Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    My mobo is a K8N Neo2 with a WD800JB hard drive. I would like to add a second hard drive a WD 160AAJS SATA2. Should I have any problems with this combination?

    Regards

    John

  2. #2
    Joined
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    14,223

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    No there shouldn't be any problem with that combination, however if the motherboard has SATA1 slots you may have to jumper the SATA drive. If so, there should be directions on the SATA drive's label. I don't think the AAJS drives need this though.

    BTW, you're not John Williams the great composer and guitarist are you? Regardless of whether you are or not, welcome to PCPer forums

  3. #3
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    Thanks for the info.

    No, I am not the great composer but I do play the guitar.

    John

  4. #4
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    If my motherboard has SATA1 slots will I get the full performance out of the SATA2 drive?

  5. #5
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,553

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    Yes. No HD in existence taxes SATA-I let alone SATA-II.

  6. #6
    Joined
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    9,762

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    also, if you are overclocking, use the SATA3 and 4 slots (near the AGP slot below the CPU) instead of the SATA1 and 2 slots. I used to have this board and it does SATA without issue.
    Q6600
    8GB corsair XMS DDR2
    MSI K9N Platinum 780i
    2*Evga 8800GT at 650Mhz (factory)
    x-fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor, 2TB Others
    Corsair 650W PSU
    Lian Li PC65 case

  7. #7
    Joined
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    76
    Posts
    31

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination

    Thanks for the advice guys.

    The reason I am thinking of installing a second HD is to install all my flightsim programs onto, particularly flightsimX which I understand you can only activate twice.

    BTW BMW the advice you gave me last Nov about my RAM problems sorted me out, and everything is running sweet. Thanks again

    John

  8. #8
    Joined
    Dec 2001
    Age
    71
    Posts
    64,553

    Re: IDE-SATA Hard drive combination


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •