Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    King of Prussia, Pa
    Posts
    549

    Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    I have IDE drives in my rig, but have SATA drive connectors on my MB.
    I want to plug in a SATA drive and take some data off of it.
    When I plug it in, it's not seen in My Computer. I was wondering if there are drivers for my MB that need to be installed. PaP isn't working.
    Thanks for your help.
    MY QUIET SYSTEM

    AMD 64XP2 4600 XP2 @2.55
    ASUS A8V Deluxe - version 2.0 BIOS 1017
    Win XP Professional
    2 Gig (4x512) Corsair Value 3200LL
    Enermax 470W PS
    Temps CPU 39 Idle/ Heavy Load 50 – Antec Sonata case
    Two 120G – Western Digital Drives
    Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Cooler
    Antec Tri Cool 120 mm case fan
    AIW Radeon 800XT
    Sony DRU-540 DVD Burner

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ga
    Age
    55
    Posts
    405

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    Have you tried to assigned a drive letter?
    I have heard of several folks having an issue with the new drive not having a letter associated automatically.
    ALUMINUM X-Navigator- Corsair 620W PSU, A8N 32 SLI Deluxe, AMD FX-60, XP Pro Sp-2, EVGA 8800GTS 640 SuperClocked, 2Gb (2x1Gb) Corsair XMS PC3200, 200G WD, 250G and Two 500G Samsung Satas, Sony DW-D22A-B2 Dual Layer DVD±RW, AOPEN COM5232/AAH PRO CD-RW/DVD, X-Fi Xtr-Gamer Fatal1ty Pro CNPS9500 LED Cooler

  3. #3
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,473

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    You will need to make sure that you know which sata connector you have it attached to. (You have promise sata and via sata connectors on the a8v deluxe), that you have the controller enabled in bios, and that you have loaded drivers for it.
    Probably easier if you connect it to via sata.(see manual page 2-24, the connectors are labelled sata1 and sata2)
    In bios make sure that onchip sata boot rom is enabled.
    Check your device manager too see if you have via sata drivers....if not you can download them from via.
    If you enable via sata in bios, make sure that your ide drive is kept as your boot drive in the boot menu and not the sata drive.

    http://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx...0&SubCatID=143
    Last edited by CMB; 03-08-2007 at 10:24 PM.

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    King of Prussia, Pa
    Posts
    549

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    Thanks guys-I'll check it out tomorrow.
    MY QUIET SYSTEM

    AMD 64XP2 4600 XP2 @2.55
    ASUS A8V Deluxe - version 2.0 BIOS 1017
    Win XP Professional
    2 Gig (4x512) Corsair Value 3200LL
    Enermax 470W PS
    Temps CPU 39 Idle/ Heavy Load 50 – Antec Sonata case
    Two 120G – Western Digital Drives
    Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Cooler
    Antec Tri Cool 120 mm case fan
    AIW Radeon 800XT
    Sony DRU-540 DVD Burner

  5. #5
    Joined
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    569

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    I have this board in one of my computers. CMB pretty much nailed it.

    You will have to install the drivers he gave the link to. The board will not see the SATA drive without the drivers installed.
    Last edited by curlysir; 03-08-2007 at 11:49 PM.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,473

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    And looking back on this, it's not 100% clear if the drive has already been formatted and has data on it.
    I want to plug in a SATA drive and take some data off of it.
    If not you'll have to partition and format in disk management
    http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.js...D&locale=en-US

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    King of Prussia, Pa
    Posts
    549

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    No success:

    I installed the via drivers and I'm using the sata-1 connector on the MB
    The drive in question has been formatted.
    I set to "enable" the SATA option in the BIOS.
    Still nothing shows in My computer or in device manager.

    Any more ideas, cause I'm stumped.
    Thanks

    One note: During the boot from BIOS, I get an error message "hardware initiate failed" press "g" to continue.
    MY QUIET SYSTEM

    AMD 64XP2 4600 XP2 @2.55
    ASUS A8V Deluxe - version 2.0 BIOS 1017
    Win XP Professional
    2 Gig (4x512) Corsair Value 3200LL
    Enermax 470W PS
    Temps CPU 39 Idle/ Heavy Load 50 – Antec Sonata case
    Two 120G – Western Digital Drives
    Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Cooler
    Antec Tri Cool 120 mm case fan
    AIW Radeon 800XT
    Sony DRU-540 DVD Burner

  8. #8
    Joined
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    8,473

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    Is it a sata II drive.?
    Might have to set jumpers and manually set it to sata 150.
    what drive is it ...?

  9. #9
    Joined
    Dec 2002
    Location
    King of Prussia, Pa
    Posts
    549

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    Thanks CMB and all.
    I would be interedted in reading about these SATa 2 drives for future reference.
    I'm going to abandon this effort at this point.
    I hooked the drive up to my soc 939 MSI board and no problems from the start. Evrything worked without any adjustments.
    I'll have to revist this later.
    Anyway thatnks for all your support and advice.
    MY QUIET SYSTEM

    AMD 64XP2 4600 XP2 @2.55
    ASUS A8V Deluxe - version 2.0 BIOS 1017
    Win XP Professional
    2 Gig (4x512) Corsair Value 3200LL
    Enermax 470W PS
    Temps CPU 39 Idle/ Heavy Load 50 – Antec Sonata case
    Two 120G – Western Digital Drives
    Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Cooler
    Antec Tri Cool 120 mm case fan
    AIW Radeon 800XT
    Sony DRU-540 DVD Burner

  10. #10
    Joined
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ga
    Age
    55
    Posts
    405

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    Odd...
    An external enclosure might work well for you if you had to go that route.

    I had 2 of them with sata drives, not that my new board has 5 sata headers,
    I installed them all and have no need for the enclosures now.. DOH! lol

    I am sure I will add more drives to them later, ha..
    ALUMINUM X-Navigator- Corsair 620W PSU, A8N 32 SLI Deluxe, AMD FX-60, XP Pro Sp-2, EVGA 8800GTS 640 SuperClocked, 2Gb (2x1Gb) Corsair XMS PC3200, 200G WD, 250G and Two 500G Samsung Satas, Sony DW-D22A-B2 Dual Layer DVD±RW, AOPEN COM5232/AAH PRO CD-RW/DVD, X-Fi Xtr-Gamer Fatal1ty Pro CNPS9500 LED Cooler

  11. #11
    Joined
    Dec 2004
    Location
    quebec, canada
    Posts
    810

    Re: Running secondary SATA drive for backup

    the VIA chipset don't support sata2 hdd while the nvidia does. setting the jumper on the drive (see drive label) to sata150 will make it work on your via motherboard

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •