Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    85

    Question Need help with MB upgrade

    Well I have a 2800+ 333 Barton with 2 gigs of pc3400 ram. Thing is I was just given a brand new ATI X1800 XL 256 video card from my nice friend that works for ATI/AMD.

    I want to use the card but its a PCI E card and my MB is only AGP. I don't have the money to upgrade everything else in my system but I really want to use this vid card. Any suggestions or does anyone know if theres a MB that supports that CPU and ram and has PCI E?

    I know my CPU and ram will be my systems bottleneck but it kills me to see this nice card collecting dust.

    Any help from you experts would be greatly appreciated.
    System specs

    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ Venice
    Ram 2x512 OCZ 2700
    Vid Radeon X1800XL 256
    HD WD 80gig 8mb buffer
    PSU Allied AL-B500E 500W

  2. #2
    Joined
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canandaigua , NY
    Age
    59
    Posts
    669

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    I have never seen a socket "A" motherboard that supports pci e .
    How much money do you have to spend on an upgrade??
    Pc3400? do you mean pc3200 or pc3500?

  3. #3
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by AmoAki Dabowlio View Post
    Well I have a 2800+ 333 Barton with 2 gigs of pc3400 ram. Thing is I was just given a brand new ATI X1800 XL 256 video card from my nice friend that works for ATI/AMD.

    I want to use the card but its a PCI E card and my MB is only AGP. I don't have the money to upgrade everything else in my system but I really want to use this vid card. Any suggestions or does anyone know if theres a MB that supports that CPU and ram and has PCI E?

    I know my CPU and ram will be my systems bottleneck but it kills me to see this nice card collecting dust.

    Any help from you experts would be greatly appreciated.
    You'll have to upgrade the cpu and the mobo and possibly the psu to use PCI-E. There are several Socket 939 boards that would be able to use your existing ram, but most would need a PSU that has the 24 pin power connector and I'm doubting that the one you have for your socket a rig has that. There's an Abit in the trading forums here at PCPer that would set you back about 60 bucks and you would need another 50 to 60 for a socket 939 cpu.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    85

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Sorry PC3200 ram. Yeah after some research I figured out I needed to upgrade the CPU. Thanks for the help all. You guys are always helpful
    System specs

    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ Venice
    Ram 2x512 OCZ 2700
    Vid Radeon X1800XL 256
    HD WD 80gig 8mb buffer
    PSU Allied AL-B500E 500W

  5. #5
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    85

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Well I just picked up a
    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE K8M890 939 - Retail
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ 2.2G 939 512K % - OEM
    for $108 shipped.
    System specs

    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ Venice
    Ram 2x512 OCZ 2700
    Vid Radeon X1800XL 256
    HD WD 80gig 8mb buffer
    PSU Allied AL-B500E 500W

  6. #6
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by AmoAki Dabowlio View Post
    Well I just picked up a
    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE K8M890 939 - Retail
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ 2.2G 939 512K % - OEM
    for $108 shipped.
    That will get you cooking with gas. You're gonna like that setup.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  7. #7
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    85

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Okay well I got my system


    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE K8M890 939 - Retail
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ 2.2G 939 512K % - OEM

    Is it worth it to upgrade to Windows XP pro 64?

    Also I noticed some settings in the bios one of them is enable hyper transport I believe.

    Any recommendations on bios settings?

    Thanks for any help you can offer.
    Last edited by AmoAki Dabowlio; 03-10-2007 at 09:52 PM.
    System specs

    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ Venice
    Ram 2x512 OCZ 2700
    Vid Radeon X1800XL 256
    HD WD 80gig 8mb buffer
    PSU Allied AL-B500E 500W

  8. #8
    Joined
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Anywhere but here.
    Posts
    4,513

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by AmoAki Dabowlio View Post
    Okay well I got my system


    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE K8M890 939 - Retail
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ 2.2G 939 512K % - OEM

    Is it worth it to upgrade to Windows XP pro 64?

    Also I noticed some settings in the bios one of them is enable hyper threading I believe.

    Any recommendations on bios settings?

    Thanks for any help you can offer.

    Unless you have some specific software that requires 64 bit Windows, I would stick with the 32 bit XP Pro. Better driver support.

    As for bios settings, I don't have that specific mobo so I really don't know what that setting is.
    R.I.P Brad (BWM). You will be missed.

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ga
    Age
    55
    Posts
    405

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    I agree XP Pro SP2 is all you need to get the good out of that system and really enjoy it.

    Let us know how the build goes.
    This seems to be the week for rebuilds
    ALUMINUM X-Navigator- Corsair 620W PSU, A8N 32 SLI Deluxe, AMD FX-60, XP Pro Sp-2, EVGA 8800GTS 640 SuperClocked, 2Gb (2x1Gb) Corsair XMS PC3200, 200G WD, 250G and Two 500G Samsung Satas, Sony DW-D22A-B2 Dual Layer DVD±RW, AOPEN COM5232/AAH PRO CD-RW/DVD, X-Fi Xtr-Gamer Fatal1ty Pro CNPS9500 LED Cooler

  10. #10
    Joined
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    85

    Re: Need help with MB upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by killer01ws6 View Post
    I agree XP Pro SP2 is all you need to get the good out of that system and really enjoy it.

    Let us know how the build goes.
    This seems to be the week for rebuilds
    Booted up great everything seems to run fine.

    Lets see if Vanguard brings it to its knees.
    System specs

    MB ASUS A8V-VM SE
    CPU AMD|A64 3400+ Venice
    Ram 2x512 OCZ 2700
    Vid Radeon X1800XL 256
    HD WD 80gig 8mb buffer
    PSU Allied AL-B500E 500W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •