as it now full version with Vista x86 and x64 but rest of it not yet until next week or later. You can choose 32 or 64-bits as it will included all the drivers once it release after Vista is out next week (most of OEM already released - I got Ultimate x64 last week).

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    This post explains the 32bit and 64bit deal:
    http://forums.pcper.com/showpost.php...77&postcount=7

  10. #10
    Joined
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,262

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by Mjölnir View Post
    This post explains the 32bit and 64bit deal:
    http://forums.pcper.com/showpost.php...77&postcount=7
    can i order a 64 bit vista home premium and jst pay for its shipping if i already have home premium 32 bit?

  11. #11
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by syedrehankn View Post
    can i order a 64 bit vista home premium and jst pay for its shipping if i already have home premium 32 bit?
    That's what the post says. I suggest you call MS in your area to confirm.

  12. #12
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    13,940

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    How about we move this over to the Windows forum?

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by themortarman View Post
    How about we move this over to the Windows forum?
    Thanks TMM.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Colorafornia, USSA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    13,825

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    Remember when A64's first came out and AMD couldn't talk enough about the chip's potential in a 64 bit OS? Everyone back then was waiting for the 64 bit version of XP and how it would really untap the potential of the A64. XP-64 came and went with a whisper and everyone started looking to Vista to be the 64 bit OS to finally unleash the power of the A64. I read at one time that it was thought all versions of Vista (Longhorn) would be 64 bit and we'd finally be rid of 32 bit.

    Now it looks like we're STILL waiting for a decent 64 bit version of Windows to arrive! I know one thing for sure, I'll wait until I see the 64 bit version of Vista before I buy Vista. The change to 64 bit for Vista was one of the biggest reasons I was looking forward to Vista. Instead we get Windows XP with built in neat looking skins and analog clock. I've yet to see one single feature I can't live without on Vista, with the exception of DX10 for the inevitable games that will come out that need it.

  15. #15
    Joined
    May 2003
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,001

    Re: I thought Vista was 64bit

    ms rep said that ALL versions of vista are on the dvd, from home to ultimet both64 and 32 bit.

    i wont be buying vista, but the ms rep is trying to get me a free licence for all versions to convence me that vista is worth my time, i also have msdn access (im on the msdn licence at a place i do some under the counter contract work for, but i gotta go in and get the current pw for the msdn account)

    i wasnt impressed with vista, its pretty but i can get that from windowblinds and the free vista transform pack if i really want it.

    i got extra pc's so i may test it again, but really managment wise its just another version of NT, and i got my win2003 setup so i gotta do 2 things after install to have it as a steller gaming box.

    btw 64bit, well eventuly ms will deside its time to push for driver support for 64bit, like they should have with xp64 and 2003 64bit, till then i can happly live with my 32bit windows that "just works"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •