Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Joined
    Jul 2001
    Location
    South Windsor, CT.
    Posts
    5,459

    Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    I've been trying to get my wifes Photosmart 7150 installed for ages with no joy.

    HP's site has Alternate drivers but none for the 7150 series. HP support had me use the 7100 series driver and seemed fine but it will not print. They had me try, for ports, DOT4 and even create a USB port but it will not print.
    Gigabyte 890XA UD3, Phenom II X6 1090T,4Ghz 2600nb w/Corsair H50, 2x2GB and 2x4GB GSKILL FLARE 1800Mhz DDR3, PNY GTX570, OCZ Vertex Turbo 60GB SSD, Intel X25 80GB SSD, Klipsch ProMedia 4.1, ASUS DVDRW, Corsair Obsidian 800D, Corsair 650W Professional series, Hanspree 26" widescreen, Cyborg R.A.T 5/Cyborg Gaming keyboard, Win7 64 Ultimate



  2. #2
    Joined
    May 2002
    Location
    Connecticut
    Age
    68
    Posts
    12,900

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    after weeks and weeks of trying to get ANY of my 4 Lexmark printers to work, I gave up and bought a new Epson CX 5000 It works great, but seems to drink ink like a drunken sailor on leave. The Printer people really seemed to have dropped the ball on driver support. MAYBE it was intentional, to sell new machines instead.
    http://forums.pcper.com/trading.php TRADING RULEZ!! BIGDADDY51 I've joined the QUAD CROWD! ASUS M3A78 & a 9850

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Bolton, England
    Age
    41
    Posts
    293

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    I was told they are not developing drivers for my PSC2115 as it is legacy technology (its about 2 years old) and got sent a nice email with all the 'new' VISTA branded stuff! Anyway Vista does support the PSC2115 out of the box but I cannot control the print quality as the 'normal' mode uses a huge amount of ink, the HP XP drivers had an 'everyday' setting that was much more sensible. I'm hoping some one will create some custom drivers similar to the ones that they made for the Vista RC's.
    Main: always changing see my system tab.

    HTPC: C2D 4500@stock||2*1Gb Corsair 6400C4@stock||Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H Nvidia 630i Motherboard||Onboard HDMI output||||Silverstone GD02 case||Silver NT05 CPU Cooler||hauppauge HVR-1300||Seagate 7200.10 500Gb HDD||Pioneer DVR215BK||Windows 7 Professional x86

    Windows Home Server||2*1Gb PC6400||C2D 6300@ stock|| 3*750 GB Samsung HD753LJ Spinpoint F1

  4. #4
    Joined
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    220

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    I unintentionally left my HP ,sure it is a PSC2115 or that series (At work so can't check), connected when I installed Vista it came up initially as unrecognised but it seems to have found a driver from somewhere & is working perfectly....strange

  5. #5
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4

    Thumbs down Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    I tried getting an HP Photosmart 1215 to work in Vista and finally did using the Business Jet 1220 driver that is included in Vista. That is with a USB hookup and adding the printer from the printers menu.

    Vista probably won't find your printer so you have to add it manually and then choose a driver from the list of drivers included in Vista...the 1220 worked for me. I could not use the HP provided install disc nor could I install using the XP driver from the website.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    FWIW: I did not want to chance installing my HP 890C printer directly to Vista Ulimate so I just installed it as a network printer from my XP PC and it works fine.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Jan 2003
    Location
    So Cal Inland Empire
    Age
    59
    Posts
    198

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    My HP PhotoSmart 8050 installed with no problem. I turned it on and plugged in the USB. There are no specific HP Vista drivers, just using the built-in Vista drivers.
    "I was gratified to be able to answer promptly and I did. I said I didn't know."

    - Mark Twain - Life on the Mississippi


    I Served Too - Notable entertainers who served in the military

  8. #8
    Joined
    Sep 2001
    Age
    60
    Posts
    484

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    my HP Deskjet 3740 was installed by vista
    Rosewill Challenger U
    Raidmax 530 PSU
    AsRock 880GM Motherboard P1.20 Bios
    CoolerMaster TX3 HSF Push Mode
    AMD Phenom II x4 960T
    4 GIG (2x2gig) G-Skill DDR3 1333
    Sapphire HD 5850 1G GDDR5
    750 Gig Seagate Sata
    Bytecc 52 n 1 Card Reader
    Lite-On 16x DVD / Lite-On 16x DVD+ R/W Sata
    Onboard Sound / Onboard Lan
    PS2 Logitech Keyboard / PS2 Microsoft Mouse
    USB Logitech Camera
    Acer 20" LCD Monitor
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64 / Windows 8 64 RP v8400

  9. #9
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,476

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    Hp 970 CSE working fine, Vista found drivers.

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    216

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    Color Laserjet 2600n not recognized by Vista and no included drivers.

    HP has no drivers for the entry level network color laser.

    That's a crime if you ask me.

    I'm pretty sure that HP knew that Vista was coming out but their driver support is piss poor.
    Semper Fi!

  11. #11
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Blaine, WA
    Age
    66
    Posts
    30,973

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    Laser 2150 was recognized automatically. 7550 wasn't and had to use a driver for a 6000 series and it worked. I was amazed!

    Vista Ultimate 64
    Last edited by UncleBob; 02-18-2007 at 08:55 AM.
    Main Rig: EVGA 141-BL-E769-A1 LGA 1366 Intel X58 CLASSIFIED/WATERCOOLED ED. cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
    HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
    ASUS: 5 * BIOSTAR: 1 * CHAINTECH: 1 * EVGA: 3 * GIGABYTE: 5 * SUPER MICRO: 1 *TYAN: 2
    180+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Rosetta @ Home Team as The Uncle B's!!




    Spoiler!

    I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!

  12. #12
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Atlanta,GA
    Posts
    71

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    My 7410 was recognized by vista 64 but hp does not have any enhanced drivers for all in one features.
    Gigabyte GA-K8N Ultra-SLI
    AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+
    ATI X1900x 512MB
    600W Enermax noisetaker PWR
    XP-120 Thermalright Heatsink
    4x Sata II WD 250 drives 16mb (1+0)
    Plextor PX716SA/SW data DVD
    2GB Cosiar Twinx2048-3200c2pt
    Samsung 20" 204B LCD
    Samsung 20" 204B LCD
    Thermaltake Tsunami Dream
    Windows Vista 64 bit

  13. #13
    Joined
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    75
    Posts
    237

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    Just in case it's of any help to others,

    I installed Vista Ultimate last night and it installed my old HP-890-C without a hitch.

  14. #14
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    24

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    I got my HP Photsmart 7150 to work in Vista (Final Retail ver of Vista)

    I used the HP 7150 ALL-IN-ONE driver!.
    I have the normal 7150 (not the all-in-one)..

    For some reason there is a vista driver for the C7150 all-in-one, but not for the normal 7150...

    Its a 32.92 MB download, but it works (USB Port, not DOT4)


    (HP Photosmart C7150 All-in-One Basic Print and Scan Driver)
    Volvo Starter
    abbigliamento tennis
    Last edited by blueboxguru; 04-29-2012 at 01:01 PM.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Re: Anyone ventured installing a HP printer in Vista?

    I have the same pb, my HP7150 doesn't work with Vista, so i try to install the "HP Photosmart C7150 All-in-One Basic Print and Scan Driver"

    After install, when i reconnect my printer, my computer reconize automatically the old "HP7150" et don't ask me for a new driver.

    When i try to change the driver with the new install "C7150 All-in-One", i don't see the C7150, i just see C7100 ?

    Please help me

    Thank's

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •