Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Yeah I would like to tweak the timings on my ram and I have ultimate boot cd,it has the option to run either Memtest86 or Memtest86+.
    Which is better?Im going to assume the + version,is this correct?

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,221

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    In practise there's probably very little difference. Memtest86 is the original. Most techies I know prefer to use it over Memtest86+. Maybe someone has some greater detail on what 86+ offers over 86. Maybe you can read the Memtest86+ and read up on the variations there.

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Hmm,well for now im running both to really make sure memory is stable

  4. #4
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Well after some research,it seems that the + version is superior and has bug fixes and some minor enhancements in it that the other doesn't,and it also properly recognizes A64 chips better.

  5. #5
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    15,790

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ganj View Post
    Well after some research,it seems that the + version is superior and has bug fixes and some minor enhancements in it that the other doesn't,and it also properly recognizes A64 chips better.
    correct, i believe memtest86 support ended? memtest86+ picks up where it left off. memtest86+ is indeed superios as it more up to date with new hardware. the bios in my dfi has the latest memtest86+ built right in if that gives you a good idea.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz (45 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    SB X-Fi Xtreme Music + Steelseries 5H V2
    XFX 6950 2gb (6970 bios) / 2 x 25.5" Asus VW266H 1920x1200
    Intel X25-M G2 80GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black



    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Heh ok cool so its official memtest+ pwnz memtest

  7. #7
    Joined
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    [QUOTE=Ganj;4012028]Heh ok cool so its official memtest+ pwnz memtest [/QUOTE

    I agree with that. memtest86 has not been updated since 11/2004 and that makes memtest86+ the only real choice of the two.
    Last edited by AndyOCZ; 02-19-2007 at 04:14 PM.
    If I can help with an OCZ product or if you just need some advice PM me!

    EMAIL ME HERE
    WWW.OCZ.COM

  8. #8
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    58

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    I don't believe that's true anymore as both are updated now. It's kind of confusing on which one to use.

    BTW, how to you put both on a CD to have the option to use either one? If you burn both iso's on the disk, how do you know which one is going to come up?
    I7 3770K @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-D14), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 (2x8) Gigs Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 4 DVD Burners, 2 WD 640 gig HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA HDD (eSata), Hauppage HD-PVR, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

  9. #9
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    15,790

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
    I don't believe that's true anymore as both are updated now. It's kind of confusing on which one to use.

    BTW, how to you put both on a CD to have the option to use either one? If you burn both iso's on the disk, how do you know which one is going to come up?
    you'd need to make a custom disk with its own boot selector to pick which version to run. ubcd might allow this, haven't checked the latest version. possibly just make a bootable cd that goes to a dos prompt with both versions on the disk, then navigate to the directory or exe you wish to run and go.

    also it doesn't really matter which version you get to my knowledge, as long as it supports your hardware, the main thing they update is support for cpu's and other hardware, the tests pretty much always seem to be the same.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz (45 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    SB X-Fi Xtreme Music + Steelseries 5H V2
    XFX 6950 2gb (6970 bios) / 2 x 25.5" Asus VW266H 1920x1200
    Intel X25-M G2 80GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black



    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  10. #10
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Location
    In bed with one of my avatar AMD girls :D
    Age
    34
    Posts
    8,876

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    UBCD pwnz j00

  11. #11
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    58

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    possibly just make a bootable cd that goes to a dos prompt with both versions on the disk, then navigate to the directory or exe you wish to run and go.
    Would you explain that in more detail. Seems this is harder than I thought. I've been searching and what I've read is quite complicated. I don't need UBCD, I'd just like a bootable cd with both memtest86 and memtest86+ on it where I could choose which one I wanted to run.
    I7 3770K @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-D14), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 (2x8) Gigs Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 4 DVD Burners, 2 WD 640 gig HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA HDD (eSata), Hauppage HD-PVR, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

  12. #12
    Joined
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Joliet, Illinois
    Age
    29
    Posts
    15,790

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
    Would you explain that in more detail. Seems this is harder than I thought. I've been searching and what I've read is quite complicated. I don't need UBCD, I'd just like a bootable cd with both memtest86 and memtest86+ on it where I could choose which one I wanted to run.
    why not burn 2 cd's, one with each? there's no real reason you'd need both.

    or make a bootable usb key and do it that way.
    Corsair 800D / Corsair TX750 PSU
    ASUS Sabertooth P67 / Win7 Pro
    Intel i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz (45 x 100) + Corsair H100
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    SB X-Fi Xtreme Music + Steelseries 5H V2
    XFX 6950 2gb (6970 bios) / 2 x 25.5" Asus VW266H 1920x1200
    Intel X25-M G2 80GB OS + 2 x 1TB WD Caviar Black



    The member formerly known as SuBX3r0 HEAT

  13. #13
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    58

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    I just wanted to know how to put two on one cd as I've never done that before. I always like to learn new things.
    I7 3770K @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-D14), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 (2x8) Gigs Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 4 DVD Burners, 2 WD 640 gig HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA HDD (eSata), Hauppage HD-PVR, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

  14. #14
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,221

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    They both have their own boot sector. The easiest way to do that would be to use something like UBCD - and it seems you're already aware that it's not really worth the hassle to do that. Even easier still would be to just burn them to seperate discs, as Brandito suggested.

    They're probably better (more reliable) on their own anyway. Eliminates potential glitches in whatever software you use to boot them together, which is pretty much the main reason they're not designed to run in Windows.

  15. #15
    Joined
    Aug 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    58

    Re: Memtest86 vs Memtest86+?

    Yeah, that's what I'll do. I didn't realize something like this was so involved. It sounds like it would be simple but the more I read on it, the more confused I got. My wife says I'm dazed and confused, she was right when it came to this deal (and probably about a whole lot of other things too, heh heh).
    I7 3770K @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-D14), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 (2x8) Gigs Corsair DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 4 DVD Burners, 2 WD 640 gig HDDs, WD 750 gig SATA HDD (eSata), Hauppage HD-PVR, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •